往內容

本科課程

 

課程培養學生對保險、金融及精算學之概念的了解,以及分析問題的技能,尤其著重保險業的功能、架構和實務方面。為切合市場需要,本課程設計以本港保險業為起點,同時亦旁及國際實務的相關課題。大學程度的保險、金融及精算知識有利保險業發展,並提升業界專業水平。本科課程設計全面而且實用,不僅集中在精算理論的鑽研。學生會得到人壽與非人壽在精算和統計學上之訓練,更會了解保險市場運作、金融市場、投資組合和衍生工具,令他們可以勝任保險及金融行業的管理階層。

本課程在2012年得到北美精算師學會(SoA)的認証。課程涵蓋這個國際專業組織之考試內容。本科畢業生在專業考試之成績特出,在本地的出路十分廣泛,大多數進入保險公司或顧問公司的精算部門,亦有一部分會在銀行和會計公司任職。

為專業發展作準備

中文大學的保險、金融與精算學工商管理學士課程(IFAA)由工商管理學院開辦,供有志成為精算師、金融分析師和風險管理經理,在保險公司、銀行和其他金融機構及商業顧問公司工作的學生修讀。

課程主任黃鎮山教授說:「全球保險業正迅速增長,亞太區的發展是其最主要的推動力。我們致力培育新一代的精算師以迎合保險業界的龐大需求。因此,若有志把數學知識運用於商業層面、期望精進溝通和團體合作技巧以發展事業,便是這課程的理想人選。我們歡迎銳意於精算專業發展的中學畢業生報讀。」

Karis Lau是畢業生,她很喜歡課程帶來的挑戰。「修業之初,我發覺課程對計量技能的要求遠高於我的預期。幸好教授們總是樂意回答我的問題,甚至在下班後仍然花時間回覆我的電郵。」

在老師和同學支持下,Karis學業有成,掌握了畢業後踏上新旅程所需的技能和知識。她覺得和同學的友誼是從課程中得到的最寶貴的禮物。事實上,一個支援充分的學習環境是Karis選擇以保險、金融與精算學為主修的其中一個原因。

她說:「這四年來和同學在一起,我感到非常榮幸。沒有他們的支持,我不可能應付各種專業考試的壓力。我們是求學路上的好同伴,他們令我以IFAA學生的身分為榮。」

Karis也發覺,儘管課程特別着重計量技能,「強於數學不代表一切,還有很多其他專業知識必須學習,才可以在這行業有成就。」她很高興課程讓她不但專注數學,還有發展全面商業技能的機會。。

黃教授說:「精算師的職能不斷演變,為了幫助學生的專業發展,課程着力核心商業知識的傳授及進階計量技能的培訓。課程的設計極受精算業界賞識。」

課程也獲北美的精算學會評定為「精算卓越中心」。這是精算課程所獲的最高榮銜,中文大學是首批獲這個榮銜的亞洲大學的一員。

IFAA創辦了「精算培訓計劃」,讓學生可於保險公司或相關商業機構精部門實習六個月。幾乎所有IFAA學生都會在第三或第四年完成這六個月的實習,在現實商業環境的經驗鞏固課堂所學。

學生除了在中大和香港學習外,還有很多機會參加交流計劃,在海外大學修讀一個學期甚至一年,所得學分可轉移中大。

大學及學院設有獎學金,協助交流期間有經濟需要的學生。香港保險業聯會教育信託基金也提供獎學金以資申請。

保險、金融與精算學課程自2002年開辦以來,已培育了六百位畢業生,其中不少人已在業內發展。大多數畢業生現時在跨國保險公司的精算部門工作,也有人受聘於一些頂尖國際銀行及顧問公司。

如果你準備面對挑戰,修讀這課程,Karis有以下忠告:

「IFAA課程的學生不但要強於數學,也有出色的溝通和表達技能。你可以好好利用實習和海外交流計劃的機會,磨練外語能力和建立專業人脈,這些寶貴的經驗對將來的事業發展非常有用。」

刊登時間:2017年 夏
最後更新:2019年 夏

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

Prepping for a Professional Career

The Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA) programme in Insurance, Financial and Actuarial Analysis (IFAA) offered by the Faculty of Business Administration at CUHK provides in-depth education in insurance, finance, and actuarial science to students who wish to be actuaries, financial analysts, and risk managers in insurance companies, banks, and other financial institutions and business consultancies.

‘The Asia Pacific region is the main driving force behind recent rapid growth in the world insurance market. We aim to nurture next generation actuaries to cater for the strong demand in insurance professionals. We look for students wishing to apply their mathematical skills in business context and willing to sharpen their communication and teamwork skills for career advancement. We welcome secondary school graduates with strong desire in joining the promising actuarial profession to apply our programme,’ said Prof. Albert Wong, Director of the BBA Programme in IFAA.

Karis Lau, a final-year student of the IFAA programme, enjoys the challenge the programme has offered her, ‘When I first joined the programme, I found its requirement on quantitative skills much higher than I had expected. But I was fortunate to have professors who are always ready to answer my questions – they even spent time reading and replying to my e-mails after office hours.’

With the support of her teachers and fellow classmates, Karis has thrived in her undergraduate studies and is now equipped with all the skills and knowledge necessary to embark on a new journey after graduation. She finds the friendship with her classmates one of the most valuable gifts she has gained from the programme. In fact, a supportive learning environment was one of the reasons Karis chose to major in IFAA.

‘I feel extremely privileged to spend the past four years with my fellow classmates. I don’t think I could handle the pressure of taking various professional exams without their support. We are each other’s best companions in the course of academic pursuit and they make me feel proud to be one of the IFAA students,’ she said.

Karis also realized that even though the programme places special emphasis on quantitative skills, ‘being good at maths does not mean everything – there are many other professional knowledge you need to learn in order to succeed in the field.’ She is pleased that the programme offers her the chance to not only focus on maths, but to develop all-round business skills.

‘In response to the changing role of actuaries, the programme equips students with both core business skills and advanced quantitative techniques for their professional development. Our programme design is greatly appreciated by the actuarial profession,’ said Professor Wong.

The programme has been recognized by the Society of Actuaries in the North America as the Center of Actuarial Excellence. This is the highest award bestowed upon an actuarial programme and CUHK is among the first batch of Asian universities to receive this honour.

IFAA pioneered the Actuarial Training Programme to place students in the actuarial departments of insurance companies and related business entities for at least six months. Almost all IFAA students complete a six-month internship during their third or fourth year, augmenting their classroom learning by working in a real business environment.

In addition to the knowledge and skills acquired in the University and within Hong Kong, IFAA students also have abundant opportunities to participate in overseas exchange. Students can enroll in courses at overseas universities for one term or even up to one year and have their overseas credits transferred to CUHK.

The University and the Faculty provide scholarships to help students with financial needs during the exchange period. Students of the IFAA major can also apply for scholarships offered by the Hong Kong Federation of Insurers Education Trust.

Since its inception in 2002, the IFAA programme has educated more than 600 graduates, among whom many have entered the field of business. Most of the programme’s graduates are now working in the actuarial departments of multinational insurance companies, as well as in some of the top international banks and consulting firms.

If you are ready to face the challenge and join the programme as one of its undergraduate students, Karis has some advice for you:

‘Students of the IFAA programme are not only strong in mathematics, they are also equipped with excellent communication and presentation skills. You can make good use of the internship and overseas exchange opportunities offered by the programme and University to sharpen your skills in foreign languages and build up your professional network – these valuable experiences would be extremely useful for your future career.’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

IFAAB

JUPAS Code

JS4238

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, International, Mainland