往內容

本科课程

 

求美求真

中文大学的本科生艺术课程独特而全面,学与术并重,既要研习艺术史,亦要实践创作。学生须接触多项与艺术有关的课题,包括中国和西方传统艺术,还有当代艺术和文化。

课程每年报读人数踊跃,但艺术系只会从中选录二十个傑出的中学毕业生。遴选标準着重申请人的学业成绩、艺术天分、对艺术的热诚、学习态度,以及有否在四年学习期内努力不懈的坚持。

丘宛鑫是获录取的其中一个幸运儿,她认为有机会入读中文大学艺术系是莫大荣幸。她觉得课程令她对广濶无边创意无限的艺术世界了解得更多,也釐清了日後事业发展的方向。

「入读艺术系後,我明白到作为年轻艺术家或者艺术学生,要学习的并不止於掌握不同艺术形式和在工作室内独自创作艺术品。在教授和导师的指导下,我了解到艺术製作是一个社会参与的过程,一件重要的艺术作品其实对社会的文化发展有深远影响。」

宛鑫尤其欣赏的是老师的教学。「他们都是全心全意的好老师,学识深厚,艺术专业经验丰富。他们的指导和支持是我不断求美求真的动力。」

她也和同班同学建立了非常紧密的关係,大家日夜在诚明馆的工作室内一起工作。有时候,全班会一起举办展览,这些都是令宛鑫毕生难忘的经验。

「展览不止於展出艺术作品那麽简单,过程涉及小心策划和详细的展场设计。我也领会到一个成功的展览需要有效的宣传计划,而作为展出者,你要习惯和参观展览的嘉宾和支持者打交道。」

宛鑫获得一个非常难得的机会──到纽约大都会艺术博物馆实习。在世界上其中一间最有名的艺术博物馆工作是大开眼界的体验,宛鑫渴望能从中取得到艺术行政的实际经验。

「艺术系一直积极为本科学生拓展交流和实习机会。我们也不断邀请国际著名的艺术家和艺术专家出任访问学人,举行讲座,使学生得以接触艺术世界最新发展的资讯。」中文大学艺术系系主任韦一空说。

对宛鑫来说,艺术系的课程作业、工作室创作、展览管理、海外交流、实习计划,以及傑出艺术家和艺术专家的讲座充实了她对不同艺术类型的了解,也培养了她对传统和实验风格的艺术创作的开放心胸。

「从课程学到的知识和技巧非常宝贵,因为将来当我发展事业时,可以把它们应用在不同的範围。」

这些年来,中文大学艺术系毕业生在本地和全世界的艺术圈子都扮演着举足轻重的角色,他们都从事艺术创作、设计、艺术教育、艺术行政、艺术史学,以及美术馆或博物馆的工作。不少毕业生则继续进修,在不同的著名艺术学院取得硕士学位。

如果你有兴趣主修让你发挥创意的科目,宛鑫有两句鼓励的说话:

「中文大学的艺术系课程很有启发性,你会掌握到很多技巧,例如艺术创作、艺术评论及研究、项目组织和展览管理。虽然是不容易获得录取,但不要被吓怕──预备好你的代表作品,面试时展现你的艺术才华。我们欢迎更多有创意的人才加入。」

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

FAASN

联招编号

JS4044

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 非联招(高年级入学), 国际生, 内地高考

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

In Search of Beauty and Truth

The undergraduate programme in Fine Arts at CUHK offers a unique and comprehensive curriculum which emphasizes both the study of art history and the practice of studio art. Students are exposed to a wide variety of art-related topics, including traditional Chinese and Western art, as well as contemporary art and culture.

The programme attracts a large number of applicants every year, from which the Department of Fine Arts would select 20 outstanding secondary school graduates to join the cohort. Candidates are evaluated on their academic performances, artistic talents and passions, eagerness to learn and willingness to work hard throughout the four years of study.

Yau Yuen-yum was one of the undergraduate students admitted and she feels very privileged to be given the opportunity to study Fine Arts at CUHK. Yuen-yum thinks that the programme has enabled her to understand more about this broad and creative subject and allowed her to develop a clear direction for her future career.

‘The programme has made me realize that as a young artist or a student of fine arts, you do not only study different art forms and create pieces of art alone in the studio. With the guidance of my professors and instructors, I have come to understand that art-making can be a socially engaging process and an important piece of artwork can actually have significant impacts on the cultural development of the society,’ she said.

Yuen-yum is particularly impressed by the teachings of her professors. ‘They are all devoted educators with abundant knowledge and artistic experiences in their specialized fields. Their guidance and support become the driving forces behind my constant pursuit of truth and beauty.’

She has also developed a very close relationship with her fellow classmates, with whom she spends days and nights working in the art studio in Cheng Ming Building. There are times when the entire class has to curate an exhibition together and Yuen-yum recalls the experience to be truly unforgettable.    

‘An exhibition is more than just a display of artworks. It is a process that involves careful planning and thoughtful curatorial design. I’ve also learnt that a successful exhibition needs an effective advertising campaign and as a curator, you have to get used to socializing with various guests and supporters of the exhibition,’ she said.

Yuen-yum has received a once-in-a-life-time internship opportunity at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York. Working in one of the world’s most famous art museum has been an eye-opening experience for Yuen-yum, who is keen to acquire hands-on experiences in art administration.

‘The Department of Fine Arts has been actively developing exchange and internship opportunities for our undergraduate students. We also frequently invite internationally renowned artists and art experts as visiting scholars to deliver lectures and provide students with information about the latest development in the art world,’ remarked Prof. Frank Vigneron, Chair of the Department of Fine Arts at CUHK.

For Yuen-yum, the trainings offered by the Fine Arts programme in terms of coursework, studio-art practice, exhibition management, overseas exchange, internship programme and  lectures given by distinguished artists and art experts have enriched her understanding of various art genres and enabled her to cultivate an open and creative attitude towards artistic creations of both traditional and experimental styles.           

‘The knowledge and skills acquired from this programme are extremely valuable as they can be applied to many different career fields,’ said Yuen-yum.

Over the years, graduates of the Fine Arts programme in CUHK have been playing a significant role in the local and global art scene as artists, designers, art educators, art administrators, art historians, and curators. Many of them have also pursued further studies and obtained MFA degrees in Studio Art and MPhil degrees in Art History from various renowned art institutions.

If you are interested in pursuing a major that would allow you to unleash your creativities, Yuen-yum has a few words of encouragement for you:

‘The undergraduate programme in Fine Arts at CUHK would equip you with the skills of art-making, art criticism and research, event organization and exhibition management. It may seem to be a competitive programme to get in, but don’t be intimidated–get your portfolio ready and be prepared to show your artistic flair during the admission interview. We look forward to welcoming more creative talents in our Fine Arts cohort.’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

FAASN

JUPAS Code

JS4044

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, Non-JUPAS Senior Year Entry, International, Mainland