往內容

本科课程

 

沙田的樱花

大多数香港长大的年轻人对日本大众文化都不会陌生:有人经常往日本旅行,有少部分人更爱日本文化至入迷,谭怡君就是其中一位。

怡君是中文大学日本文化研究学系学生,她说:「我选择这个学系是因为我自中学起便对日本文化有兴趣。日本文化的软实力有很大影响力:日本有很多影视剧、歌曲和动画都风靡全世界。我也想掌握更高程度的日语以便多了解日本。」

中大的日本研究学系不算大,每年只录取二十四名学生,全系老师只有十四人,但学系提供的是亚太区数一数二的日本研究课程。正如系主任吴伟明教授说:「我们的目标是培养同学洞察世事和严谨思辨的能力,以适应这个瞬息万变的全球环境。」

课程提供深入而集中的日本语文科目和一系列的日本社会及文化科目。另一项其他大学相类课程比不上的特色是学生必须前往日本一年的交换计划,怡君觉得这个经验极之宝贵。「我们学系确保每个学生都有能力往日本一年进修交流。有很多夥伴大学可供选择,在日本就有二十一间顶级学府,我们可以和当地学生及来自世界各地的学生作深入的文化交流。我到一桥大学交流了一年,体验了很多文化差异,除了非常享受这些经历,也令我大开眼界。我有机会和当地日本人不断交谈,使我的日文也进步了不少。」

因为每班人数不多,学系亦非常注意学生的进度,所以这个课程是理想的共同学习和成长天地。所有学生都各有专注的兴趣,例如漫画、流行音乐和旅遊。怡君说:「我们不难找到志同道合的好朋友。学系更每年举办『日本文化节』,向中大其他学生推广日本文化。大家都为筹备工作出力,因为这个活动有如一扇窗子,向校园内其他人打开,让他们看到我们在做的是甚麽一回事。」

课程亦不止於语文训练,而是包括了日本社会和文化的历史及相关层面。怡君举例说:「我修了关於日本社会的课後才明白为甚麽日本人总是那麽有礼貌。日本是一个纵向的社会,十分着重社会等级,这真是大开眼界。日本人的行为和社会现象不少很有趣但令人困惑,背後的原因我也明白了。」

怡君举了另一个例子:「我修读这个课程前对历史没有兴趣,但我完成了一个化妆品广告和美容标準的关係的历史研究。如果我不是日本研究学生,没有研究过美容观念的转变,大概不会欣赏到那些广告内的艺术成分。我觉得好奇心满足了,也增强了分析能力。

「最後一年的研究经验使我受用无穷。因为是我第一次进行这样全面的学术研究。开始时我对如何着手毫无头绪。我在做历史研究,但对日本历史并不熟悉。幸好教授给我些实质而有用的意见,指导我怎样收集资料和建立论点,以及怎样把研究结果有效地作报告。大功告成後我非常有成就感。我学会了怎样处理意料之外的结果,也很享受證实自己的假设和求真的过程。这真是我一生难忘的深切体会。」

据吴教授的资料,日本研究的毕业生在不同行业发展,例如政府、贸易、银行及金融、旅遊等。怡君毕业後将会到东京一间顾问公司工作,她相信修读这个课程後在语文和文化上都能应付馀裕。「我对商业环境的传统日本文化有全面的认识。我想应该可以适应日本的职场,也可以和日本同事及客户相处,事业发展应该没有问题。」

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

JASPN

联招编号

JS4068

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 非联招(高年级入学), 国际生, 内地高考

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

Sakura in Shatin

Most young persons who grew up in Hong Kong are no strangers to Japanese mass culture. Some go to visit the country frequently. A smaller number embrace it by a greater degree of immersion. Ada Tam is one of the latter kind.

Ada, a student in the Japanese Studies programme at CUHK, recalled, ‘I chose this programme because I had been interested in Japanese culture since I was in secondary school. Its soft power has great influence and its many dramas, music and animations have taken the world by storm. I thought I’d like to equip myself with an advanced level of Japanese in order to become conversant in Japanese matters.’

The Department of Japanese Studies at CUHK is not large. It admits 24 students each year and its teaching contingent is made up of 14 faculty members. Yet it offers one of the best Japanese studies programmes in the Asia-Pacific region. As Chairman Prof. Benjamin Ng said, ‘We aim to instill in our students a global perspective and critical mind for an ever-changing global environment.’

The programme provides intensive Japanese language courses and a wide variety of Japanese social and cultural courses. Another unique feature not found in comparable programmes in other universities is the one-year mandatory exchange programme to Japan, which Ada found to be most valuable: ‘Our programme makes sure every student has the ability to go on exchange to Japan for one year. A wide range of partner universities is available (21 top universities in Japan), and we are able to have in-depth cultural exchange with local Japanese students and other exchange students around the world. I went to Hitotsubashi University for one year. I encountered and enjoyed many cultural shocks. I also found my Japanese improved a lot because I had more opportunities to talk with local Japanese.’

The small class-size and closely advised progress of the students have turned the programme into a great place of learning and growing together. All the students have their specific interests in Japanese things such as comics, pop music and travels. Ada said, “We can easily find companions with the same interests and become good friends. Moreover, the department organizes the ‘Japanese Cultural Festival’ every year in order to promote Japanese culture to other students in CUHK. All of us put in a lot of effort to prepare the Festival as it is a window to reach out to others on campus to promote what we’re doing.”

The training is not confined to language drills but includes the historical, social and cultural facets of Japanese society and culture. Ada gave an example: ‘I did not understand why the Japanese always remain polite until I took a course about Japanese society. I finally understood that it is because Japan is a vertical society that puts a huge emphasis on hierarchy. It is eye-opening and I was made aware of some of the reasons behind the interesting but sometimes perplexing surface of Japanese behaviours and social phenomena.’

Ada gave another example: ‘I was not interested in history before I entered this programme. But I did a historical research on the relationship between cosmetic advertisements and the change of beauty norms. If I were not a Japanese Studies student, I would probably have just appreciated the artistic elements of the advertisements without making in-depth investigation into the changes in thinking behind. This programme allows me to satisfy my curiosity and enhance my analytical skills.’

Ada continued: ‘I benefitted from the research experience of the final year project. It is because that was my first time in conducting such a comprehensive academic research. I had no idea what I should start with at the beginning. I was doing a historical research but I was not familiar with Japanese history. Fortunately, my professors provided some practical and concrete advice to me about the collection of data, construction of arguments and effective ways to present the findings. I felt an enormous sense of achievement upon completion. I have learned how to handle unexpected outcomes and I enjoyed the process of proving my hypothesis and seeking the truth. This is a profound and unforgettable experience to me.’

According to Professor Ng, graduates from Japanese Studies build their careers in various fields, e.g., government, trading, banking and finance, tourism, etc. Ada is going to work in a consulting firm in Tokyo after graduation. She believes the programme has prepared her adequately both linguistically and culturally: ‘I have a comprehensive understanding of traditional Japanese culture in the business environment. I think I’m capable of adapting to the Japanese workplace and getting along with Japanese colleagues and clients in order to develop my career in future.’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

JASPN

JUPAS Code

JS4068

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, Non-JUPAS Senior Year Entry, International, Mainland