往內容

本科课程

 

为酒店旅遊及房地产作育领导英才

「这四年的课程大大扩阔和深化了我的业界知识。」中文大学酒店旅遊及房地产课程四年级学生罗佩莹说。

佩莹希望探讨「商业触觉」和「款待精神」的有趣关係,也想了解酒店业和房地产这两大行业与其他业界如何互动。中文大学的酒店旅遊及房地产管理,是香港以至亚洲唯一糅合酒店旅遊及房地产的商科课程,佩莹认为这个绝配是她的不贰之选。

「我们创办了一个在亚太区独一无二的课程。以我所知,除了康奈尔大学外,没有其他大学把这两个概念融合在课程之内。」酒店及管理学院院长陈栢桓教授说。

他指出,课程的设计是为酒店及房地产管理业培训专业领导人才。透过地产规划及发展、商业运营、营销及客户关係管理、科技、人才培训等方面的发展,两个行业的连繫日趋紧密,学院尤其希望趁这佳时抓紧新兴的商贸和事业良机。陈教授说:「一方面,现今的酒店经营者不但要了解顾客和员工,也得拥有相关的知识和技巧来处理酒店投资者及产权拥有人的期望;另一方面,很多地产发展商锐意兴建酒店、服务式公寓、商场及其他商业建築。要从这些服务性产业获得更高回报,地产发展商及投资者也必须明白以人为本的行业如何运作。」

课程旨在培养学生的批判性思考及适合业界的全局视野,以平衡商业利润与巿场对创意及可持续发展的需求。学生在课程中能接受优质的商业及创新教育。除了商业基础课程外,酒店旅遊及房地产课程也会提供由教员及资深业界人士任教、与业界息息相关的科目,例如房地产投资、房地产估值、住宿设施管理、商场投资及管理、餐饮管理、财政收入管理、设施发展及管理等等。陈教授强调,把握机会在酒店、旅遊及房地产业创新,以及为学生设计有创意的学习活动来培养他们的领导才能都是非常重要的。他说:「中大商学院的良好声誉为本课程带来优势。我们提供高品质的学术课程,同时为学生带来庞大而紧密的业界人脉,致力使学生沉浸在商业环境中,以确保我们的学生能得到业界翘楚的认同。

佩莹很欣赏课程的独特观点。「我们有很多机会去建立酒店旅遊及房地产业界的人际关係。课程组织的傑出讲者系列邀请了业内的总裁、董事和主席来分享他们的成功之道。还有,我学到金融管理、营销、人力资源、经济、商业分析等等知识,都是商业运作发展不可或缺的。」

她也很讚赏在太古旅遊和凯悦酒店集团的实习机会。「这些向业界翘楚学习的经验对我是无价的。」

陈教授解释,课程融合实习工作是要让学生汲取实际经验。他们必须在毕业前完成两个带学分的暑期实习。这些体验式的学习机会一般为期三个月,但也有六个月或更长的时间,并有可能是海外实习的机会。

大多数学生实习的地方是环球品牌的酒店集团、主题公园、地产发展企业、物业和酒店业顾问公司、活动和旅遊业有关的公司,以及银行。

除此之外,学生可以参加特别设计的交流计划,在亚太区和北美洲学习,包括亚太酒店业管理计划、一个与泰国玛希敦大学国际学院和澳洲昆士兰大学合作的计划,以及到康奈尔大学、维珍尼亚理工学院及州立大学和宾夕法尼亚州立大学的交流计划,而这些大学都以提供顶尖款待课程而驰名国际。酒店旅遊及房地产课程在过去两年亦就不同主题安排了到台湾、日本及澳洲的短期暑期课程,同时继续发掘新的目的地供学生作跨学术及体验式学习。

为了扩展学生在房地产界别的国际视野,学院即将和新加坡国立大学合办全新的房地产交流计划,并於2019年开始招生。学院也会於2018年10月主办康奈尔大学、中文大学地区房地产比赛,这比赛将会是学生与其他海外学生、导师及业界专业人士交流的珍贵机会。

课程的另一特色是设有自负盈亏、分别命名为「The Stage」和「The Gastronomy Club」的咖啡室和餐厅,由学生管理,专业烹饪团队及服务团队支援。学生有很多机会把所习的营销、财务和人力资源知识技巧应用於真实的营商环境,解决难题。佩莹很高兴可以在食物实验室内酒店厨师指导下实习,整个学习过程亦因此而更有启发性和趣味性。

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

HTMGB

联招编号

JS4226

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 非联招(高年级入学), 国际生, 内地高考

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

Developing Visionary and Caring Leaders for the Hospitality and Real Estate Industries

‘Both the breadth and depth of my industry knowledge are extensively enhanced after four years of schooling,’ said Velma Law, Year 4 student of the Hotel and Hospitality and Real Estate (HRE) Programme at CUHK.

Velma likes to explore the intricate relationship between the ‘business sense’ and the ‘hospitality spirit’, and understand the interesting interactions between two pillar industries in Hong Kong, namely, the hospitality industry and the real estate industry, and many other economies. CUHK’s HRE programme — the only business programme in Hong Kong and Asia that integrates hospitality and real estate education—is the perfect match for her.

‘We created a unique programme in the Asia-Pacific region. To the best of my knowledge, no other universities except for Cornell offer programmes that integrate these two concepts,’ said Prof. David Chan, Director of the School of Hotel and Tourism Management.

He pointed out that the programme is designed to develop professional leaders for the hospitality and real estate industries. In particular, the school’s vision is to capture the emerging business and career opportunities when the two industries are becoming more connected through property planning and development, business operations, marketing and customer relationship management, technologies, talent training, and many other ties. ‘On one hand, running a hotel nowadays is not just about understanding customers and employees, it also requires knowledge and skills in managing expectations of hotel investors and property owners. On the other hand, many real estate developers are keen on building hotels, serviced apartments, shopping malls and all kinds of commercial properties. To get higher returns from these hospitality assets, property developers and investors also need to understand how people-oriented sectors work,” said Professor Chan.

The programme aims to help students develop critical thinking and a strategic vision for the industries that balances business profitability and the market need for innovation and sustainability. The courses offer a strong business and innovative education for the students. In addition to business foundation courses, the programme also offers industry-focused courses taught by faculty members as well as industry senior executives, such as Real Estate Investments, Real Estate Valuation, Management of Lodging Facilities, Shopping Mall Investment and Management, Food & Beverage Management, Revenue Management, Facilities Development and Management. Professor Chan further emphasized the importance of embracing the innovation opportunities in the hospitality, tourism, and real estate industries and designing creative learning activities for students to develop their leadership competencies. ‘A strength of our programme comes from the reputation and resources of the CUHK Business School,’ Professor Chan commented, ‘We offer a strong academic curriculum. In the meantime, we have an extensive and close industry network and have taken great efforts to engage our students with industry business practices, ensuring that our students are well-recognized among industry stakeholders.’

Velma appreciated the programme’s unique perspective. ‘It opens up doors to numerous networking opportunities to the hospitality and real estate industries. Through the Distinguished Speakers Series organized by the programme, CEOs, Directors and Presidents are invited to share with us their roads to success. Moreover, I’ve learnt that knowledge of financial management, marketing, human resources, economics, business analytics, and so on is what makes a business viable.’

She also praised the opportunities for undertaking internships at Swire Travel Limited and Hyatt Hotels Corporation. ‘The experiences to learn from the leaders of the hospitality industry are invaluable to me.’

Professor Chan explained that internship is incorporated in the curriculum to equip students with real-world work experiences. Students are required to complete two credit-bearing summer internships prior to graduation. These learning experiences are generally three-month long but also include six-month or longer. Many international internship opportunities are also granted to students.

The majority of students are placed in globally branded hotel chains, theme park operations, property developers, real estate and hospitality consulting firms, events and tourism related companies and banks.

In addition, four exclusively designed exchange programmes are offered for students to study in the Asia-Pacific region and North America. The programmes include the Asia-Pacific Hospitality Management Programme, a partnership programme with Thailand’s Mahidol University International College and Australia’s Queensland University, and exchange arrangements with Cornell University, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Virginia Tech), and Pennsylvania State University – all of them provide top-ranking hospitality programmes in the world. The programme has also arranged theme-based study trips and short-term summer courses to Taiwan, Japan, and Australia in the past two years and continues to explore new destinations for cross-cultural and experiential learning.

In order to give students more international exposures in the real estate stream, a new real estate exchange programme partnering with the National University of Singapore will start to admit students in 2019. The school will also host the Cornell CUHK Regional Real Estate Competition, Asia in October 2018. This will be another valuable opportunity for students to interact with overseas students, teachers, and industry experts.

Managed by students and supported by professional chefs and service team members, F&B outlets (The Gastronomy Club and a café named ‘The Stage’) are other special features of the programme. Students have many opportunities to apply their marketing, finance, and HR knowledge and skills on real business situations to solve problems. Velma is glad to practise in real-life operations, under the guidance of hotel chef in the food lab which makes the whole learning process more inspiring and interesting.

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

HTMGB

JUPAS Code

JS4226

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, Non-JUPAS Senior Year Entry, International, Mainland