往內容

本科课程

 

进入工程世界

工程学包罗广阔,涵盖一系列专门範围。中文大学工程学院每年按大类招生录取约五百名新生,他们都渴望探索多采多姿的工程世界,认清楚自己感兴趣的专业领域。

中大工程学院目标是培育科研专才,以工程技能贡献社会。课程为学生建立坚固的数学和科学基础,而且培养创意,以及分析及严谨思辨能力。学院希望未来的工程师可以把理论应用在真实的生活上,带来造福人类的技术。

学院自2018至19年度开始兼用大类招生和分科招生两种措施。有了这两个选择,已经对某学科有浓厚兴趣而且事业方向清楚的学生可在一年级专心主修;想先广泛探索一下的学生可选择大类招生入学,嚐过一年大学生活後才决定主修科。

申请修读工程课程的学生必须对科技有浓厚兴趣,也应该有雄心以创意和智力解决难题。本地及非本地学生成绩优异而获录取者可享入学奖学金。

学生一年级时须修读学院的基础科目,由学院内不同学系的老师任教。他们也会获编配有经验的老师作学术辅导员。学生可以透过午餐聚会与辅导员沟通,在学业上或其他方面得到指导。

学院亦为学生组织简介会和导览,讲解每项课程的资料。这项安排有利学生按自己兴趣和职业期望选择学科。

现时大类招生之下有六项本科生课程:

一年级学期完结时,学生须决定主修学科。学院会充分考虑学生的选择,尽量安排他们修读最心仪的课程。

为了鼓励学生精益求精,学院设计了「精英组别」,这是中大首个学院级的组别。顶尖的工程学生可选修精英课程和进行特别计划和挑战,他们还有特定的奖学金。

学院也设有工程与综合工商管理双学位课程,以培养具备工程与商业知识的称职工程师。学生可用五年时间修读,取得两个学位。

除了大学安排的学期内交流计划外,工程学生亦受惠於已故高锟教授的仁泽。高教授是中大工程学院的创办人,更是诺贝尔物理学奖得主。在高锟奖学基金赞助下,优秀的工程学生可获提名前往海外著名学府进行科研交流。

极想从事研究但没有兴趣外遊的学生可获资助参加暑期研究实习计划,在一位教授指导下参与一项研究题目。表现傑出者可获科研奖。

实际经验对工程学生应用所学以贡献社会甚为重要,一年级学生可从每年的工程职业展览中得知就业市场情况,这项展览是中大同类活动中最大型的,也是向工程学生介绍上市公司以至初创企业的平台。这些公司和企业会透过展览会提供兼职工作或实习训练。

学院亦为毕业前一年的学生提供全年工读计划。学生可在真实的工作环境向业内人士学习,熟习业内运作常规。

在全人发展教育熏陶下,毕业生都会成爲称职的工程师,有能力独自或与团队一起解决实际问题。他们可以在相关的工程领域内发展,或者从事需有良好分析和论證能力的工作。课程目标也在培养毕业生成为终身学习者,可以适应瞬息万变的环境,开发工程技术来解决问题,改善人类的生活水平。

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

BERGN

联招编号

JS4401

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 国际生, 内地高考

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

Entering the World of Engineering

The discipline of engineering is extremely broad and encompasses a range of more specialized fields of engineering. Each year about 500 students enroll through the broad-based admission of the Faculty of Engineering at CUHK and are eager to explore the fascinating world of engineering and identify their interests in specific fields.

Aiming to nurture scientific research professionals who could contribute to society with their engineering skills, Engineering at CUHK provide students with a strong foundation in mathematics and science, and cultivate their creativity, analytical and critical thinking skills. It is hoped that our future engineers can apply the theory in real life to invent and develop technologies that benefit mankind.

The Faculty adopts both broad-based admission and programme-based admission starting from the academic year 2018–19. Given the choices, students who have strong interest in pursuing some particular academic programmes or have clear career destinations could spearhead to the major programme in year one; while those who would like to explore more and declare their majors after tasting university life for one year could choose the broad-based admission.

Applicants to the Engineering programme are expected to have strong interest in science and technology, but they should also be ambitious in solving problems by applying creativity and intellect. Admission scholarships will be provided to both local and non-local students admitted with outstanding academic results.

Students will take the Faculty’s foundation courses taught by faculty members in different engineering departments in the first year of study. They will be assigned experienced faculty members as academic advisors. Lunch gatherings will be arranged between the advisors and their advisees, through which the latter would interact and learn from the former and get individualized advice, on both academic and non-academic aspects.

Information sessions and tours will be offered to students so as to give them first-hand knowledge of each academic programme. This will facilitate them to choose the academic programmes that best fit their individual interests and career aspirations.

Currently, there are six undergraduate programmes under the broad-based admission:

By the end of the first year of study, students will be invited to declare their choices, and the Faculty shall give due consideration to students’ preferences and try to accommodate students with their most preferred programme.

To encourage students to excel in their studies, the ELITE Stream—the first Faculty-level stream at CUHK—has been designed exclusively for engineering students. Top engineering students can challenge themselves in taking elite courses and working on special projects. Exclusive extra-curricular activities, trips and scholarships are set aside for ELITE students.

The Faculty also offers the Engineering and Integrated Bachelor of Business Administration Double Degree Programme for nurturing competent engineers with professional knowledge both in engineering and business. Students can get two degrees in five years of study.

In addition to term-time exchange arranged by the University, engineering students would benefit from the good seeds sowed by Prof. Charles K. Kao, founder of the Faculty of Engineering and Nobel Laureate in Physics. Top engineering students are nominated to undertake summer research exchange at overseas prestigious institutions supported by the Charles K. Kao Scholarship Endowment Fund.

For students who have a strong desire for research but are not fond of travel, they can join the summer research internship scheme to participate into a research topic under supervision of a professor with financial support. Outstanding participants would be elected for research awards.

While practical experience is essential for engineering students to apply what they learnt to contribute to society, freshmen are exposed to the job market through the annual engineering job fair, which is the largest of its kind at CUHK. It is a platform to introduce engineering students to the publicly listed companies as well as start-up companies. They were offered part-time jobs or internship training through this event.

The Faculty also offers the full-year work study scheme for penultimate students. By working in the real-life environment, they would learn from their industry mentors and be acquainted with the working etiquettes.

Through whole-person development education, graduates are trained to be competent engineers who can solve real-life problems individually or work in a team. They can pursue career in the relevant engineering fields as well as jobs that require strong analytical and reasoning abilities. Graduates are also trained to be life-long learners who can embrace the ever-changing environment and derive engineering solutions to improve mankind’s living standard.

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

BERGN

JUPAS Code

JS4401

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, International, Mainland