往內容

本科課程

 

本學科以地球系統為課題,傳授相關的科學與數學知識,為學生建立穩固的學術基礎。課程聚焦研究大氣圈、生物圈、岩石圈和水圈,圈層間的關係,以及人類活動對各個圈層的影響。此課程特別設立「大氣科組」和「地球物理組」,讓學生接觸有關課題及最前沿的研究,並提供機會讓他們獲得定量和分析能力。學生可透過實驗室工作、數值模擬和編程經驗、研討會和研究項目等活動,提昇從事研究的能力和獲取職業相關的技能。

相互動力學的奧秘

地球系統科學課程於2012年由中文大學理學院創辦。課程主任黃庭芳教授說:「此課程有系統及涉獵地質學、氣象學和海洋學等不同學科。我們的學生研習的是地球動力學,而地球是包括大氣圈、岩石圈和生物圈的相互作用系統。」

吳越自地球系統科學課程畢業。她入讀中文大學本科課程前,對選擇主修難下決定,因為地理和化學都是她喜歡的學科。後來她發現了地球系統科學這新課程。「地球系統科學是跨學科課程,適合喜歡科學和希望改善地球的學生修讀。這無疑是我最好的選擇,因為我想成科學家,為地球的問題找尋解決辦法。」

吳越在修讀本科期間,靈活的課程使她可以按自己興趣及所長決定學習模式。「課程鼓勵我們選擇自己較有信心的高級科目,加深研究的興趣。」她也可以選修物理系、化學系、數學系或者生命科學院提供的科目,以擴闊知識。黃教授補充說:「我們致力培育學生的探究精神。他們所有人都要從大氣科學組或地球物理學組中選擇專修,以作更深入的研究。」

吳越最初接觸這學科的多元範疇時有過一番掙扎,幸好學系的輔導和同學的支持助她掌握了分析及融會所學到的跨學科知識。吳越說:「解決地球的問題需要知識綜合過程和跳出常規的思維。課程的訓練培養了我的多角度思考。我專修的是地球物理學組,我們在小組報告中根據某些經常用於大氣科學的統計方法來進行地震測定分析。大氣科學組的同學覺得這分析很有趣,他們從來沒有看過可以把方法這樣應用。他們給了我們很多寶貴意見,使我們可以改善研究。這種學習的動力絕對是無價的。」

修讀地球物理學的進階科目,加上野外考察和研究項目等的經驗,吳越找到自己的研究興趣和方向。「我的畢業論文與進階科目的一個題目有關,很值得我在研究院繼續探索。我希望成為科學家,應用不同學科知識進行研究。研究院畢業後,我可能留在學術圈子,繼續致力解開大自然的奧秘和保護地球,而且可以的話,我希望把知識傳給下一代。」吳越的同學曾到香港天文臺和其他地質技術公司及環保組織實習,以探討他們的事業發展方向。

大學的愉快生活,仍在已畢業的吳越內心縈迴。「我的同學對地球系統科學很有熱誠,而且他們都很勤力。我們進行小組項目時都喜歡花多點時間來做研究和互相切磋。」野外考察是吳越最難忘的經歷之一。「考察時我們互相扶持和鼓勵,一起欣賞壯麗的景色。我們還發現了一些獨特的地貌,大家討論地質學時也不乏創見。」

接受了分析技巧、量化分析和研究方法的訓練,再加上野外察和實習的經驗,地球系統科學課程的學生可以深入了解地球系統,並且探索如自然災害、氣候轉變、生態健康、能源,以及可持續發展等重要議題。黃教授補充說:「畢業生可繼續深造,在研究院深造地球系統科學或相關的學科。他們也可以從事其他工作,例如教育、環境評估顧問、政府內有關環境的部門、天氣/氣候服務、天然資源勘探,以及基建、水利、航空交通和國防所需的岩土工程和流體物理工程。」

地球系統科學的一大特色是利用基本物理科學和用計量方法來理解地球系統的動力學。黃教授說:「對地球系統有興趣,有好奇心,渴望以科學原理和量化技術來解決環境問題的同學,歡迎來探索地球的相互動力學,也歡迎加入我們的大家庭。」

刊登時間:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

The ESSC programme provides students with solid scientific and mathematical foundation of the Earth System. The focus is on physical processes within the atmosphere, biosphere, geosphere, and hydrosphere, their interactions, and how human activities shape the Earth’s environment. Two streams are available: Atmospheric Science and Geophysics, where students are intro-duced to cutting-edge research on related topics. Students who complete this programme will be equipped with strong analytic and computational skills. They would be able to build their research and career capacities via laboratory work, numerical modeling and programming, seminars, workshops, and research projects.

Correlated Dynamics Unravelled

The Earth System Science (ESSC) programme was founded in 2012 by CUHK’s Faculty of Science. ‘The curriculum focuses on systemic and interdisciplinary research of the Earth such as geology, meteorology and oceanography. Our students study the Earth’s dynamics as an interrelated system comprising spheres such as the atmosphere, the geosphere and the biosphere,’ said Prof. Wong Teng-fong, director of ESSC.

Sophy Wu is a graduate of ESSC. Before she was admitted to CUHK, she was caught between two favourite subjects, geography and chemistry, for her undergraduate studies until she discovered a new programme—ESSC. ‘I learnt that ESSC is an interdisciplinary programme for students who love science and are prepared to tackle environmental challenges facing the world today. I found it undoubtedly my best choice as I aspired to be a scientist in quest of solutions for the Earth’s problems.’

During her undergraduate studies, Sophy had benefited from the flexible curriculum as she could decide her own study patterns according to her background in fundamental science subjects such as physics and chemistry. ‘We were encouraged to deepen our research interest by choosing advance courses we’re more confident in.’ She could also take electives offered by the Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics departments, or the School of Life Science, to broaden her knowledge. Professor Wong added, ‘ESSC strives to groom its students’ inquisitive mind. All of them are required to choose a specialized stream—atmospheric science or geophysics—for more in-depth exploration.’

Sophy experienced some struggles when she was first exposed to diverse disciplines in the sciences, but the faculty’s advice and peer support helped her realize the importance of analyzing and integrating the interdisciplinary knowledge acquired. ‘To solve the Earth’s problems requires a knowledge synthesis process and an out-of-the-box mindset. The training in ESSC has nurtured my multiple-perspective thinking,’ said Sophy. ‘I was in the geophysics stream. We attempted to apply some statistical methods for a seismological analysis in a group presentation, which were often used in atmospheric science. My classmates from the atmospheric science stream found the analysis interesting as the method was applied in a way they had never seen before, and they further furnished us with valuable advice to improve our research. Such a learning dynamics is absolutely invaluable.’

The advance courses in geophysics, in addition to her exposure such as field studies and research projects, enabled Sophy to find her research interest and direction. ‘My final year project was related to a topic in the advance course, which could be worth exploring in my postgraduate studies too. I envision myself to be a scientist who could efficiently and creatively apply cross-disciplinary knowledge in my research focus. After my postgraduate studies, I might stay in the academia so as to continue unravelling the mysteries of nature as well as protecting the Earth and, if possible, to pass the knowledge to the next generation.’ Some of Sophy’s classmates were given opportunities to explore their career directions by interning at the Hong Kong Observatory, as well as other geotechnical companies and environmental organizations.

The fond memories of university life still linger in Sophy’s mind. ‘My classmates were passionate in earth system science and they were all very diligent. We all loved to spend extra time doing research and engaging in fruitful discussions, while working on group projects.’ Field studies were part of Sophy’s most unforgettable moments. ‘We helped and encouraged one another while passing through rough terrains. Enjoying the breathtaking scenery alongside, we discovered some geological features and had insightful discussions on geology.’

Equipped with training in analytical and quantitative analyses, research methodologies, fieldtrip and internship experiences, ESSC students are able to deepen their understanding of the Earth system and delve into crucial issues such as natural hazards, climate change, ecological health, energy resources and sustainability. Professor Wong further elaborated, ‘Graduates can further their studies on ESSC (or one of its sub-disciplines) in the graduate schools. They can also embark on pathways in education, environmental consulting, government positions related to the environment, weather/climate services, exploration of natural resources, and geotechnical and fluid engineering as required in infrastructure, hydraulics, aviation and defense.’

One special feature of ESSC is a strong emphasis on fundamental physical sciences and the use of quantitative methods for understanding the dynamics of the Earth system. Professor Wong said, ‘Prospective students with a keen interest in the Earth system, intellectual curiosity, and eagerness to solve environmental problems with scientific principles and quantitative skills are welcome to explore the correlated dynamics of the Earth and also our big family.’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018