往內容

本科課程

 

針對疾病的新出現和再出現、香港正面臨的醫療人員短缺、和社區醫療服務的需求日增,此兩年全日制銜接學士課程的設立,旨在培養學生的公共衞生知識及社區健康教育實踐技能,裝備畢業生在解決社會健康問題上發揮多重作用,從而提高社群的健康和生活質素。

本課程內容參考美國全國健康教育認證委員會和2007年於健康促進和健康教育會議發出的Galway共識聲明所列出的社區健康從業員的主要技能。同時,與本地不同性質的社區組織緊密合作,為同學提供多元化的實習機會。

服務社區 推廣健康

大家都知道,預防勝於治療。提倡健康教育,在社區內的推廣現在愈來愈受重視,社區健康理學士課程正是為配合這趨勢而設,目的是培養需求日增的健康護理服務人才。

賽馬會公共衛生及基層醫療學院院長楊永強教授指出,課程是因應非傳染性疾病的增加、傳染病的反復出現,以及日益重要的社區醫療服務而開辦。這個為期兩年的全日制課程歡迎持有副學士學位和高等文憑的理科或社會科學學生報讀。

黃晞彤是這課程的畢業生,她持有食物安全及環境健康副學士學位, 有意在專業的健康服務和健康教育領域發展。

晞彤說,她在中大接受的訓練改變了她對健康的觀念。她以為保持健康不外乎小心飲食和吃藥,但現在她認為基層醫療和健康教育才是預防疾病的關鍵。

課程的學生預期會投入社區健康服務,致力預防健康問題、推廣健康生活、改善病人遵從醫護人員指示的情況、增強社區人士自我照顧和自我管理的技巧,以及促進社區人士得到恰當的健康及社會服務,從而減低健康和社會關顧成本。課程的最終目標是令學生在社會層面上幫助培養個人和家庭必需的知識和技巧,使他們為自己的健康作選擇時可取得所需資訊作參考。

課程畢業生可在病人增權、社會關顧及社區健康教育領域內發展事業或深造。也有畢業生在政府機構內任職行政助理和在非政府組織內任職項目助理,或者受僱於製藥公司為助理生產主任。

香港人口正迅速老化,本地人少運動的生活習慣和不健康飲食更不是好現象。學生應作好準備,將來服務的對象會有各種各樣的需要,所以課程要求他們必須參與二百五十小時的實習。

晞彤說:「實習是整個學習過程裏最可貴的環節。我被派往香港吸煙與健康委員會工作,負責籌備項目、設計推廣資料和策劃未來活動。這次實習令我見識到本地非政府組織所面對的挑戰,但也使我對醫護人員和這個範疇的工作更有信心。」

差不多所有學科都講求時間管理,社區健康課程也不例外。

她說:「我們在第二年便得一面上課一面實習,更不要說參與小組計劃。善用時間很重要。」

對晞彤來說,她的健康推廣知識在醫護行業以外也一樣用得着。她接受的訓練令她更會為別人的生理和心理需要着想,也更懂得與人溝通和更有同情心。

晞彤說:「這些品質在很多專業也大派用場,例如服務業和社會服務。」

她覺得這個課程適合有公民意識的年輕人。「如果你希望以服務為己任,從中有所得着,社區健康課程是最好的選擇。」

刊登時間:2017年 夏
最後更新:2019年 夏

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

In response to the emerging and re-emerging of diseases, the shortage of medical professionals in Hong Kong and the increasing demand for community-based care, this two-year, full-time Bachelor of Science in Community Health Practice articulation programme is designed to equip students with public health knowledge and skills of community health education and practices. Graduates are expected to play diverse roles in helping to resolve a range of societal health issues, in order to promote the health and quality of life of the community.

The teaching is linked to the core competencies of community health practitioners, taking reference from the National Commission for Health Education Credentialing, USA, and the Galway Consensus Conference Statement on health promotion and education of 2007. Students enjoy a wide variety of practicum opportunities made available by the programme’s strong and extensive network with local community organizations.

Promoting Community Health Through Service

We all know when it comes to health that prevention is better than cure. Advocacy for health education and promotion within the community is gathering momentum, and the Bachelor of Science in Community Health Practice is precisely designed to prepare the workforce for a growing demand for health management services.

Prof. Yeoh Eng-kiong, Director of the Jockey Club School of Public Health and Primary Care, said that the programme is offered in response to the increase in non-communicable diseases, emerging and reemerging infectious diseases, and the increasing importance of community-based care. The two-year, full-time programme welcomes application from associate degree and higher diploma holders who graduated from science or social science disciplines.

Vestina Wong, a graduate who also holds an associate degree in food safety and environmental health, wants to build a career in tailor-made health services and health education.

Vestina said her training at CUHK changed her idea about health. She used to assume that staying healthy was only about diet and medication, but now she regards primary care and health education as the most important component in disease prevention.

Students enrolled in the programme are expected to help reduce health and social care costs by preventing health problems, promoting healthy lifestyles, improving compliance with medical advice, enhancing self-care and self-management skills, and facilitating access to appropriate health and social services. The ultimate objective is to equip individuals and families with the knowledge and skills in making informed choices for their health.

The students can embark on their careers or pursue postgraduate studies in the fields of patient empowerment, social care and community health education. Some graduates are employed as executive assistants in governmental organizations, project assistants in non-governmental organizations, and assistant production officers in pharmaceutical companies.

Hong Kong’s population is ageing fast, and our sedentary lifestyle and unhealthy diet are not helping, either. To prepare students for the diverse needs of the people they are going to serve, they are required to participate in a 250-hour practicum.

‘The practicum is the most valuable part of my learning. I was placed in the Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health, responsible for programme preparation, designing promotional materials and planning for future activities. My practicum showed me the challenges faced by the NGOs in Hong Kong, but then it also reaffirmed my confidence in the healthcare practitioners and the sector,’ Vestina said.

Time management is essential for almost all disciplines and the programme in Community Health Practice is no exception.

‘We have to take courses and participate in practicum in the second year of our programme, not to mention the group projects. It’s important for us to manage our time wisely,’ she said.

To Vestina, her knowledge of health promotion is useful for jobs outside of the healthcare industry as well. Her training has taught her to be more mindful of other people’s physical and psychological needs, as well as being more communicative and empathetic.

‘Such qualities can be put to good use in a wide range of professions, including the service industry and social services,’ said Vestina.

She thinks that this programme is suitable for civic-minded young people. ‘If you wish to seek fulfillment through service, then Community Health Practice is your best bet.’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2019