往內容

本科課程

 

中大新聞與傳播學院於2017-2018年度推出全港首創的全球傳播本科課程。此課程的設立建基於本院與英國的薩塞克斯大學媒體、電影與音樂學院的合作。我們期望通過在英國的交換學習計劃給學生帶來專業化的知識、獨特的國際化學習經驗以及全球化思維。此課程會探討全球化的複雜本質、過程及對媒體的影響,以及在新的傳播模式下媒體研究、文化研究、全球媒體管理、跨文化傳播研究等方面的新發展。為了幫助學生實踐理論,本課程將會提供在亞洲及歐洲考察及訪問媒體機構的機會。

畢業生可以投身跨國企業、國際新聞組織、跨國廣告與公關機構、新媒體機構、政府、非牟利組織等。畢業生也可以在全球傳播、媒體研究等相關領域繼續深造。

跨越界限的傳播

全球化對個人和社會的影響幾乎是無孔不入,媒體和新聞業當然不能獨善其身。受過良好教育、具良好溝通能力和國際視野的專業人士日益受歡迎。

為了應付對全球通訊人才的需求,中文大學新聞與傳播學院與英國薩塞克斯大學(University of Sussex)的媒體、電影與音樂學院合作,於2017年開辦一個嶄新的全球傳播課程。

這項課程是香港首創,旨在培養不同通訊領域的領袖人才,尤其側重新聞與創意及數碼媒體。新聞與傳播學院院長李立峯教授說:「課程的設計是訓練學生的全球性思維,使他們能放眼全球但立足本土,培養學生的語言和多元文化能力,以及傳授新聞和創意媒體的專業知識。」

課程有不同科目,探討的主要題材有全球化的複雜本質、過程及對媒體的影響,以及在新的傳播模式下媒體研究、新聞學、文化研究、全球媒體管理與跨文化傳播研究等的新發展。

李教授解釋說:「報讀的同學必須對全球議題有濃厚興趣,以成為知多識廣的領袖為志向,還要願意承擔,並以從綜觀全球的角度來分析本土事務,以及與國際夥伴合作。」

薩塞克斯大學是頂尖教育及研究學府,師生來自全球一百二十個國家。課程的獨特之處在於為學生提供實用訓練和全球性學習經驗。中大學生可以和薩塞克斯學生在電子平台上互動溝通和共用教材,還可以利用視頻會議互相認識。

在課程第二年,中大學生會前赴英國留學一年。到第三年,薩塞克斯學生則會來香港與中大學生一起上課。

李教授說:「在這個安排下,學生可以與不同背景的同學一起學習一段長時間,從中取得寶貴的學習經驗。除此之外,我們也組織實地考察和到傳媒機構參觀,以擴闊學生的境界,使他們得以實踐理論。」

學生也可選修中大新聞與傳播學院和薩塞克斯大學媒體、電影與音樂學院的課程,以進一步發掘自己的興趣及擴闊知識,也可在中大選擇相關的學科作副修。

至於畢業生的前途,李教授說:「他們可以在跨國企業或新聞機構、全球性廣告及公關公司、全球性新媒體組織,或者政府和非牟利組織發展;不然也可以繼續學業,深造全球傳播、國際關係及相關學科。」

刊登時間:2017年 夏
最後更新:2019年 夏

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

From the 2017-18 academic year, the School of Journalism and Communication launches the Global Communication undergraduate programme, which is the first of its kind in Hong Kong. Courses of the programme examine the complex nature, processes, and impact of globalisation on media and the development in media studies, cultural studies, global media management, and cross-cultural communication associated with the new modes of communication. Students will gain professional insights and cutting-edge knowledge from local veteran practitioners and world-leading communication scholars. They will also have the chance to study in one of our partner universities across Asia, Europe, and North America.

Graduates can pursue careers in multinational corporations, transnational news organisations, global advertising and public relations agencies, new media organisations, government, and non-profit organisations. Graduates can also pursue postgraduate studies in the area of global communication, media studies, and related fields.

Communicating Across Boundaries

Globalisation has posed challenges in almost every aspect of individual and social life. The communication and media industries are not immune to such challenges. There is an increasing demand for well-educated professionals with strong communication skills and international perspectives. This programme responds to these needs in society.

Being the first of its kind, the Global Communication programme (GCOMN) combines a rigorous training in journalism and communication studies and a guaranteed academic exchange for one to two semesters. Students will gain professional insights and cutting-edge knowledge from local veteran practitioners and world-leading communication scholars. They will also have the chance to study in one of our partner universities across Asia, Europe, and North America.

‘The programme is designed to develop students’ ability to think globally and act locally. It also provides practical training on multilingual and multicultural competencies and professional skills in journalism,’ said Prof. Francis Lee, Director of School of Journalism and Communication.

GCOMN places equal emphasis on ‘theory’ and ‘practice’. The theoretical component of the programme examines the complex nature, processes, and impact of globalisation on media as well as the challenges in communicating in intercultural settings. The practical component engages students with real-world production of the School’s English news practicum magazine, Varsity, and elective courses in integrated marketing communication and creative media.

‘Applicants should have a deep interest in global issues and a strong desire to become a future leader in diverse intercultural settings. They should show their commitment in developing the ability to analyse local matters within the global context and collaborate with international partners,’ Professor Lee remarked.

Janine Kim, a Year-5 student of GCOMN, is impressed by the courses that the programme offers. ‘The Global Communication programme truly reflects the current media landscape. Students have plenty of opportunities to get to know various media and communication cultures, including Bollywood movies, telenovelas from Latin America, and the Korean Wave.’

Janine Kim (2nd right), Year-5 student in Global Communication programme

Every year, GCOMN organises the ‘Global Communication Talk Series’ and invites veteran practitioners to share their industrial experiences and insights to the students. These experts, who have diverse academic and industrial backgrounds, provide valuable advice to students for their success in both the academia and the industry.

On top of the academic exchange, there is also an overseas field study where students, under the supervision of their teachers, conduct original research and media production.

Students are also free to further explore their interests or broaden their knowledge by taking elective courses in various areas such as advertising and public relations, journalism, creative and new media, and communication studies. They can also pursue a minor at CUHK. Minors related to politics, sociology, cultural studies, and business administration are particularly relevant to GCOMN.

On the prospects of the graduates, Professor Lee pointed out, ‘They can either pursue careers in multinational corporations, transnational news organisations, global advertising and public relations agencies, global new media organisations, government, and non-profit organisations, or further their studies in the area of global communication, international relations, and related fields.’

Lastly, Janine has the following advice for all prospective students:

‘As a student in the Global Communication programme, it is extremely important to be open-minded and to actively expose yourself to as many learning opportunities as possible. Always take a shot and try out new things!’

Note: Because of the ongoing global pandemic, there might be changes in the timing and destination of overseas studies if necessary.

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2021