往內容

本科課程

 

中國研究是一門跨學科課程,涵括對中國歷史、文化、語言和當代社會包括經濟、管治和商業的整體探索,強調「沉浸」式學習。本課程以英語授課,為國際學生及以中文為母語的學生提供量身訂做的語言學習計劃,亦創造共同學習、交流合作之環境。

本課程致力於︰(1)提升學生中英雙語至精通水平;(2)讓學生參與社會文化「沉浸」體驗;(3)提供實踐科目和實地學習;(4)以學生為本、「博雅」式教育來培養學生的批判性思辨能力,從而對大中華地區進行深入研究學習。

通往中國之大道

中國歷史千變萬化,錯綜複雜,令人讚嘆,亦令人困惑。今天,中國是世上人口最多的國家,也是崛興超級強國,力量不容忽視。因此,引領不同文化背景的學生理解現代中國眾多面貌的課程,一直需求甚殷。中文大學的中國研究重視跨文化交流,因此備受注目,顯得突出。中大開辦的中國研究課程,旨在指導學生從學術及親身體驗之中,深入了解中國這個國家。

中國研究中心主任科大衛教授說,他們教學方法靈活,能因應學生的需要而調節教學方式。這個方法有助學生適應在大中華地區生活,更有效地學習文化和語文。

他補充說:「我們提供小班學習的體驗,課程老師對學生亦會充分提供意見及支持,而且我們鼓勵文化融合。」

學生Soohyung Park畢業後則前往倫敦攻讀研究院課程。課程的老師和學生各有不同背景,他印象深刻。

「這課程是中文大學最多樣化的課程之一。同學的背景和我的完全不同,和他們相處,我很快便明白到:大家從多個觀點來看同一個問題,最後仍可以有不同的詮釋。」

除了個人化的方法外,課程也幫助學生修習其他學科和專業知識,促進他們的發展,也令他們的學習更為深入。課程也鼓勵學生把所學結合其他學科,例如經濟與發展、城市化與環境研究、政治科學、歷史、人類學等等。很多學生選擇法律、商學、酒店管理、公共衛生、中醫藥,或者傳訊作為副修或第二主修。

中大的中國研究課程另一特色,是非常着重中英語文技巧。校方利用在本地及中國大陸的網絡,為學生提供個人化的實地考察和實習科目,並鼓勵學生學習語文時多接觸當地人士,活學活用。

Soohyung發覺,在中國大陸的實地學習體驗不但有利學習語文,也能增強他對文化的理解能力。

課程亦盡力協助學生把他們的實地學習與課堂學習結合。高年級學生必須參與一系列的指定研討會和論文導修課,接受進階研究分析訓練。訓練結束時,他們必須按自己的研究興趣撰寫期終論文。

他的論文以國防研究為題,這亦使他可以到倫敦國王學院接受更多的學術訓練。他計劃在韓國的國防大學深造。

「我的目標是成為傑出國防研究員。」這位未來學者說。

在Soohyung看來,想成為真正的世界公民,便必須多了解中國。他的國際視野肯定會打開一片廣闊天地,為他的人生帶來豐碩的成果。

刊登時間:2017年 夏
更新:2018年 夏
最後更新:2019年 夏

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

Chinese Studies is a multi-disciplinary programme focused on studying and learning through direct engagement with China. With an emphasis on teaching in English and training for effective communication in international arenas, the programme offers an integrated exploration of the complexities of Chinese history, culture, languages and contemporary society, including the integrated realms of the economy, governance, and business, for majors intent on becoming the globally-oriented China-specialist analysts, cross-cultural communicators and network builders of the twenty-first century.

This major is designed for two streams of students distinguished by Chinese language fluency, i.e. (1) International Stream (IS) and (2) Chinese Native-Speaker Stream (CNSS). Students in each stream pursue a subset of learning offerings tailored to their language capacities while completing most of their course work in a shared learning environment in which international and Chinese native-speaker students learn from each other and pursue collaborative projects together.

Special features of the programme include (1) the commitment to having students attain a high level of proficiency in both Chinese (Putonghua) and English; (2) the commitment to having all students undergo an intensive term-long target-language, social-cultural ‘immersion’ experience; (3) the commitment to directing ‘on-the-ground’ learning about China through required experiential and social enterprise courses; (4) the commitment to a student-centered, ‘liberal arts’ interactive mode of instruction that emphasizes developing skills in critical-thinking, rational analysis, and logical persuasive argumentation to carry out original in-depth research on Greater China.

Gateway to China

The vicissitudes in the history of China have created a rich diversity that both fascinates and puzzles us. And today, as the most populous country and an emerging superpower, China is a force to reckon with. Hence, there is always a great demand for teaching that helps students from different cultural backgrounds to acquire the essential skills and knowledge for getting a grasp on the many faces of China. It is this awareness of cross-cultural engagement that makes CUHK’s Chinese Studies stand out. The Chinese Studies offered by CUHK was designed to give students a good understanding of the nation through scholarship and first-hand experience.

Prof. David Faure, Director of the Centre for China Studies, pointed out that the programme commits itself to a flexible, individualized approach to guiding and teaching students. Such an approach has proved indispensable to helping them acquire the cultural and linguistic competencies to live and study in the Greater China region.

‘We provide small class experiences, ample faculty advising and support, and foster a culture of integration,’ he added.

Soohyung Park, a graduate went for graduate studies in London, is impressed by the diverse backgrounds of both the faculty and students of the programme.

‘This programme is by far the most diverse programme within CUHK. Through interacting with students from backgrounds totally different from mine, I was soon to appreciate the fact that we could approach the same issue from a wide range of vantage points, and come up with different interpretations.’

On top of an individualized approach, the programme seeks to deepen students’ learning by linking the study of China with other academic disciplines and areas of expertise relevant to their professional development. Students are prepared and encouraged to combine their studies with a particular academic discipline, such as economics and development, urbanization and environmental studies, political science, history, anthropology, etc. Many students take up law, business, hospitality, public health, Chinese medicine, and communications as a minor and second major.

Another feature of CUHK’s Chinese Studies is the strong emphasis it places on English and Chinese linguistic skills. International students studying Chinese as a second language will take intensive language study programmes. By leveraging on CUHK’s networks in Hong Kong and Mainland China, individualized fieldwork courses, internship courses, and social engagement-language learning courses are also made available.

The ‘on the ground’ learning experience in China during the faculty-led fieldtrip not only proves essential for language acquisition, but also for cultural competency, as Soohyung noted.

To help students consolidate their ‘on the ground’ learning with classroom learning, senior students are required to go through advanced research analysis training in a series of designated seminars and capstone course tutorials. At the end of the training, they are expected to produce a final research paper on their particular area of interest about China.

His research project on defense studies prepared him for further academic training at King’s College of London, and he is planning to pursue further studies at the National Defense University of Korea.

‘My goal is to become an outstanding researcher in the field of defense,’ the budding scholar said.

In Soohyung’s view, lack of knowledge about China is a hindrance to anyone who wishes to become a truly global citizen. His international outlook would certainly open a broad vista for life’s many rewards and adventures.

Published: Summer 2017
Revised: Summer 2018
Last Updated: Summer 2019