往內容

本科課程

 

本課程是一項為期兩年的全日制銜接課程。透過本課程,學生可以建立穩固的老年學基礎,掌握廣泛的老年學知識與技能,在不同的健康及社區照顧服務機構內,負責各種長者照顧服務的規劃、推行及協調工作。

第一學年課程特色:(1) 基礎照顧;(2)與老齡化相關議題包括心理、健康、家庭、照顧、倫理、法律和財務問題;(3) 疾病管理及服務規劃。

第二學年課程特色:(1) 臨終照顧服務;(2) 老年學實習(服務機構 [社區、康復、院舍]);(3) 政策、創新和服務管理;(4) 選修科 (學生交換計劃/ 補充及替代醫學)。

培育年輕老年學專才

人口老化將會造成大家沈重負擔,但當問題未惡化至切膚之痛時,大多數人看來仍懶得費神去正視這問題。據香港2015至2064年的人口推算,到了2034年,年屆六十五歲或以上者將達總人口的28%,到2064年則飆升至33%。這些統計數字道盡對老年學專業人員的迫切需求。中文大學醫學院那打素護理學院的老年學理學士課程正為此而設,目標是培養年輕人成為每個關愛老人的城市都需要的老年學專才。

中大的老年學理學士課程是首個教資會資助的銜接課程,適合主修健康科學、社會科學、輔導、中醫學、人文及生命科學等副學士及高級文憑課程畢業生修讀。學士課程畢業生可在各種的長者健康及社區照顧服務機構內,負責各種安老服務的規劃;跨範疇長者照顧服務;策劃及推行照護管理、授權展能計劃、遙距健康照護和過渡照顧,甚至可以在服務管理、評核與重整方面擔當重要角色,就業選擇豐富,前景可觀。

談到畢業生的就業前途時,學院院長車錫英教授說:「畢業生的出色表現備受讚賞。大部分畢業生投身護老行業,出任項目主任、項目協調員或長者服務協調員。也有人受聘於學術機構,進行及協調以社區為基礎的研究計劃。僱主對他們的能力都很欣賞,覺得他們對現時的健康及社會關顧政策分析通闢,而且對本地以至全球的長者需要十分了解。我們有三位畢業生更屢獲非政府組織和社會企業頒發傑出僱員獎。」

何佩珊是課程2017年的畢業生,早已有意在長者關顧服務業發展。她修讀課程前做了相當多長者護理義務工作,很想把慈善工作發展為正式事業。她選擇中大的課程是因為相信她「可以從中獲取全面的知識和技能,以規劃、推行及協調長者護理服務。」

令她喜出望外的是課程比她預期的豐富。她特別對老年學的實習安排感恩,因為實習使她有很多機會把理論應用於不同服務環境,例如長者社區中心、日間護理中心和安老院舍。

除了實習工作外,佩珊覺得最難忘的是到台南的交換計劃,使她有機會在當地一間安老院舍內隨其員工「影子學習」。院方為了使院友在生活上有較大自主權,會想出很有創意的點子,例如教院友怎樣裝飾自己的尿袋。這個經驗正好示範,每個細微的照護行動,只要加些想像,效果可以很不同。佩珊說:「就我而言,老年學教育其中一個重要環節,就是教導我們要踏出自己的安舒小天地和運用創新思維。」

學生能掌握軟技能和作全面發展是中大老年學課程的主要特色。除了實用知識和技能外,課程還磨練學生的溝通、人際關係、領導、思辨和解難技能。課程的寬廣足以全面培養學生面對瞬息萬變和多元世界。

課程每年只錄取大約三十名新生,有利於為學生提供個別指導。一個好例子是「學業指導制」,每名新生都有一位指導員。二年級學生和校友也會和一年級生分享經驗,以幫助他們適應校園生活。

老年學教育不只是傳授純技術和硬梆梆的資料。佩珊和同學可以為證:他們不但牢牢掌握了長者護理的專業知識和技能,也從這全面的教育和虛心的服務中,對生命的意義有更深刻的領悟。

刊登時間:2017年 夏
最後更新:2019年 夏

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

Grooming Young Gerontology Professionals

Human population ageing is going to cost us dearly, but until the problem looms large enough to be keenly felt, most people seem to spare little thoughts to it. According to the Hong Kong Population Projections 2015 – 2064, the percentage of people aged 65 or above will reach 28% by 2034, with the figure shooting up to 33% by 2064. The statistics speak louder than words of the urgency for more gerontology professionals. The Bachelor of Science in Gerontology programme, run by the Nethersole School of Nursing of the Faculty of Medicine, CUHK, is precisely designed to educate young people as gerontology professionals every age-friendly city needs.

The first UGC-funded articulated gerontology programme, CUHK’s BSc in Gerontology is the programme of choice for associate degree or higher diploma graduates majoring in health sciences, social sciences, counselling, Chinese medicine, human and life sciences, etc. Upon graduation, students should be ready to take on aged care service planning, interdisciplinary coordination, planning and implementing care management, empowerment programmes, telecare and transitional care in a wide variety of elderly health and social care settings. Some may even go into service administration, evaluation and reengineering. The opportunities offered by gerontology programme are as diverse as they are promising.

Commenting on the employability of graduates, Prof. Chair Sek-ying, Director of the School, said, ‘The excellent performance of our graduates is widely appreciated. The majority of the graduates joined the aged care field as project officers, project coordinators, and elderly service coordinators. Some were employed by academic institutions to carry out and coordinate community-based research projects. The employers are impressed by their ability to analyze critically current health and social care policies, and their thorough understanding of the needs of  older persons in the local as well as global contexts. Three of our graduates received multiple outstanding employee awards from non-governmental organizations and social enterprises.’

Sarah Ho, a Year 3 student enrolled in the programme, had set her eyes on a career in aged care services early on. Before joining the programme, Sarah had done a considerable amount of voluntary work in aged care, and would like to grow her charitable work into a full-fledged career. She chose CUHK’s programme because she believed it would ‘equip students with a full scope of knowledge and skills in planning, delivery and coordinating aged care services.’

To her delight, what the programme offers has exceeded her expectation. She is especially grateful for the gerontological practicum, which provides her with ample opportunities to apply theories in different settings such as district elderly community centres, day care centres and residential care homes.

Gerontological practicum aside, Sarah finds unforgettable the exchange programme to Tainan where she got the chance to ‘job shadow’ at a local residential care home. To give the residents more autonomy over their lives, the staff would come up with creative ideas, such as teaching the residents how to decorate their own urine drainage bags. This experience brings home the fact that every small act of caring, touched up by imagination, can make a big difference. ‘I believe that taking a step to get out of the comfort zone and being innovative is an important aspect of my gerontology education,’ Sarah said.

The acquisition of soft skills and all-round development is a key feature of CUHK’s gerontology programme. On top of practical knowledge and skills, students are expected to hone their communication, interpersonal, leadership, critical thinking and problem-solving skills. The curriculum is broad enough to holistically prepare students for a fast-changing and diverse world.

With an annual intake of about 30 students, the programme is well-positioned to provide individual supervision to its students. A good example is the ‘academic advisory system’ that matches each new student with an advisor or mentor. Year 2 students and graduates are invited to share their experience with Year 1 students to help them better adapt to campus life.

Gerontology education is more than passing on mere knowhow and hard facts. Sarah and her classmates can stand by the veracity of this statement: not only have they got a good grasp of professional expertise and competencies in aged care, they have also gained deeper insights into the meanings of life through the comprehensive education and humble service.

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

BSCGN

JUPAS Code

N/A

Open for

Non-JUPAS Senior Year Entry