往內容

本科課程

 

人類學是研究人及其文化的一門學科。人類在不同的環境中建立了不同的政治、經濟和宗教體系,發展出各種社會組織和文化傳統。人類學學者通過比較研究,找出這些文化制度之間的異同,從而探求過往與當代人類群體生活的性質,包括物質文化、社會關係和意識型態等不同層面的存在與轉變。人類學教授跨文化知識,訓練同學獨立思考、有效溝通、及尊重文化差異。對於那些已經消失了的文化,我們則通過考古學的方法進行研究。

敢於不同

李樂怡入大學選科時有點擔心,要找到自己感興趣的科目可一點也不容易。

「我希望選到可以讓我探索人類本質和不同文化系統的科目。」

她最終決定修讀人類學。而中文大學是香港唯一開辦人類學本科課程的學府。

樂怡現在是四年級學生,很慶幸自己選對了科。「這學科改變了我對世界的了解。修讀人類學之前,我以為文化是頗為獨立的題目,原來文化和很多當前的問題,例如全球化、醫療保健,甚至食品安全都有關連,我可是開了竅。」

人類學是一門廣闊的科目,上下古今,從史前到現代都涵蓋在內。一般人心目中,人類學家都遠赴不毛異域,研究當地土著的文化,不然就是在古代歷史遺址翻土挖掘,找些古物。今天的人類學家研究的是各種各樣的當代文化現象,例如消費者行為和虛擬世界內的人類活動。日常生活裏很多時候有不少題目都令人類學家感興趣。

「人類學家研究不同文化系統的異同,嘗試解開人類存在的本質,這需要與不同社會環境內的人一起生活和工作,包括了土著村落、宗教場所、露宿者之家,以至7-11,甚至重慶大廈。」人類學系主任麥高登教授說。

麥高登教授曾經在重慶大廈內生活了一段時間,完成了一份關於這幢傳奇建築物內生活和工作的人的人類學報告。他認為,修讀人類學或者以人類學為專業者,其中一項重要品質是要有了解超越書本以外的世界的渴求。

「在我們系裏,學生不但把人類學作為知識來學習,也視為一種觀察世界的方法。」

學系提供的本科生課程集中在社會和文化人類學,還有考古學。課程範圍甚廣,包括:

  • 人類學理論和研究方法
  • 中國、香港和世界民族誌研究
  • 其他當代課題

對樂怡來說,課程的靈活性是最珍貴的。「教授時常鼓勵我們,選擇田野研究和研究計劃的題目及方法時要有多點創意。我們有無窮的發展空間。」

樂怡在進行她的田野研究時和不同社會文化背景的人相處甚至生活,使她變得更有心去聆聽和尊重不同的意見。

「僱主愈來愈欣賞到人類學的好處。因為人類學畢業生對不同文化有較敏銳的感覺,知道如何去了解和分析社會情況,」麥高登教授說。

近屆人類學畢業生都受僱於博物館、非政府組織、傳媒和公關機構,在中學任教通識科目,或者在本地和海外大學深造,做研究和教書。

2016至17年度,學系開辦一項新的跨學科人類學副修課程,以滿足同學一直以來希望有更深入的考古學訓練的要求。

學系每年錄取大約二十個本科生學生,每位同學在一年級時都有一位全職老師指導。人類學的學生系會亦定期舉辦活動,讓師生和校友聚首一堂,分享研究和工作經驗。

課程亦鼓勵學生踏出自己的小天地,前赴海外學習。本科生學生每年可參加暑期考察團。2017年夏天,考察團到了柬埔寨,大家都很高興 其後有機會策劃公開展覽,展示海外考察的所見所聞所思。2018年夏天,學生於台灣一間精神科醫院考察,深入去了解精神復健與社區精神醫療這個題目。

以實用技巧來說,最少有半數的人類系學生曾在本地和海外的博物館和其他機構實習,吸收實際經驗。

樂怡雖然仍在學,但已想過如何在畢業後貢獻社會。

「我期待能夠運用所學,提倡互相了解和解決紛爭。」

她鼓勵對人類學有興趣的中學畢業生敢於不同,作一個不一樣的決定:

「人類學在香港也許不是熱門科目。不過如果你有興趣的話,我覺得絕對值得作為大學主修。中文大學的人類學本科生課程可以磨練你的思辨能力和溝通技巧,還可以讓你有機會培養寬闊的胸襟和民胞物與的精神,對你將來的事業發展有極大的好處。」

刊登時間:2017年 夏
最後更新:2019年 夏

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

Anthropology is the study of human cultures and societies. It examines cultural differences around the world by studying human values and social practices. To better understand various aspects of cultural life, anthropologists adopt a holistic viewpoint and systematic research methods. They use both qualitative and quantitative methods of social science in their endeavour to understand the views and experiences of the people under study.

Anthropology equips students with a cross-cultural perspective, a broader vision of the world and a critical mind-set, all of which facilitate an understanding of the needs and conflicts of various societies and the reasons for cultural differences. Anthropology students learn to see Hong Kong and Chinese culture in a new light, and also learn about other cultures in Asia and the rest of the world.

In studying cultures that no longer exist, they use archaeological methods.

Dare to be Different

When Annabelle Lee was choosing a major for her undergraduate study, she was concerned it might not be easy to find a programme that suits her academic interests.

‘I was looking for an academic programme that allows me to explore the nature of humankind and its various cultural systems.’

She finally decided to study Anthropology in the only academic department in Hong Kong which offers an undergraduate programme in this subject—CUHK.

Now a final year student, Annabelle is convinced that she has made the right choice. ‘The programme has transformed my understanding of the world. Before studying Anthropology, I used to think that culture is a rather independent topic, but now I have become more aware of the connection between culture and many major contemporary issues, such as globalization, healthcare and even food safety.’

Anthropology is a broad discipline which covers a great span of time—from the pre-historic to the contemporary era. Apart from the classic image that anthropologists only travel to some far away exotic places to study the culture of indigenous peoples or to unearth some artifacts from ancient historical sites, anthropologists nowadays are investigating a wide variety of contemporary cultural phenomena such as consumer behaviour and social activities in the on-line world. Anthropologists take interest in any topic that relates to peoples’ daily lives.

‘Anthropologists study the similarity and diversity of different cultural systems and attempt to investigate the nature of human existence by living and working with people in a wide variety of social environments—from aboriginal villages, religious temples, homeless encampments, to 7-Eleven or even Chungking Mansions,’ explained Prof. Gordon Mathews, Head of the Department of Anthropology.

Professor Mathews has lived in Chungking Mansions over a period of time to complete an anthropological account of people who reside and work in the legendary building. According to him, a desire to understand the world beyond books is one of the most important qualities to study or pursue a profession in Anthropology.

‘In our Department, students not only learn about Anthropology as a body of facts, but also as a way of seeing the world,’ he said.

The undergraduate programme offered by the Department focuses on social and cultural anthropology, as well as archaeology. The courses cover a wide range of topics, including

  • the principles and research methodology of anthropology
  • ethnographic studies of China, Hong Kong and the world
  • other contemporary issues

For Annabelle, the flexibility offered by the programme is what she finds the most precious. ‘Our professors always encourage us to be more innovative when selecting topics and methodologies for our field studies and research projects. We are exposed to infinite possibilities,’ she said.

By interacting or even living with people of various socio-cultural backgrounds during her field studies, Annabelle has also become more ready to listen to and respect different opinions.

‘Employers are increasingly attuned to the benefits of anthropology, in that it trains graduates to be culturally sensitive and to know how to understand and analyze social situations,’ remarked Professor Mathews.

Recent anthropology graduates are working in museums, NGOs, media and public relations agencies, in secondary schools as liberal-studies teachers, or in various local and overseas universities as graduate students, researchers and professors.

In 2016–17, a new interdisciplinary Archaeology Minor was initiated in the Department to meet the students’ longstanding desires for in-depth archaeological training.

The Department accepts around 20 new undergraduate students each year and every new student is assigned a full time teaching staff as his/her advisor during the freshmen year. The Anthropology Students’ Society holds social gatherings regularly, bringing students, professors and alumni together to share their experiences in research and work.

The programme also encourages students to step outside their comfort zone and learn abroad. A summer fieldtrip is arranged for the undergraduate students every year. In summer 2017, the students visited Cambodia and enjoyed the opportunity to curate an exhibition about their overseas fieldtrip. In 2018, the students conducted their fieldwork by staying in a Psychiatric hospital in Taiwan to explore the topic on psychiatric rehabilitation and community mental health.

In terms of practical skills, at least half of the students of Anthropology have worked as interns in local and overseas museums, as well as other institutions.

As an undergraduate student, Annabelle has already thought of how she would like to contribute to the society after graduation,

‘I look forward to utilize the skills I have learnt in Anthropology to advocate mutual understandings and resolve conflicts,’ she said.

She also wants to encourage secondary school graduates who are interested in Anthropology to make the unconventional decision:

‘Anthropology may not be one of the most popular academic disciplines in Hong Kong. But if it is what you are interested in, I’d say it is definitely worth making it your major in the university. The undergraduate programme in Anthropology at CUHK will sharpen your critical thinking and communication skills, as well as offer you the opportunities to cultivate an open mind and a compassionate attitude, which would be extremely beneficial for any career path you may take in the future.’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2019