往內容

本科课程

 

国际贸易与中国企业为香港中文大学及美国南卡罗莱纳州大学达拉摩尔商学院合办的课程。南卡罗莱纳州大学的国际贸易本科主修课程在过去二十年被评为全美同类课程之冠。

IBCE的课程重点著眼於深化同学对国际贸易的认识,特别是中美两国之间的商业活动。中大及南卡罗莱纳州大学每年各自招收约20名尖子学生;而学生在南卡罗莱纳州大学进行为期一年的学术交流时,主要修读以国际贸易为课题的科目;在中大则集中研习中国商贸相关的学科。

除课堂学习以外,学生亦有不同的经验学习。课程鼓励同学在美国、中国或香港完成暑期实习,以收学以致用之效。同学又会参加亚洲的遊学团,亲身体验文化对商贸运作的影响,且可以建立更广濶的国际视野。同学更有机会参与关於国际商贸的研讨会,让他们有机会聆听商业领袖、高级行政人员、行业从业员的实务分享。

由於IBCE同学於第二、三年会一同学习,所以学生与南卡罗莱纳州大学的尖子同学能建立长久的友谊;而这誇文化的网络让同学无论在思维或决策上都更具世界观。当他们在国际商贸发展其事业时,网络就是他们的重要资产。

两利兼得

中国有十三亿人口,是仅次於美国的第二大经济体,在全球发展和经济上所扮演的角色愈来愈重,也愈来愈有影响力。

着眼世上两个最大的经济体系,中文大学於2010年开办国际贸易与中国企业专修课程(IBCE),致力於培训具备丰富国际商贸知识,尤其熟悉中美商贸关係和中国企业发展策略的未来商界领袖。

IBCE由中大工商管理学院与美国南卡罗莱纳州大学达拉摩尔商学院(The Darla Moore School of Business at the University of South Carolina)合办。课程为学生提供独有机会到外国学习,探索商贸世界,并且透过海外实习,培养他们的跨国思维。

为甚麽是中大与南卡罗莱纳?课程联席主任李兆波先生解释:「课程建基於中大与中国和亚洲独一无二的连繫,而且中大有强实的中文课程,以及我们学院的教授和课程内容亦非常出色。

李先生接着说:「南卡罗莱纳洲大学达拉摩尔商学院的国际商学教育备受推崇,其设施亦以发展创新学术课程闻名,而且所在地区与全球经济尤为融合,这都是带给IBCE课程的优势。」达拉摩尔商学院的国际贸易本科主修课程被《美国新闻与世界报导》评为全美同类课程之冠。

中文大学和南卡罗莱纳州大学每届合共录取三十六名尖子学生,其中约二十位是中大生。学生会一起修读一系列的科目,又会有不少的共同学习经历。他们有很多机会与合作学院的同学和教授建立及维繫跨文化友谊。此外,透过学科作业、实习、遊学和旅遊,学生可亲身体验文化对商贸运作的影响。

IBCE采用灵活的课程结构。头两年在中大学习,学生先装备商贸、管理与金融的基本知识,并完成中大的基础课程;在第二年将参加一次前往中国内地的遊学之旅。

到了三年级,学生会在南卡罗莱纳州大学修读国际商贸科目,以切实了解这些国家的商贸环境。

在投身社会之前,学生会在中大完成本科课程的第四年,研习如商业法律环境、商业商业永续发展、策略管理等科目,亦会研习中国商贸和市场学。学生在最後一年还会到亚洲其他国家考察,为课程作结。

许雯雯为应届毕业生,她指出选择此课程的诱因是课程的小班教学模式,「在课程中建立的人脉网络最为宝贵。所有中大和南卡罗莱纳州大学的同学都很优秀,他们可以不断给你激励和启发。」

雯雯很珍惜可以认识两国地学生的机会。「能够与另一间大学合办学术交流,令整个体验更加完整,因为可以与美国同学共处三年。这样我们才可以和他们建立长久的友谊,也可以深入了解另一种文化。」

每个IBCE新生都会获分配一位导师,他们可以就个人、学业、就业和专业发展上的问题向导师请教。师友计划则是由一位校友和一位高年级学生指导一名新生,从不同观点让新生认识课程的细节。雯雯有感而说:「校友网络强大,校友也总乐意帮忙。」

这些年来,IBCE毕业生的就业情况很理想。李先生说:「很多毕业生都得到多於一间公司提出聘用,有些学生刚完成暑期实习,便在9月获得实习公司邀请加入工作。」

按过去五年的数字,一半以上的IBCE毕业生投身於「银行与金融」业,受聘於摩根大通、高盛、香港交易所和UBS Securities等机构;而在「企业集团/市场业务」及「顾问公司」发现的,分别有16%及12%;另有约一成人继续学业。而IBCE学生在毕业後创业者亦有上升趋势。

李先生总结说:「IBCE毕业生都饱经训练,面对不明朗的因素也能处之泰然。他们在学时已有接触环球商贸的经验,而且有校友网络作後盾,我相信他们在中国、美国以至全球的商贸界定必有美好的发展。」

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2019年 夏

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

International Business and Chinese Enterprise (IBCE) is offered by The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) in collaboration with the Darla Moore School of Business at the University of South Carolina (UofSC) in the United States. The undergraduate international business programme at UofSC has been ranked No.1 in the U.S. for two decades.

IBCE is characterised by its great emphasis on advanced understanding of international business, in particular the business activities between China and the United States. Each partner institution admits around 20 top students every year to make up a cohort. Students will mainly take thematic international business courses during their one-year exchange at UofSC and China-focused courses at CUHK.

In addition to classroom learning, students will be provided with plenty of opportunities to learn outside classroom. They will be encouraged to complete summer internships in the United States, Mainland China and/or Hong Kong to apply what they have learned. They will participate in overseas field trips in Asia to personally experience the impact of culture on business practices and gain broader international exposure. They will also attend international business seminars which offer an exclusive platform for students to meet business leaders, senior executives and industry practitioners who share their experiences and work practices in the real business world.

IBCE students will build long lasting personal relationships with the outstanding students from the partner institution by mainly spending the second and third year of studies together. This cross-cultural network prepares students to think and act globally. When they pursue careers in international business, this network will be a valuable asset.

Getting the Best of Both Worlds

With a population of 1.3 billion, China is the second largest economy following the US, and is increasingly playing an important and influential role in global development and economy.

Keeping an eye on the world’s two largest economies, CUHK launched in 2010 the International Business and Chinese Enterprise (IBCE) program. The aim is to train future business leaders that are well groomed in comprehensive knowledge of international business, with focus on the US and China business relationship, as well as the growth strategies of Chinese enterprises.

IBCE is jointly run by CUHK’s Faculty of Business Administration and the Darla Moore School of Business at the University of South Carolina (UofSC). Students are offered exclusive opportunities to explore the world of business by study trips, as well as the rare chances to train up their transnational mindset by interning abroad.

Why CUHK and UofSC? Co-Director Mr. Simon Lee explained, ‘The programme builds on the unparalleled access that CUHK offers to China and Asia, the strong Chinese language programmes available here, and the outstanding professors and curriculum of the Faculty.’

‘The Darla Moore School of Business at UofSC brings to us its recognized excellence in international business education and its facility for developing innovative academic programmes, as well as its location in a region markedly integrated with the global economy,’ Mr. Lee continued. The School’s undergraduate major in international business has been ranked first among all programmes in this specialty by U.S. News & World Report.

CUHK and UofSC only admit top students to make up a total of 36 students (around 20 from CUHK) in each cohort. The chosen ones will share a number of courses and experiences together. They will have abundant opportunities to create and sustain cross-cultural relationships with classmates and professors in Hong Kong and the US. Additionally, through coursework, internships, study trips and travel, they will be able to personally experience the impact of culture on business practices.

IBCE adopts a flexible programme structure. The first two years are based in CUHK for students to gain fundamental knowledge in business, management and finance, and to complete the University Foundation Courses. They will embark on an orientation trip in China in Year 2.

Year 3 is spent in UofSC reading courses on international business to gain a solid understanding of the business environment of these countries.

Before stepping into society, students wrap up the four-year undergraduate programme in CUHK, exploring topics like Legal Environment for Business, Business Sustainability and Strategic Management. They will also have focused studies on China business and marketing. Their final year is complemented by a study trip in other Asian countries.

Heather Hsu, a recent graduate, was attracted by the small cohort size when she chose the programme. ‘The network that you can get from the programme is most valuable. All my fellow classmates at both CUHK and UofSC are outstanding young learners who can keep giving you motivation and inspiration.’

Knowing students from both worlds is another feature treasured by Heather. ‘Partnership with another university allows the exchange experience to be more complete as we stay and study together with our UofSC buddies for a total of three years. This is how you can really get to and build a long lasting relationship with them and have an in-depth understanding of another culture.’

Every new IBCE student will be assigned an academic adviser to whom he/she may seek advice on personal, academic, career and professional development. Coupled with the mentorship programme which matches each new student with a senior student and an alumnus or alumna, the freshmen can learn the nuts and bolts of the programme from different perspectives. ‘The alumni network is solid and alumni are always happy to help,’ Heather observed.

The graduate placement of IBCE has been very satisfactory over the years. ‘Many graduates received multiple offers and some received return offers in September soon after completing their summer internships,’ said Mr. Lee.

Based on the figures in the past five years, over 50% of IBCE graduates engaged themselves in the ‘Banking and Finance’ industry, in companies such as JP Morgan, Goldman Sachs, Hong Kong Stock Exchange and UBS Securities. A respective of 16% and 12% pursued a career in ‘Conglomerate / Marketing’ and ‘Consulting’ , and around 10% furthered their studies. An increasing number of IBCE graduates were seen starting up their own companies upon graduation.

As Mr. Lee concluded, ‘IBCE graduates have been trained to feel comfortable with uncertainties. With the extensive exposure to global business gained and the supportive networks built up during their undergraduate years, I’m sure they will fare well with confidence in the China, the US and the global business sectors.’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2019