往內容

本科課程

 

如沐春風

中文大學英文系畢業班學生溫遠煜對所有喜歡英文的高中學生都會這樣說:「如果你熱愛英國文學和語言學,希望知性和感性都得到滿足,我們的大家庭是明智選擇,你會感到如沐春風。」

遠煜熱愛英國語言及文學,四年前決定主修時已列英文系為首選。中文大學成立之初已有英文課程,為學生提供全面的講、讀和寫英文的訓練,致力培養英語溝通無礙、慎思明辨的人才。

英文系現時分兩個範圍:應用英語語言學和英國文學研究。最令遠煜讚賞的是兩個範圍相輔相成,這在其他大學頗為少有。此外,課程還有一系列精心設計的科目,磨練學生的傳意技巧,使他們在兩個範圍內均能盡量發揮。

在入讀中文大學之前,遠煜以為文學科目的重心在於揭開文本內隱藏的意義。出乎她意料之外,課程不但令她認識文學與政治、哲學等的微妙關係,還有助她掌握頗多複雜的觀念。包羅萬象的英文系課程,帶給她連番的衝擊與啟蒙,煥發了她的活躍思想。

在四年大學的眾多科目中,遠煜最難忘的是牛津暑期計劃,視之為改變一生的經驗。她回憶說:「牛津的研究生見解不凡,我們向他們學了很多文學和國際事務的知識。導師要我們學以致用,還鼓勵我們多思考,而且要想得夠廣夠深。」那年夏天,遠煜不但變得更獨立,也學會不少不可或缺的生活技能,境界也擴闊了。

除了牛津課程的薰陶外,英文系還舉辦前往英國的兩星期文化考察團。大多數英文系學生都要往海外學習至少一個學期,不選擇往海外的可以選修其他副修學科,發展不同的興趣。英文系學生最喜歡副修的學科有日文、新聞、法律、現代語文、翻譯等。

遠煜的另一個寶貴經驗是在畢業班時完成了獨立研究計劃,又稱「總結課程」。學生可自由選擇一個範圍,由專長該範圍的教授一對一指導。對遠煜來說,這經驗之無價不單在於那是她首次一嚐正式做研究的滋味,也令她立志深造。她從中學到的技巧,以及為計劃作報告時磨練出來的表達和答辯能力,在日後深造和日常生活中都可以應用。

遠煜覺得英文系與別不同的其中一項因素是系內的民主氣氛和靈活性。據她解釋,課程列出的科目並不是每學期都開辦,但學系會進行調查,諮詢學生意見,盡量在每學期為學生提供最好的科目組合。

英文系系主任Jette Hansen Edwards教授補充,歸屬感是學系成為溫馨大家庭的主要因素。現時學系每年錄取六十個新生。為協助新生適應和投入課程,學生組織會舉辦各類學系活動。遠煜指出,教授和導師很鼓勵和支持新同學,她覺得老師都「樂於助人、識見不凡及和藹可親」。學生亦可參加英文系系會及其下委員會舉辦的各種活動,認識志同道合的朋友。「我交了一生中最好的朋友。同屆的同學我差不多每一個人都有交往,也認識很多其他屆的人,其中有好幾位特別要好。我從朋友身上學到很多東西,他們對我的啟發真不少。」遠煜有感而發。

很多人覺得英文系學生畢業後執教鞭是常態,系主任頗不以為然。英文系本科生課程訓練學生了解不同傳意形式的微妙之處,所以他們都培養到在社交和專業世界來往自如的能力。事實上,很多英文系校友在各行各業如公關、管理、政府和公共服務等的不同崗位上都克盡己任。

遠煜沒有馬上投身工作,她在來年將會深造英文碩士課程。總結過去四年的精彩生活,遠煜對英文系感激不已:「非常感謝學系一直以來給我的極大支持和指導。當然,如果我說這四年過得優悠自在和毫不費勁,那是騙人的。不過有一點我可以肯定說,這四年是我一生中最美好的時光,所流的淚和汗絕對值得。」

刊登時間:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

The Warmest Encounter

To any high-school student who is a lover of English, Liz Wan, a senior student from the Department of English of CUHK, would say this: ‘if you are passionate about English literature, linguistics, and would like to be intellectually trained and emotionally supported, then our big warm family would be a good choice for you.’

As an ardent lover of English language and literature, Liz listed the Department of English as her first choice when she was deciding on her major four years ago. Founded since the establishment of CUHK, the Programme emphasizes the importance of the nurturing of critical thinkers and effective communicators in English by providing comprehensive training in speaking, reading and writing to students.

The Department of English is divided into two streams: Applied English Linguistics and English literary studies. What made the Programme particularly attractive to Liz was the great balance between the streams, which was not commonly seen in other universities. In addition, there was a sequence of well-designed courses on communication skills to help students unleash their potential in both streams.

Before studying in CUHK, Liz assumed that the focus of the literature courses would primarily be on unveiling the hidden meanings behind the texts. To her great surprise, the Programme had assisted her in grasping a considerable amount of complex ideas, on top of the intricate relationships between literature and politics, literature and philosophy, etc. The wide range of courses offered by the Department also gave her many pangs of enlightenment and ignited many intellectual fireworks in her mind.

Among all the courses taken, the Oxford Summer Programme gave Liz the most unforgettable and life-changing experience during her bachelor’s study. She recalled, ‘We learnt about literature and international affairs from the knowledgeable graduates of that University. The tutors challenged us to put what we had previously learnt into practice, and inspired us to think more broadly and deeply.’ In addition to becoming more independent, Liz also learnt many indispensable life skills and broadened her horizon that summer.

Other than the immersion programme at Oxford, the Department of English also offers a two-week cultural tour to the UK. Most of the students in the Department will spend at least one term of studying abroad. If students do not take the overseas option, they can still explore their interests in different aspects via minoring in other fields. Popular minor programmes for students in the English Department include Japanese, Journalism, Law, Modern Languages, Translation, etc.

Another valuable experience to Liz was completing the Independent Research Project (also known as Capstone Project) in her final year. Students could freely choose an area to work on, and they were then coached one-on-one by a professor with relevant expertise in the chosen area. To Liz, this experience was priceless not only because it was her first taste of doing formal research but also because it affirmed her decision to pursue further studies. The skills that she acquired and the training that she had for articulating and defending the ideas during the Capstone presentation could be applied in her future studies and daily circumstances.

In Liz’s opinion, one of the factors that make the Department of English so special was the democracy and flexibility offered. She explained that not all of the courses listed were offered every semester, but the Department would conduct a survey to consult opinions from students and would make efforts in arranging the best course combination for students every semester.

Prof. Jette Hansen Edwards, the Chair of the Department of English, added that the sense of belonging is also crucial for the Department to act as a cozy family for students. There are 60 new students in the cohort each year. To assist them in adapting to and thriving in the Programme, some student-led societies would organize various departmental-level activities. According to Liz, newcomers would be inspired and supported by the professors and tutors, whom Liz described as ‘helpful, knowledgeable and friendly.’ Students could also meet some like-minded friends by participating in different kinds of activities held by English Society and its subordinate committees. ‘I have built some of the best relationships in my life with numerous people here. I am acquainted with almost everyone in my cohort and many from other cohorts, and have become closer with a bunch of them. I have learnt a lot from my friends and have been inspired by them, too,’ Liz commented.

While most of the people think that becoming teachers after graduation is a norm for English graduates, Professor Hansen Edwards pointed out that it is not the only option for their graduates. The undergraduate courses provide training to students in understanding nuances of different forms of communication. They have therefore been cultivated to be capable of navigating the social and professional worlds fluently. In fact, many of the alumni have devoted themselves to different positions in various sectors, including public relations, management, government and public services, etc.

Instead of entering into the workforce immediately, Liz will continue her academic pursuit by studying an MPhil in the English Literary Studies stream in the coming year. When concluding her remarkable journey in the past four years, Liz expressed her gratitude to the Department, ‘I am extremely thankful to the Department for their immense support and guidance throughout the process. Of course, I would be lying if I said that my past four years were easy and care-free, but what I am certain is that they have been the best four years of my life, and all the tears and sweats I shed were well worth it.’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

ENGEN

JUPAS Code

JS4032

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, Non-JUPAS Senior Year Entry, International, Mainland