往內容

本科课程

 

软硬兼施的艺术

电子工程学涵盖甚广,从电子设备与光学,到通讯系统、信号处理,以至智能系统,不同範畴,创意无限。这个独特的跨学科领域迷倒很多年轻人,李林锴是其中一位,他的目标是「开发一些对公众有益的东西」。

数年前报读大学时,林锴受中文大学的电子工程学课程吸引。这个课程的目的是培育学生成为工程学科的世界领袖,启发他们去追求知识和推动电子工程学的发展,以及应用新技术来为人类谋幸福。

今天回顾,林锴说:「修读电子工程学对我来说绝对是完美的选择。课程广阔而多元化,也有很多体验学习的机会。」

电子工程学系主任孟庆虎教授说:「我们的课程特别设计,不但培养学生在数学、科学和工程学这些基础範围的坚实知识,也在一个或多个先进电子工程领域提供紧凑的训练,例如无线通讯、多媒体和信号处理、生物医学系统等。课程也顾及不同领域的最新技术发展,例如物联网、智慧城市、生物技术与大数据。我们很注重平衡软件和硬件的技能。」

学生可以选择副修其他工程学课程,例如生物医学工程学或计算机科学,或者申请主修电子工程与工商管理双学位课程,在五年内取得两个学士学位,增强事业发展或者学业上的竞争力。

课程还有各种基础实验室科目,以助学生取得实务经验。学生可学习电路分析与设计、程式,以及电子部件、系统与网络的发展这些实际技能,使他们将来可以有能力发展新技术及取得突破。

学生可参加工读计划,用一年时间在业内工作,丰富实务经验。学系设有学生交流计划,合作的都是工程学科出色的著名大学,如加州大学、伊利诺州大学厄巴纳─香槟分校、滑铁卢大学、帝国学院、丹麦技术大学,以及皇家技术学院。

林锴补充说:「学系很支持我们参加本地和区内以至国际性的比赛,例如高锟教授学生创意奖、香港电子业商会创新科技专题毕业报告比赛、国际基因工程生物竞赛,以及全国大学生的挑战杯赛。多得课程的全面性,我的视野大大扩阔了。」

怪不得这个1970年成立的学系可以迅速成为全球其中一个最佳电子工程学系。据2014年香港特区政府的科研评估,中大电子工程学系多位教授的科研被视为领先国际,比率是全港工程学系中最高的。而2016年QS世界大学排名的学科名次,中大电子工程系位居全球第二十位,在香港则居首位。

课程也着重学生的身心健康。每名学生都得到一位全职老师辅导。师生一般会一年见两次面,学生会在学业、选科、时间管理、大学生活的适应、其他学习经验和未来工作等得到指导。学生如有特别学习困难,更可得到个别指导。学生组织电子工程学系系会也会为新生安排社交活动,以助他们多了解课程,也多认识老师及高年级学生。

作为受益人的林锴说:「教授们非常乐於帮助同学,我们随时可以找到他们,向他们请教。他们真的教了我很多,从学术知识、工作计划,到人生的决定,以至怎样在团队内和其他人合作,我也得益不浅。」

他总结说:「从前我以为电子工程不过是关於电路设计的学科。在中大修读了电子工程学後,我才认识这学科的先进科研和创意。这有助我定下清楚的事业发展目标;我希望在生物医学和环境科学的领域内做一个创造者和研究者。」

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

ELEGN

联招编号

JS4434

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 非联招(高年级入学), 国际生

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

The Art of Blending Hard and Soft

Electronic engineering (EE) drives innovation in a broad range of fields from electronic devices and optics to communication networks, signal processing and intelligent systems. This unique and interdisciplinary field fascinates young people including John Li whose goal is ‘making something that would benefit the public’.

When applying for university several years ago, John was attracted by CUHK’s EE programme which aims at educating students to become global leaders in the engineering discipline and instilling in them the desire to pursue knowledge, to advance the state-of-the-art in EE and to apply the new technologies for the betterment of mankind.

Looking back now, John said, ‘It was absolutely a perfect choice for me. The programme provides a wide variety and experiential learning opportunities.’

‘The specially designed curriculum not only nurtures students with solid knowledge in foundation areas in mathematics, science and engineering, but also offers focused training in one or more advanced EE subject areas such as wireless communications, multimedia and signal processing, biomedical systems, etc. There’s a wide coverage on the latest technological developments in fields such as the Internet of Things, smart city, biotechnology and Big Data. Balanced training in both hardware and software skills is provided,’ explained Prof. Max Meng, Chairman of the Department of Electronic Engineering.

Students can choose to minor in other engineering programmes, e.g., biomedical engineering, computer science, or to apply for the Electronic Engineering-Business Administration Double Degree Programme to enhance their competitive edge in career development or studies and obtain two bachelor’s degrees in five years.

Various elementary lab courses are offered to help students to get practical experiences. They will have strong hands-on skills in circuit analysis and design, programming, and development of electronic components, systems, and networks, which will prepare them to advance the state-of-the-art technologies and break new grounds.

Students can join the Work-Study programme and spend one year working in the industry to enrich their practical experiences. There are also overseas exchange programmes with top universities with strong engineering disciplines, to name a few, University of California, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, University of Waterloo, Imperial College, Technical University of Denmark, and Royal Institute of Technology.

John added, ‘We also receive strong support to enter local, regional and international competitions including the Professor Charles K. Kao Student Creativity Awards, HKEIA Project Competition, the International Genetic Engineering Machines Competition (iGEM), the National Challenge Cup Competitions. Thanks to the comprehensive curriculum, my horizon has been widely broaden.’

No wonder the department, established in 1970, has rapidly grown into one of the best EE departments in the world. In the 2014 Research Assessment Exercise of the Hong Kong SAR government, CUHK’s EE Department was recognized to have the largest percentage of professors whose research achievements were regarded as internationally leading, among all EE departments in Hong Kong. According to the QS World University Rankings by Subjects in 2016, the department ranked 20th in the world and top in Hong Kong.

The programme also takes care of the students’ mental well-being. Each student is assigned a full-time faculty member as Level 1 advisor. The advisors generally meet their advisees twice a year to provide guidance on study plan, course selection, time management, adaptation to the University, other learning experience, and career prospect. A private tutor scheme has been launched to help students with special learning difficulties. The EE Society, a student organization, organizes social events for the new students to know more about the programme, the senior students and the EE professors.

Being one of the beneficiaries, John said, ‘The professors are super helpful, always available and willing to give suggestions whenever needed. I really learned a lot from them, from academic knowledge to career plan, life decisions, and how to be a good collaborator.’

He concluded, ‘In the past, I thought EE was a discipline about circuit design. Learning at CUHK has made me realize the cutting-edge research and innovative aspects of it. It also helps to build a clear goal for my career—a maker and researcher in the field of biomedical and environmental sciences.’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

ELEGN

JUPAS Code

JS4434

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, Non-JUPAS Senior Year Entry, International