往內容

本科課程

 

本課程屬五年全日制課程。中國語言及文學課程由中文系負責,為學生提供全面而深入的語言和文學訓練。中國語文教育課程由教育學院負責,為學生提供語文教育理論和技巧的訓練。

畢業生同時符合中文系及教育學院的畢業要求,獲頒授文學士(中國語文研究)及教育學士(中國語文教育)同期結業雙學位。

畢業生將符合政府對新入職語文教師在以下三方面的要求:(1)語文學科知識 ;(2) 語文能力;(3) 語文教學法。

畢業生具備學位教師教育文憑同等資格,毋需再修讀有關教育專業文憑,即可在本港中、小學任教。

畢業生具備穩固的語文基礎,對中國語言、文學、教育理論及技巧均有所認識,可從事中小學教育、出版、大眾傳播、研究等工作,也可在已有的學業基礎上繼續深造。

知明而教善

據2016年中期人口統計,香港人口92%是華人。五歲以上而「慣用語言」為中文(廣州話、普通話與其他中國方言)者佔93.9%。

儘管中文一直屬於香港學校課程的核心科目,一般人以前都有錯誤的觀念,以為中文既然是學童的第一語言,學習起來便會毫不費勁,隨便一個懂中文的成年人都可以教授。結果中文的教與學從來得不到應有的重視。

幸好這錯誤觀念已被糾正過來。按語文教育及研究常務委員會建議,自2004至05年度起,小學和中學的中文科老師必須起碼持有主修中國語文的教育學士學位,或者持有主修中文的第一和第二學位,並且取得主修該科目的認可教師訓練資歷。

中文大學於1998年率先開辦四年全日制中國語文教育課程,學生修畢此課程後可取得教育學士學位,相等於學位教師教育文憑資歷。這個課程由教育學院和中國語言及文學系合辦,其後重組為五年制,畢業生可同時獲頒授中國語文研究文學士學位。

中國語文研究文學士和中國語文教育學士是同期結業的雙學位課程,目標是培訓專業中國語文教師,畢業生對中國語文和文學有全面了解,在本地以至世界各地執教均可勝任。

換句話說,課程畢業生符合了政府對新一代語文教師的三大要求,即是扎實的語文知識、高超的語文水準及充分掌握教授語文的方法,畢業後隨即可以加入教學大軍。

中國語文教育課程分兩大範圍:其一是中國語文和文學,學生必須修讀語文和語言學、古典文獻、古典和現代文學,另有多個選修科目可供選擇;其二是中國語文教育,學生研習語文教學法和教育議題,並赴海外沉浸學習,還要從事教學實習,以磨練語文能力和教學技巧。

語文沉浸式課程由政府資助,為期八至十星期,學生可前往北京或其他中國大城市學習。普通話和以普通話教授中文都是中國語文教育課程的必修科,有此訓練的學生參加沉浸課程時,得以融入全普通話的語境裏,同時亦可接觸當地的中國文化。回港之前,他們會參加中國國家語言文字工作委員會的普通話水平測試,取得在香港任普通話教師的資歷。

張嘉敏的夢想是當中國語文老師。「我想和年輕一代分享中國文學之美,啟發我的學生。我剛完成了中國語文教育課程的第四年,可以說是選對了學科,用五年時間讀大學是值得的。我的本科和教學知識都豐富了,也更熟悉香港的教育政策。我開始明白課室管理是甚麼一回事;用甚麼技巧才可以更有效地教授語文,也了解學習第一語言的心理層面,這是有助教學的。去年在北京的沉浸學習也擴闊了我的眼界,加強了我教普通話的信心。」

中國語文課程的學生有很多機會參觀課室的實況。課程有適當的安排使學生習慣前線教育工作,磨練他們基本的教學技巧。這些安排包括參觀中小學校和特殊教育學校,還有派駐學校觀察授課和學校運作,且由合作的學校委派教學顧問指導。修學第四年和最後一年則有六星期的實習,由教育學院的教學顧問及老師一起監督。

嘉敏很期待這些學校經驗。「我急不及待可以應用所學,和我的第一批學生進行互動。我希望學校和導師給我好評,不過就算沒有,有經驗豐富的前線老師和學院導師給我寶貴意見,我一定會改善,不斷實踐,成為一個好老師。」

刊登時間:2017年 夏
最後更新:2019年 夏

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

Knowing it Well to Teach it Well

According to the 2016 Population By-census, Han Chinese constitutes 92% of the Hong Kong population. 93.9% of the population aged five or over use Chinese (Cantonese, Putonghua and other dialects) as their ‘usual language’.

Despite the fact that Chinese has always been one of the core subjects in the Hong Kong school curriculum, there had been some common misconceptions that the acquisition of Chinese as a first language is comparatively effortless for children and the teaching of it can be conveniently conducted by any adult who knows the language. As a result, the teaching and learning of the Chinese language had not received the due attention it deserved.

Fortunately the misconception is being rectified. As recommended by the Standing Committee on Language Education and Research, starting from the 2004–05 school year, Chinese Language teachers in primary and secondary schools should hold at least a relevant Bachelor of Education (BEd) degree majoring in a Chinese language, or both a first/ higher degree majoring in Chinese language and a recognized teacher training qualification majoring in the subject.

CUHK pioneered in 1998 to launch a four-year full-time programme in Chinese Language Education (CLED) leading to the award of a BEd degree and the equivalent of a Postgraduate-Diploma-in Education qualification. The programme, offered in conjunction by the Faculty of Education and the Department of Chinese Language and Literature, was restructured into a five-year programme to award an additional Bachelor’s degree in Chinese Language Studies.

Dr. Eric Ng, Programme Coordinator of CLED, explained: ‘The BA (Chinese Language Studies) and BEd (Chinese Language Education) Co-terminal Double Degree Programme aims at cultivating professional Chinese Language teachers with a comprehensive understanding of Chinese language and literature, who are also competent in local and international contexts.’

In other words, graduates from the programme will fulfill the government’s three major requirements for new language teachers, namely, a solid subject knowledge, an excellent language proficiency and a firm grip of language teaching methodology, and can join the teaching force right after graduation.

CLED comprises two major areas of studies. In the Chinese Language and Literature Area, mandatory courses on language and linguistics, ancient text, classical and modern literature plus a wide selection of electives will be offered. In the Chinese Language Education Area, students will study language teaching methodologies and educational issues, and engage in overseas immersion and teaching practice to further hone their language competency and teaching skills.

Financially supported by the Government, the eight to ten weeks immersion programme will bring students to Beijing or other major mainland cities. Students who have taken the mandatory CLED courses on Putonghua and the use of it as a medium of instruction will have a chance to immerse themselves in a fully Putonghua context, with exposure to local Chinese culture. Before returning to Hong Kong, they will sit for the Putonghua Proficiency Test (PSC) administered by the National Language Commission of China to obtain the qualification required for certified Putonghua teachers in Hong Kong.

Cheung Ka-man’s dream career is to be a Chinese language teacher. ‘I want to share the beauty of Chinese literature with the younger generations and bring inspiration to my students. Having just completed the fourth year of the CLED programme, I can tell that I have made the right choice to spend five years for my undergraduate studies. It has enriched both my subject and pedagogical knowledge, and also familiarized me with Hong Kong educational policies. I begin to know what classroom management is, what techniques I can employ in teaching the language effectively and also the psychological aspect of first language acquisition which will help facilitate teaching. The immersion in Beijing last year has broadened my vision and boosted my confidence in teaching Putonghua.’

CLED students have abundant opportunities to observe real-life classroom situations. The programme has well-placed arrangements to familiarize its students with the education frontline and equip them with basic teaching abilities. These include visits to primary and secondary schools and also schools catering for the special educational needs, school attachment for students to observe classroom instruction and school operation under the guidance of a teaching consultant assigned by the collaborative school, and six weeks of practicum in the fourth and final years under the joint supervision of a teaching consultant and teachers from the Faculty of Education.

Ka-man is eagerly looking forward to these school experiences. ‘I can’t wait to apply what I have learned and interact with my first students. I wish I will receive positive feedback from the school and my supervisor and if I do not, I’m sure that I can improve myself through practice and become a better teacher upon the valuable advice from the experienced frontline teachers and my academic supervisors.’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

CLEDN

JUPAS Code

JS4331

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, International, Mainland