往內容

本科課程

 

中大的計算機科學課程始於1978年,其出色的研究和教學享譽國際。課程涵蓋多個範疇,包括:算法、人工智能、大數據分析、電腦與網絡安全、數據庫系統、機器學習、程序設計語言等。課程編排循序漸進,並透過導修和專題研習等,培養學生解難思維,以面對任何相關的挑戰。

除學術以外,課程亦鼓勵學生參加各類活動以擴闊視野,例如:國際程式設計比賽。課程亦會提供工讀計劃和實習機會,學生可以藉此獲取實戰經驗和策略。

計算機科學日新月異,造就很多新機遇。修讀計算機科學課程,你將能學習並掌握最先進的科技,從而成為下一位創新和改變世界的計算機科學家。

以計算機技術解決問題

像大多數今天的年輕人一樣,黎乙生熱愛科技。「由中學上資訊科技課時,我開始對編寫程式感興趣。自此我發覺計算機技術可以解決很多問題,例如通訊和計算等。所以我決定主修中文大學的計算機科學。入讀四年後,我很慶幸當初選對了主修科目。」

中大的計算機科學課程開辦於1978年,內容全面,涵蓋機器學習、數據庫技術、分布式系統、大數據分析、電腦與網絡安全等不同範圍。

學生如符合個別課程的入學要求,可選擇計算機科學和綜合工商管理的雙學位課程,以擴闊學習範圍。在完成計算機科學理學士學位課程後,多讀一年,便可取得工商管理學士學位。除了雙學位課程外,更可以按個人興趣選擇其他科目作副修。

四年下來,乙生所學遠超所期。修讀課程之前,他以為計算機科學知識只可以用來解決數學問題,但原來日常生活中亦應用甚廣,令他詫異不已。「我不但學到很多扎實的計算機科學知識,如程式設計語言、計算機科學的演算法和理論,也磨練了自學的能力,從而培養出獨立思考和解難的思維。這些技能有利日後個人發展。」

學系有三十四位敬業樂業的老師,乙生認爲求學期間師生的交流溝通很寶貴。「我很佩服系裏的教授。他們鼓勵學生多和他們談論和研究計算機科學不同範疇的最新發展,例如人工智能和機器學習等等。他們也很接受學生的意見,而且願意聆聽我們的建議,和我們一起謀求最佳的解難方案。」

課程每年錄取超過一百多名新生,都是對計算機輔助設計、多媒體、資訊檢索、數據科學和生物資訊等電腦系統和程式有興趣的學生。為了幫助新生適應,課程編排循序漸進。學生先修讀入門科目和進行實務課業,然後進展至結合理論和實際知識的較有挑戰性的科目。課程的目標是培養學生的嚴謹思辨能力,以應對與資訊科技相關的道德、專業和社會議題。

課程主任呂榮聰,大多數畢業生會成為軟件工程師或系統設計師,改善電腦或產品系統。他說:「他們很多在各大機構和企業內位居要職,例如香港特區政府、滙豐銀行、英特爾、微軟、國際商業機器和谷歌,不同行業都爭相羅致我們的畢業生。在這人工智能世紀,商界對計算機科學家及軟件工程師需求尤其殷切。除了在業界工作外,有些畢業生在中大或其他海外著名學府攻讀研究院課程。」乙生不像其他剛畢業的學生般一心只望求職,他有更大的野心。「畢業後,我可能會搞初創企業,希望應用所學改變世界。」

刊登時間:2017年 夏
最後更新:2019年 夏

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

Launched in 1978, the Computer Science (CSCI) programme has gained an international reputation for its excellent research and teaching. The programme has a wide coverage of studies, including algorithms, artificial intelligence, big data analytics, computer and network security, database systems, machine learning, programming languages, etc. Students will progressively learn from the introductory courses to the more advanced topics, accompanied with tutorials and projects for hands-on experience, and develop a problem-solving mindset to tackle any possible challenges in the computer-related fields.

Studying in the CSCI programme is not just about academics. The programme encourages students to participate in various activities, such as ICPC, to broaden their horizons. The Work-Study programme and internships are also available for students to gain practical experience in the industry, equipping them with the necessary skills and career tactics for employment.

Computer science in constantly creating new opportunities in various fields. The CSCI programme will empower you to gain knowledge of state-of-the-art technologies. You will be the next computer scientist who innovates and changes the world.

Computing and Problem Solving

Like most of the youths nowadays, Sunny Lai is a technology lover. ‘I first got interested in programming when I had IT classes in secondary school. Since then I found that we could solve a lot of problems, such as communication and calculation, by computing. Therefore, I decided to major in Computer Science at CUHK. After spending four years in this department, I’m proud to say that I made the right decision.’

Established in 1978, the Computer Science programme has developed a comprehensive curriculum with courses covering various areas, including machine learning, database techniques, distributed systems, big data analytics, computer and network security, etc.

A double-degree programme in Computer Science and Integrated Business Administration is an option for students to broaden their horizons if they can fulfill the admissions requirements of both programmes. Student can use an additional year to gain the BBA degree upon completion of the BSc degree in Computer Science. Apart from having double-degree, students are also welcome to minor in other subjects according to their interests.

What Sunny has learnt during these four years went far beyond his expectation. Before entering university, he thought that knowledge of computer science could only be used to solve mathematical problems, but during the course of his studies he was amazed by how such knowledge could be widely applied on a daily basis. ‘Not only have I acquired some solid knowledge in computer science, including the languages of programming, algorithms and theories of computer science, I have also experienced a change in mindset and have had an overall enhanced capacity in independent thinking, problem-solving and self-learning—qualities that are important to my personal development in the future.’

Supported by 34 devoted members of teaching staff, Sunny found the interaction between professors and students very precious. ‘I am impressed as professors encourage students to talk to them, to discuss and explore the latest development in various fields in computer science, such as artificial intelligence, machine learning and so on. They are open to comments and are always willing to work out optimum solutions together with us.’

Every year, the Programme admits over 100 students curious about all kinds of computer systems and programming, including computer-aided design, multimedia, information retrieval, data science, and bioinformatics. The curriculum is designed with levels of difficulties to help newcomers adapt. Beginning with introductory courses and hands-on projects, students then advance to more challenging courses that combine theories and practical knowledge well. The ultimate goal of the courses is to nurture students’ critical thinking towards ethical, professional and societal issues associated with information technologies.

According to Prof. Michael Rung-Tsong Lyu, Chairman of the Department of Computer Science and Engineering, most of the graduates would become software engineers or system designers for computer or product system advancement. ‘Many of them have taken up important positions in various organizations and companies, such as the HKSAR government, HSBC, Intel, Microsoft, IBM and Google. Our graduates are highly sought after in different sectors. Particularly in the current AI era, computer scientists and software engineers are in high demand for every business field. Apart from choosing to work in the industry, some graduates have entered postgraduate programmes in CUHK or in other world-renowned universities overseas,’ said Professor Lyu. Unlike most fresh graduates who look for employment, Sunny has a bigger ambition. ‘Upon graduation, I may operate a startup to apply what I have learnt and try to change the world.’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2019