往內容

本科课程

 

培育未来金融科技专才

金融科技是近年新兴的工程产业,集中以运用科技来提升金融服务的效率,也是教育界一门新开设的课程。透过先进的工程技术,特别是在信息科技及数据科学範畴上,金融科技颠覆了传统金融服务业,带来革命性影响。

中大金融科技课程主任陈南陈南教授说:「这课程是全港第一个关於金融科技的课程。课程旨在传授学生坚实的基础知识,增强运用创新科技於金融服务的能力,并为业界培育新一代领袖和创业菁英,以支持香港成为国际金融科技中心。」

课程虽由工程学院提供,但工商管理、法律及社会科学三个学院亦参与讲授,设计这种独特的跨学科衔接教育方式,是为了让学生具备前沿的工程技术知识外,更广泛了解与金融科技相关的法律、经济及社会课题。

课程与香港金融管理局及香港应用科技研究院紧密合作,为学生提供实习和海外交流机会,并积极与数码港、香港科技园公司及其他公司磋商,安排金融科技的专题实习。此外,学生亦可透过由工程学院统筹的就业及实习计划,参加工作学习、长短期实习及出外交流。

教授内容经学院精心设计,学生首两年先修读基础科目,循序渐进,继而深入学习。系统工程与工程管理学系会颁发入学奖学金予合资格学生。本科以外,学生亦可根据兴趣,选择其他院系开设的副修课程。

陈教授说:「金融科技有助提升香港金融业的竞争力,已被政府列为重点发展方向之一,并鼓励业内人才致力促进香港成为亚太区内金融科技创新发展的楷模。由此可见,学成的金融科技年轻人才不愁出路。」

课程的毕业生能满足金融服务业中对定量和技术能力有较高要求的工作。职业前景包括投资和商业银行、保险、资产管理、互联网金融、政府监管,以及其他金融科技相关的初创企业等。毕业生亦可以在金融学、管理科学与工程、计算机科学、信息工程等相关领域继续深造。

金融科技学课程每年会招收五十名新生。陈教授说:「我们招收精於数学与沟通技巧,并且对工程科技及其应用感兴趣的中学毕业生。我们的学生将会和志趣相投的同学共同学习,也会有关怀他们知识及职业发展的导师。」

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

FTECN

联招编号

JS4428

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 国际生, 内地高考

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

Nurturing Future Talent in FinTech

A new programme in Financial Technology (FinTech) is born. Financial Technology is an emerging engineering discipline that focuses on employing technological innovations in financial practices. Leveraging on the cutting-edge developments of engineering, particularly information technology and data sciences, it demonstrates an unprecedented potential to offer innovative solutions to existing problems and revolutionizes the nature of the traditional financial services industry.

‘The programme in FinTech at CUHK is the first of its kind in Hong Kong,’ remarked programme director Prof. Chen Nan. ‘It aims to educate and equip students with the essential knowledge and capabilities to apply technological innovations to financial services, as well as to nurture leadership and entrepreneurship for the next generation of financial talent in support of Hong Kong’s development into an international FinTech hub.’.

Led by the Faculty of Engineering, the FinTech programme features a strong multidisciplinary training as courses are offered by the Faculties of Business Administration, Law and Social Science. Students are able to acquire cutting-edge technical skills and a broad understanding of potential legal, economic and societal impacts of financial technology.

The programme collaborates closely with the Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA) and the Hong Kong Applied Science and Technology Research Institute (ASTRI) to offer internship and overseas exchange opportunities for its students. It is also actively seeking collaboration opportunities with Cyper Port, Science Park and other private companies to organize FinTech-specific internships. Students can also join the Placement and Internship Programme (PIP) centralized by the Faculty of Engineering for a variety of opportunities for work-study, long-term or short-term internships and student exchange.

To ensure new students adapt and thrive, major foundation courses will be offered in the first two years of their studies to introduce some basic information on the subject. Admission scholarships will also be provided by the Department of Systems Engineering and Engineering Management to eligible students. Apart from focusing on the study of FinTech, students also enjoy the freedom to enroll in a minor programme offered by any Faculty or Department at CUHK according to their interests.

‘The Hong Kong government regards FinTech as one of its main strategies to maintain the competitiveness of local financial industry and also encourages FinTech talent in Hong Kong to set the standards for the latest financial technologies within the region. The employment opportunities for innovative young talent who are trained in this specific field are thus abundant,’ said Professor Chen.

Graduates of the FinTech programme will be ideally suited for positions that require strong quantitative and technological skills in the financial services industry. Prospective career opportunities include investment and commercial banking, insurance, asset management, internet finance, government regulatory agencies and FinTech startups. They can also pursue further studies in finance, management sciences and engineering, computer sciences, information engineering and other related fields.

The programme is receiving 25 new students each year. ‘We look for secondary school graduates who are strong in mathematics with good communication skills and have an interest in engineering technology and its applications in finance. Students of our programme will enjoy the opportunities to study with classmates who share the same academic interests and faculty members who care for both their intellectual as well as their career development,’ said Professor Chen.

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

FTECN

JUPAS Code

JS4428

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, International, Mainland