往內容

本科课程

 

环球‧专业

凃张傑在台湾长大,在高中时数学成绩出色,想进大学修读经济和商科,但对两者的分别不甚了解。他向导师请教,导师问他可有想过修读金融。这一问为他带来新想法。张傑搜集了一些资料,发觉金融糅合他对数学与商科的知识,正好切合他的兴趣。他後来获中文大学的环球经济与金融课程录取,梦想得以实现。

这个课程由经济学系和金融学系合办。课程联席主任莊太量教授表示,他们欢迎有环球思维和合作精神的学生报读,合资格者或可获奖学金。

课程另一位联席主任周应峰教授补充说,课程经特别设计,例如经济整合、银行与金融业规章、中国经济等,都是专门而不囿於传统的科目。

张傑最欣赏这些特别设计的科目。「这些科目和其他在大讲堂内授课的科目不同,一班只有大约三十人,同学有更多机会表达自己的想法。当然,这些科目也比较紧凑。

「我不是唯一的海外生。在这课程裏,你会见到来自世界各地的学生。我那一年便有台湾、韩国、印尼和巴西同学。在这条小小的『地球村』内,你会学到尊重别人的背景和与不同的人相处。我在课程内结识的朋友都当我是家人般看待。这裏的时光很不错!」

张傑接着说:「课程对经济学和金融学同样着重。你可以从中培养到两个学科的知识,同样扎实,不会厚此薄彼。」

环球经济与金融课程的学生掌握两个学科的要义,融会贯通。周教授解释说:「课程的目标是为学生提供扎实的跨学科训练,培养他们有环球背景的经济学与金融学知识,毕业生接受过严谨的分析训练,而且具备环球思维,自能应付银行业和金融业的未来挑战,这也是切合社会的需求。」课程毕业生的发展预期无可限量,他们可以服务银行业、金融业和商业顾问的跨国公司,也可以在公营或私营机构内做金融研究的工作。

莊教授说:「这个课程的要求非常高,学生须要应付不少困难,藉此发掘个人潜力和学习工作所需的技能。从这课程修习得来的专精技能和知识,对有志在环球金融机构发展事业的人非常有用。」

课程的学生有很多实习和前赴海外交流的机会。他们差不多所有人都可以在三年级时参加交换计划,到海外大学学习最少一个学期。上班受薪的实习工作可以是接受编派或自行申请。学习式的实习则可以自行寻找或参加商业机构赞助的计划。

这两类实习都非常重要。张傑说:「人家听到你读经济,可能以为你学的是经济理论。这大概是对我们的课程的最大误解。我们着重的是理论的实践应用。举例说,有些科目会要求你就特定的金融或经济议题撰写报告。环球经济与金融的学生经过这种训练,在现实世界工作时对实际的问题便能从容应付。」

张傑希望将来在金融业发展,充满信心的他说:「我受过这些严格的训练,我认为自己有能力在将来闯一番事业。」

张傑可没有为将来发展担心。环球经济与金融课程大部分毕业都加入银行和金融业,也有人创业,或者继续学业。此外,有些毕业生取得註册会计师之类的专业资格,正发展专业事业。

张傑正修读课程的第四年,早已掌握读好书的窍门:「全力以赴,尽情学习。课程很灵活,对学生支援亦充足,但学生决不可马马虎虎。这课程一流,但要求严格。有备而来的同学,其大学生活会非常充实。」

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

GLEFN

联招编号

JS4254

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 国际生, 内地高考

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

Getting Global Getting Pro

Jackie Tu grew up in Taiwan. He was particularly good at mathematics in high school but had wanted to study economics and business in university, knowing little about the difference between the two. So he went to his adviser who asked him if he had thought about studying finance. That opened up a new vista for Jackie, who did some research and found out that it was a major which could combine his interest in mathematics and business. His subsequent enrollment in the Global Economics and Finance (GLEF) programme at CUHK to realize that dream was history.

GLEF at CUHK is jointly offered by the Department of Economics and the Department of Finance. Prof. Terence Chong, Co-Director of GLEF, said that they welcome those with a global mindset and team spirit to apply and scholarships are available for the qualified students.

Prof. Chow Ying-foon, Co-Director of GLEF, added that specialized courses and non-conventional topics like Economic Integration, Banking and Financial Regulation, China Economy, etc., have been designed specifically for GLEF students.

It is these specially designed courses which Jackie found most interesting: ‘Unlike other courses that are taught in a big lecture hall, these courses have only a class size of around 30. You will take the courses with your fellow GLEF students, which gives you more chances to express your thoughts. Of course, the courses would be more intense.

“I’m not the only international student. In GLEF you will meet students from all around the world. In my year, we have Taiwan, Korean, Indonesian and Brazilian students. In this little ‘global village’, you will learn to respect people’s backgrounds and deal with different people. All of my friends in GLEF treat me like family. I have a nice time here!”

Jackie added: ‘GLEF puts equal emphasis on economics and finance. The programme gives you solid knowledge of both subjects and you won’t be deficient in either.’

GLEF students do not straddle two worlds but rather navigate equally well in both. In the words of Professor Chow, ‘The programme aims to provide students with solid interdisciplinary training in economics and finance in a global context, and to cater for societal needs by preparing graduates who have strong analytical training and the requisite global mindset to overcome future challenges in the banking and finance industry.’ Graduates from the programme are expected to develop promising careers in multinational firms in the banking, finance and business consulting sectors or to engage in financial research in public or private organizations.

Professor Chong also challenges the students: ‘You will be put into a highly-demanding and challenging learning environment, which will unlock your potentials and polish and develop the skills necessary for your future success. GLEF provides the highly specialized skills and knowledge for those who aspire to launching their careers in the financial institutions in the global markets.’

Abundant internship and exchange opportunities are provided to the GLEF students. Almost all of them have the opportunity to participate in exchange for studying in an overseas university for one term or more, during their penultimate years. Internship opportunities in terms of placement or invitation-to-apply are always available. Practicum is also provided in the form of self-sought internship or company sponsored projects.

The importance of practicum and internships cannot be overstated. Jackie said, ‘When people heard that you study economics, they might think you’re studying economic theories. This is probably the biggest misunderstanding of our programme. In GLEF, we also focus on putting economic theory into practice. For example, there are courses that ask you to do reports on specific financial or economic issues. And through this kind of training, GLEF students are ready for the real-life challenges when they go into the real world.’

Jackie wishes to work in the financial industry in future. ‘With the solid training from this programme, I am convinced that I possess the ability to do well in my future career,’ a confident Jackie said.

Jackie will not have to worry about the future, though. Most of the GLEF graduates have joined the banking and finance industry, established start-up business, or gone on to further studies. On top of that, some graduates have embarked on a professional career after attaining professional qualifications like CPA.

Entering in his fourth year, Jackie is sage about how to survive and thrive in GLEF: ‘Be ready and enjoy. You will love the flexibility and support this programme gives you. However, GLEF is not a place for you to idle away you four-year university life. I do want to tell you that this is a top and tough programme. Get prepared and you will have the most fruitful university life.’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

GLEFN

JUPAS Code

JS4254

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, International, Mainland