往內容

本科课程

 

建构可持续未来的工程学

地球资源并非无穷,生态环境亦有局限,可持续发展就是指如何在这种种限制下好好生活。今天的工程师必须找出周全有效的方法来保护我们这个脆弱的地球,以及应付不断膨胀的人口所需。中文大学的能源与环境工程学课程正为此而设,学生可全面认识能源和环境的複杂性和相互关係。

能源与环境工程学的理想学生须有工程学头脑,而且立志为後世建构一个关顾环境、有利永续发展的世界。课程享有中大作为综合研究型大学的广博学术优势,更得到中大附属机构的支援,包括环境、能源及可持续发展研究所和未来城市研究所。

课程主任徐东艳教授说:「我们的课程是工程学院、社会科学院和理学院相关学科学术合作之下的产物。学生接受的科目训练,包括能源原理、环境研究、城市污染,到智慧型建築的设计及监控,以至能源评估及管理。」

课程让学生从跨学科的视角学习及认识能源和环境的平衡协调,以及爲了解决此等难题而在工程学衍生的挑战。学生可习得能源原理、技术及系统方面的基本知识和解决问题的技能。他们也可以按个人兴趣选择专修科目,範围如下:

  • 可持续能源技术
  • 绿色建築技术
  • 环境工程

热爱大自然的刘小裴刚修完课程的第二年,她说:「我在中学参加了几个绿色组织,也做过环保义工。愈了解人类对大自然的影响,愈觉得有责任要保护大自然。」小裴发觉,工程学和环境学知识对能源议题举足轻重,而这些议题都离不开再生、环保和建築技术。「现时有好几种撷取再生能源的方法,科学家也面对各种撷取能源所带来的问题,我们的挑战便是要找出处理这些实际问题的方法。」

小裴深受系内的学习气氛感染。「同学很勤力,小组讨论时常提出创意十足的念头。老师也时常鼓励我们跳出常规去思考,以应付日趋严重的环境问题。」课程的学生自第二年起便积极参与科研计划;这些计划为他们提供与海外大学合作的机会和交流经验。徐教授补充说:「本系的老师在最新的能源和与环境相关研究上屡创佳绩,潜力优厚。在他们的教授和督导下,学生的学习和研究必能得益不少。」

课程兼重课堂和体验学习。自2012年开办以来,一直鼓励学生参与为期五星期的暑期实习训练。徐教授说:「本系学生一直有参与暑期实习或工读计划。我们还提供资助以激励他们参加地区和国际比赛。在2016年,我们的学生和其他工程学生合作,设计了一辆太阳能车『THE CUE』,赢得『最佳再可生能源转换奖』。」课程会继续物色这类与大学其他组织的合作机会,如中大天石机械人研究所和能源及可持续发展研究所。

学系着重师生关係,所有学生都会获派导师,在他们的学业和其他问题上提供帮助;学生在师生谘询委员会上提出的问题亦会得到妥善处理及解决;学生代表也会获邀参与学系会议。

毕业生熟悉的领域包括能源系统、环境监测及控制、传感器仪表,以及智能与绿色建築技术。徐教授说:「我们预期毕业生可在政府、公用事业机构、与能源有关的公司、绿化技术的初创企业、政府中介组织,以及建築设计和服务行业工作。他们也可以按自己的专长在香港或外国研究院深造。」

「永续」是个重大命题,但易流於抽象。工程师在从事永续设计时,必须仔细审视天然资源和环境上的挑战。小裴的梦想是设计绿化建築,建构一个更宜居的城市环境。「我会应用所学的绿化建築技术知识,例如利用天然通风和自然光线替代空调、人工通风和照明,减少能源消耗。」Computing Across America的作者Steven K. Robert说:「没有工程的艺术是做梦,没有艺术的工程是计算。」修读能源与环境工程课程,既不做梦也不计算。

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

EEENN

联招编号

JS4462

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 非联招(高年级入学), 国际生

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

Engineering for a Sustainable Future

Sustainability implies living well within the ecological limits of a finite planet. The engineers nowadays need to find holistic and effective solutions to protect our fragile planet and meet the needs of a growing human population. The Energy and Environmental Engineering (EEEN) programme at CUHK provides its students with a comprehensive exposure to understand the complexities and interrelationships of energy and the environment.

EEEN is designed for engineering-minded students with aspiration to help make the world greener and sustainable for future generations. The programme leverages on CUHK’s broad academic coverage as a comprehensive research university, and the support of the University’s affiliated entities, including the Institute of Environment, Energy and Sustainability (IEES) and the Institute of Future Cities.

‘Our curriculum is a product of academic collaborations between relevant disciplines in the Faculties of Engineering, Social Science, and Science. Students are trained in a set of courses ranging from energy principles, environmental studies, urban pollutions, to smart building design and control, as well as energy assessment and management,’ said Prof. Xu Dongyan, Director of EEEN.

The programme puts forward an interdisciplinary perspective for learning and understanding the relations and trade-offs between energy and environment, and the ensuing engineering challenges in attaining viable solutions. Students will acquire fundamental knowledge and problem-solving skills in energy principles, technologies, and systems. They also have the option of electing special courses of their interest, leading to the stream designation of:

  • Sustainable Energy Technology
  • Green Building Technology
  • Environmental Engineering

Winnie Liu has just completed her second year at EEEN. She is a nature lover. ‘I joined some green communities and volunteered in a few environmental programmes in high school. The more I learnt about the human impact on nature, the more I felt obliged to protect it.’ Winnie found the engineering and environmental knowledge instrumental in tackling a broad spectrum of energy issues pertaining to renewable, environmental and building technologies. ‘There’re a number of renewable energy harvesting methods. We learnt about the energy harvesting problems encountered by the scientists, and were challenged to explore solutions to address those real-life problems.’

Winnie is impressed by the learning atmosphere of the EEEN community. ‘My classmates are very hardworking and love to contribute creative ideas in group discussions. Besides, the faculty always encourage us to think outside the box to address the pressing environmental issues.’ EEEN students have been active in the faculty-initiated research projects since their second year; these projects often bring them opportunities to collaborate with overseas universities and exchange experiences. Professor Xu added, ‘Our faculty members have strong track records and potential in the latest energy and environmental-related research. Their teaching and project supervision will greatly benefit our students.’

Both classroom teaching and experiential learning are emphasized in EEEN. Since the programme’s inception in 2012, its students have been encouraged to participate in the five-week summer industrial training. Professor Xu said, ‘Our students have been engaging in either summer internship or work-study programme. We also motivate them to take part in regional and international competitions by offering financial support. In 2016, our students collaborated with other engineering students to design a solar car “THE CUE” and won Renewable Energy Capture & Conversion Efficiency Award.’ EEEN will continue to seek such opportunities in collaboration with University entities like CUHK T Stone Robotics Institute and IEES.

EEEN values faculty-student interaction. The programme assigns mentors to all undergraduate students to advise them on their studies and problems they may encounter. The programme has spared no effort in addressing and resolving the issues raised by students in the Staff-Student Consultative Committee. Student representatives are also invited to join EEEN’s departmental meetings and discuss on non-confidential matters.

After the four-year undergraduate training, EEEN students will become well-versed in the current and emerging areas of energy systems, environmental monitoring and control, sensor instrumentation, and smart and green building technologies. Professor Xu said, ‘We envision our graduates will land jobs in the Government, utility companies, energy-related firms, green technology start-ups, government agencies, and the building design and service sector. They can also pursue postgraduate studies in their specialized areas of interest in Hong Kong or overseas.’

Sustainability is a powerful, yet abstract, concept. Engineers need to examine the details of the natural resource and environmental challenges while designing for sustainability. Winnie’s dream is to design green buildings for a more liveable urban environment. ‘I’ll apply the knowledge acquired in the green building technology stream, where I learnt, for example, that natural ventilation and lighting can reduce energy consumption for air-conditioning, ventilation and lighting in buildings.’ Steven K. Robert, author of Computing Across America, said, ‘Art without engineering is dreaming. Engineering without art is calculating.’ At EEEN, one neither dreams nor calculates.

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

EEENN

JUPAS Code

JS4462

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, Non-JUPAS Senior Year Entry, International