往內容

本科课程

 

勇闯语言天地

卢晖宙热爱语言,自中学时代已尝试寻求不少和语言有关的问题的答案。例如「学习新语言可有促成法?」或者「语言学习是否与人脑的发展有关?」他形容这些疑问就如零散的碎片一直在脑海盘旋,直至他修读了中文大学的语言学课程後,才把这些碎片一一拼凑起来,成爲一幅较清晰楚的景象,吸引他继续勇闯语言天地。

「语言学是非常科学化和极之讲求经验的语言研究。理论语言学包括语音学、音系学、语法和语意学,是分析语言问题的基础。」

四年学习下来,晖宙对如何观察和研究语言的认识更宽广了。「语言学和神经系统科学、心理学和人类学等有关连,範围已超出人文学科和科学。我们是从人、文化和社会层面来看语言。这四年来所学的,令我对语言有深刻的领悟,更坚定了研究语言学的信心。」

中文大学的语言学课程在2018 QS世界大学排名榜上名列三十五位。课程理论和实践并重,既有当代语言理论训练,亦着重客观分析,以提升学生双语以至多语的认识,使他们有更敏锐的触觉,欣赏语言精妙之处。晖宙特爱课程独有的一些特色,例如全亚洲只有中大的语言学课程才提供的手语训练,学生可从中了解语言如何超越沟通的形式,并在特殊环境下转化。课程也包括现代语言科目,使学生明白语言的变化,体会到双语和多语能力以及文化沟通的意义。

对晖宙来说,最大的得着是模塑和建立了一套与语言有关的价值观和见解,也加强了他毕业後当英文老师的决心。据前任课程主任李行德教授透露,语言学毕业生的就业机会种类凡多。除了从事语文教育外,在其他行业的发展也颇占优势,其中有商业和公共行政、传译和翻译、新闻、媒体,以及传讯有关的服务业。

李教授指出,学生接受了扎实的语言学训练,语文水平高,所以事业发展多样化。课程极着重学生的沟通技巧,其中的高阶科目便专门训练学生写作研究报告。课程亦鼓励学生参加海外交换计划,或者作双主修和副修。在过去三年,有三成学生就是以法文、德文、日文、韩文或西班牙文为副修。

语言学课程每年只录取二十名新生,对学生和三十位老师来说,学系很有家的感觉。「学系的训练很紧凑,培养了我对探索语言学的开放胸襟和谦虚之心,求知慾也更盛。这些价值观和品德对学术研究非常重要,如果没有教授们的耐性和细心教导,是根本无从在我们心内植根的。」晖宙很感激老师和同学。「同学的关係很密切,大家肩并肩,一起学习,可以说是甘苦与共。」

如果不肯定自己是否适合读语言学,李教授有一个很有趣的测试方法。以下是一些与语言有关的陈述:

  • 我奇怪为甚麽有这麽多语言。
  • 我想知道「婴儿学语言就像海绵一样地吸收」是不是真的。
  • 大家常常说只有人类才有语言。我想知道动物是否也有语言系统。
  • 我奇怪有语言障碍的人怎样和别人沟通。
  • 有些语言面临消失。我想保存和记录它们。
  • 我想训练机械人说话!
  • 我喜欢遊历,也想多了解其他语言和文化。

如果你同意多於一项以上的陈述,李教授和晖宙诚意邀请你加入语言学的大家庭!晖宙说:「我很高兴选择了这个我真切喜欢的学科。只要你有决心学习和探索语言,在语言学系一定不会失望,你会乐在其中,也会有很多机会。」

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

LINGN

联招编号

JS4070

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 非联招(高年级入学), 国际生, 内地高考

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

An Adventure in Languages

As a language enthusiast, Gordon Lo has been searching for the answers to his language-related questions since his secondary school years. He described his questions, such as ‘Is there a key to acquiring new languages quickly?’, or ‘Is language learning associated with the development of human brain?’, as ‘scattered puzzles’ in his mind. Not until he has joined the linguistics programme of CUHK that the pieces of jigsaw puzzles started to fall into places, giving Gordon a clearer picture for his adventure in language investigation.

‘Linguistics is the highly scientific, and strongly empirical study of language. Theoretical linguistics including phonetics, phonology, syntax, and semantics has equipped me with a strong foundation to analyse linguistic issues,’ said Gordon.

Throughout these four years in the programme, Gordon has gained broadened perspectives on how language can be observed and investigated. ‘Linguistics is a field which transcends the humanities and the sciences, and has connections with neuroscience, psychology, anthropology, etc. We learn to appreciate the human, cultural and social dimensions of language from the courses. All that I have learned in the last four years has strengthened my devotion to linguistics and provided me with real insight into language.’

Ranked 35th in the 2018 QS World Universities Ranking, the linguistics programme at CUHK offers practical training in contemporary theories of language and in objective analysis of language to raise students’ bilingual and multilingual awareness and to sharpen their sensitivity towards the nuances of language. Gordon loved the programme for its uniqueness. For instance, the linguistics programme at CUHK is the only one in Asia that offers sign language training, demonstrating how language transcends the modality of communication and how it transforms under exceptional circumstances. Modern languages programmes are also implemented in the curriculum, enabling students to understand how languages vary and to appreciate the significance of bilingual and multilingual competence and intercultural communication.

To Gordon, the most valuable asset he had earned from studying in this programme was the shaping and consolidation of his values and views concerning language, which also strengthened his aspiration to becoming an English teacher upon graduation. According to Prof. Thomas Lee, the former chairman of the Department of Linguistics and Modern Languages, the career choices for Linguistic graduates are of a large variety. Other than language education, the graduates are also in a strong position to pursue careers in business and public administration, interpretation and translation, journalism, media and communication-related services.

Professor Lee attributed students’ diverse career opportunities to their high language proficiency attained from the solid training in linguistics. The programme attaches a great deal of importance to students’ communication skills. Advanced courses are designed to prepare students for research writing. Students are also encouraged to participate in outgoing exchange programmes or pursuing double major or minor studies. In the past three years, over 30% of the students graduated with a minor in French, German, Japanese, Korean or Spanish.

Admitting only 20 students every year, the programme creates a home-like environment for students and the 30 teaching staff in the Department. ‘Through the intensive training and courses provided by the Department, I have developed an open-mindedness, humility, and curiosity in my quest for language. These values and virtues which are crucial for academic research could not have taken root in our minds without the patient and meticulous teaching of our professors,’ Gordon expressed his gratitude to the teaching staff as well as his fellow classmates. ‘With strong and special bonding, my classmates and I stand shoulder to shoulder in our studies of language, whether in times of happiness or adversity.’

If you’re not sure if you would be a suitable candidate for the programme, Professor Lee suggested a fun way to test it. Here are some statements regarding issues related to languages:

  • I wonder why there are so many different languages.
  • I want to know if it is true that ‘babies pick up languages like a sponge’.
  • People often say language is unique to humans. I want to find out if animals have language systems too.
  • I wonder how people suffering from language disorders communicate with other people.
  • Some languages are endangered. I’d like to preserve and document them.
  • I’d like to train robots to talk!
  • I like to travel and learn more about other languages and cultures.

If you agree with more than one of the statements mentioned above, Professor Lee and Gordon would like to invite you to join the family of linguistics programme! ‘I’m glad that I had chosen to study a discipline that I am truly interested in,’ said Gordon, ‘As long as you are determined to study and explore languages, in the Linguistics department, your passion will bring you joy and different opportunities.”

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

LINGN

JUPAS Code

JS4070

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, Non-JUPAS Senior Year Entry, International, Mainland