往內容

本科課程

 

地理學是一門全面與綜合的學科,涉及自然環境與人類社會的眾多專業領域。與此相應,本課程充分融合了自然地理與人文地理的專業內容,同時也十分強調地理信息技術(如地理信息系統與遙感)、資源管理和永續智慧城市等議題。

本課程分為四大專業方向:(1) 地理空間數據科學;(2) 自然環境與資源管理;(3) 永續‧智慧城市;(4) 城市與區域發展。

課程提供多元化教學模式,除了傳統課堂教學外,還包括小組導修、學生簡報、實驗、案例分析、境內外(包括中國內地、北美、歐洲、非洲、澳洲及東南亞)實地考察等。學生可以透過「師承計劃」讓學生認識及接觸社會成功人士。學長以「亦師亦友」的身份與同學分享工作及生活體驗。學生也可參與暑期實習,以獲取工作經驗。

關注環境 高瞻遠矚

對地理有遠見的人,思維不受自然地貌和文化的羈絆,能夠洞悉長遠維護環境的秘訣。中文大學地理與資源管理課程的四年級學生鍾芯豫也明白這個道理。「我選擇這個跨學科課程是因為它涵蓋了豐富的社會科學和自然科學知識,不但有很多科目選讀,而且課程結構靈活,我可以按自己的興趣求學。」

課程主任馮通教授說:「我們培養學生的地理知識和技巧,側重關乎人類長遠發展的資源管理。資源管理研究人與環境的關係,一直都是地理學的焦點。『管理』的原則主要在自然和環境資源的空間監測、評估及分析,以及最佳的分配及使用。」

人類的生存環境愈來愈脆弱,萬物互相關連,錯綜複雜,必須精密分析,小心管理。故此地球科學和地球訊息學對人類很重要。芯豫說:「除了遙控之類的實用技術外,課程有些科目,例如地貌學和地球地理學,都可以磨練我們嚴謹的思辨能力。」馮教授解釋,課程主要由四個專修範圍組成,以促進城市和區域的可持續性為重心:

  • 地理空間數據科學
  • 自然環境與資源管理
  • 永續‧智慧城市
  • 城市與區域發展

芯豫最喜歡學系人際關係融洽,很多志同道合的朋友就是在其中遇上的。「要不是有他們的扶持,我在中文大學的第一年可過得吃力得多了。我的同學都很用功和聰明,很多人會副修環境科學和城市研究,以擴闊跨學科的知識。我們習慣了在實驗室課上交換心得和分享發現,使大家在學業上都有得着。」學系也鼓勵學生參與交流計劃以至比賽等各樣學習活動,以作全面發展。

芯豫曾夥拍一位高年級同學參加2015年聯合國氣候變化大會第二十一次締約方會議(COP21)香港高等院校挑戰賽。這個比賽是要求參加者草擬一個能解決香港氣候變化問題的可行方案。「我們想到『低碳本地遊』這個概念,即是 Airbnb式的網上平台,鼓勵大家多作本地遊,個人和團體可以在網站上列出本地旅遊項目。我們很榮幸能夠從環境局局長黃錦星先生和法國駐港澳總領事栢海川先生手上接過第一名的獎狀。」這個網站亦介紹多個本地景點,令內容更豐富。經傳媒報道後,不少中大學生加入芯豫的隊伍。他們現時運用在語文和攝影方面的知識,協助編輯網上的遊記和圖片。「我很高興,能夠和不同學科的人並肩作戰,對抗氣候變化,經驗非常難得。」

此課程的老師和藹可親,樂於助人,毫不吝嗇與同學分享知識和經驗,也令芯豫感動不已。「教授和我們的關係就像朋友一樣。」系內每個學生會與其學業指導老師定期見面。「學業上和生活上,導師都是我的明燈,我得益不淺。」馮教授說:「我們的同事都很積極,他們做了不少顧問及研究工作,還在不同的諮詢委員會和專業組織內擔任要角。他們的人生經驗可以增加學生對地理學家這個角色的了解。」

適合地理學家的行業頗多,因為不少日常發生的問題和地理學有點關係。馮教授說:「我們的畢業生在不同行業都發展得不錯,包括商界和金融業、行政和管理、教育、資訊服務、社會服務、旅遊、顧客服務、零售和營銷,以及人力資源管理。也有畢業生繼續學業,深造城市規劃、土壤科學,以及環境管理等學科。有不少人現時從事學術和研究工作。」芯豫的理想是畢業後赴牛津大學攻讀有關環境變化與管理的課程。她最近亦獲政府委任為成為可持續發展委員會的新成員。「我們有很多實際學習機會,足夠磨練好發展事業所需的一套技能。」

我們的社會在這個全球化年代正面對不少迫切的問題,例如資源枯竭、人口爆炸、環境污染和氣候變化。對這些議題必須要有充分的認識才可以找出解決辦法,人類社會才可以生生不息,持續發展。馮教授解釋:「地理學教育不但培養我們的學生跨學科知識,也磨練他們的專業能力和前瞻眼界。關心人類的前途,有求知慾去探究和愛護自然及人工環境,還有認真的學習態度,這些都是目光遠大的地理學者所必具備的條件。」

刊登時間:2017年 夏
最後更新:2019年 夏

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

Geography is a broad and integrated subject with many areas of specialization dealing with human activities and the physical environment. Our curriculum maintains a good balance between the physical and human dimensions of geography and meanwhile emphasizes on the geo-information techniques including GIS and remote sensing, as well as the topics of resource management and smart sustainable cities.

For the programme curriculum, there are four concentration areas: (1) Geo-spatial Data Science; (2) Physical Environment and Resource Management; (3) Smart Sustainable Cities; (4) Urban and Regional Development.

This programme provides teaching modes which include classroom lectures, small group tutorial discussion, student presentation, experiments, case studies, and field trips to places like mainland China, North America, Europe, Africa, Australia and South-East Asia. The Mentorship Programme provides an opportunity for students to maintain close and direct interactions with professionals and gain working and life experience. Students can also take part in summer internship to gain practical working experience.

On Geo-visioning

The mindscape of geo-visionaries is able to grow beyond their physical and cultural surroundings to address the environmental challenges for a sustainable future. So is the mindscape of Natalie Chung, a fourth year student in Geography and Resource Management (GRM). ‘I chose GRM as it is a multi-disciplinary programme encompassing diverse knowledge in the social and natural sciences. There’s a plethora of courses to choose from, and the curriculum structure is flexible enough for me to explore my academic interests.’

‘We equip our students with geographical knowledge and skills with an emphasis on effective resource management pertinent to the sustainable development of the humankind,’ said Prof. Fung Tung, chairman of GRM. “Resource management, particularly in the context of human-environment relationship, has always been the focal point of interest and inquiry in geographical studies. The ‘management’ element focuses on spatial monitoring, assessment and analysis, optimal allocation and utilization of natural and environmental resources.”

The human race inhabits an increasingly fragile physical environment, whose complex interactions require sophisticated analysis and sensitive management. Geographical science and geoinformation technology are therefore vital for inhabitants of our Earth. Natalie said, ‘Apart from practical skills like remote sensing, GRM also offers courses on geomorphology and global geography that groom students' analytical mind.’ According to Professor Fung, the curriculum focuses on the interplay of the four concentration areas that promote urban and regional sustainability:

  • Geo-spatial Data Science
  • Physical Environment and Resource Management
  • Smart Sustainable Cities
  • Urban and Regional Development

Natalie likes GRM’s close-knit learning community the most, where she has met many like-minded friends. ‘My first year of study at CUHK would have been a lot more difficult if I hadn’t experienced support from them. My classmates are diligent and smart. Many GRM students minor in Environmental Sciences and Urban Studies to widen their interdisciplinary knowledge. We are used to exchanging views and sharing discoveries in laboratory sessions, which are intellectually exciting.’ The department also encourages its students to take part in diverse learning activities, from joining exchange programmes to competitions, for holistic development.

Participating in the Hong Kong Tertiary Schools COP21 Challenge 2015 with a senior student was definitely unforgettable for Natalie. The challenge was to develop a proposal with feasible solutions to a specific climate change issue in Hong Kong. “We came up with the idea of ‘V’air’—an Airbnb-style online platform that encourages local travel by allowing individuals and groups to list tours available in Hong Kong. We were very honoured to have received the first prize from the Secretary for the Environment, Mr. K.S. Wong, and the Consul General of France in Hong Kong and Macau, Mr. Eric Berti.” The team has been enriching the website with local attractions. Media coverage has also attracted some CUHK students to join the team. They are now using their expertise in language and photography to help edit the travelling articles and images. ‘I’m very excited to have experienced the synergy from working with people from various disciplines to combat climate change.’

The friendly and helpful faculty, who are always willing to share with us their knowledge and experiences, also impress Natalie. ‘Our relationship with the professors are more like friends.’ Each GRM student is assigned an academic advisor who regularly meets with his/her advisees on learning matters. ‘I have benefited a lot from interacting with my advisor, in such matters as academic rectitude and some life values.’ Professor Fung added, ‘Our colleagues are active in consultancy studies and play important roles in various advisory committees and professional organizations. Their life experiences can enrich students’ understanding of the role of geographers.’

Experiential learning such as field studies and internships is an integral part of GRM. ‘Besides formal lecturing, learning also happens in field studies and real-work environment,’ said Natalie. Under the supervision of the professors, GRM students conduct field practicum in Hong Kong, mainland China and overseas. ‘Immersing in field and real work environments are equally imperative as the experience helps us understand the real-world problems and supplements what we have learnt in class. All of us like field studies as the ecological and urban features along the way usually evoke endless discussions among trippers.’

As many day-to-day problems have a geographic dimension, job opportunities for geographers are diverse. Professor Fung said, ‘Our graduates play important roles in various fields, including business and finance, administration and management, education, information services, social services, travel and tourism, customer services, sales and marketing and human resources management. Some pursue studies and specialize in town planning, soil science, and environmental management, for instance. Quite a number of them are involved in academic and research work.’ Natalie aspires to engaging in postgraduate studies at Oxford University in the field of environmental change and management after graduation. She has also been appointed as a member of Council for Sustainable Development of the government. She said, ‘The ample real-life learning opportunities help me expand the skillsets required in my career path.’

Our society in the age of globalization faces pressing challenges such as resource depletion, population explosion, environmental pollution, and climate change. A solid understanding of these issues helps identify solutions for the sustainable development of human society. ‘Geographical education not only trains its students with interdisciplinary knowledge, but also professional skills and a forward-looking vision,’ explained Professor Fung. ‘A caring heart for the mankind’s sustainable future, curiosity in exploring and caring for the natural and built environment as well as a serious learning attitude are the sine qua non of becoming geo-visionaries.’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2019