往內容

本科課程

 

機械與自動化工程學著重現代自動化技術對當今及未來機械工程領域發展之影響。課程提供協調均衡的基礎理論學習及實踐學習,旨在培育以創新解決問題及能適應時代和科技發展的工程師。

本課程教授機械與自動化工程的知識,內容涵蓋了力學、材料科學、熱力學、控制技術、製造技術和電子學等廣泛領域。學生可通過選修科目,增強對計算機設計及圖形學、機器人學、機電/微機電系統、智能系統及工程優化等學科的認識。本課程還開設三個專修方向:設計與製造、機電一體化、以及機器人與自動化。感興趣的學生可於當中選修其中一個專修方向,深入學習專業知識;亦可不修讀任何專修範圍。

本課程提供工程師職業操守、商業及企業學、技能溝通及為期一年的畢業專題研究等科目,以訓練學生成為專業工程師。此外,亦提供暑期實習、工讀計劃和海外交流學習的機會。

本課程的畢業生可從事機械、生產、控制、設計等專業領域的工程師工作,還可選擇在香港或海外深造,按興趣研究攻讀專業領域課題。

現代面貌的機械工程

Malvin Kiman最愛解決難題,以鑽研數學和物理等科目為樂,也喜歡接受挑戰。他下了決心,要在大學主修一門可以讓他日後繼續無涯探索的學科。他在互聯網上搜索資料,也問取了前輩的意見,發現中文大學的機械與自動化工程學(MAE)課程是理想的選擇,於是三年前二話不說便申請入學。

Malvin說:「以我的理解,大多數MAE課程都是指機械與航天工程學,但中大的是機械與自動化工程學,這是很獨特的。課程把傳統的基礎工程學和最新的自動化知識結合,所謂自動化,就是系統在最少人為干預下自我運作。」

課程的目標是培養能夠運用機械與自動化系統新知的人才,以建構一個更美好的世界,所以課程基礎理論和實務技能兼重,使學生在課堂內外均可以學到新知識和技能。

機械與自動化工程學系主任廖維新教授說:「我們的課程有三項專修範圍供學生自由選擇,分別是設計與製造、機電和機械人與自動化。」

Malvin很喜歡這種專修範圍的概念。「最初我以為中大的課程與其他機械工程學科分別不大。但看到課程有這麼多的選修科目時,我覺得可一點不簡單,尤其是有機械人與自動化的專修範圍。中大的課程與時並進,以現代方法來研習工程學。」

為了以實際經驗來加強學生的實務訓練,學系設有暑期實習工作和工讀計劃。廖教授說:「我們有為期五星期的暑期業內訓練,而且自2016至17年度開始,這個訓練已改為佔一分學分的科目。」

學系也鼓勵學生參加地區和國際比賽,而且提供資助。學生可藉參加不同的賽事,例如機械人大賽、大中華設計比賽、高錕教授學生創意獎及挑戰杯賽等來測試他們的創意,亦可應用所學。

Malvin指出,國際發展和與全球接軌是課程的另一特色:「我們自二年級起便有很多機會參與系內教授主導的科研項目,與海外大學合作和交流經驗的一扇門就這樣開啟了。」

廖教授補充說:「我們很支持把科研成果在國際會議上以口頭報告或海報形式發表,學系會鼓勵學生參與這些活動,部分費用由學系或者相關老師的研究撥款負擔。畢業論文優異的學生可獲選出席國際會議作報告,由學系資助。這些國際活動可大大擴闊學生視野,也改善他們畢業後的競爭力。」

學生可選擇能源技術課程,或者其他工程學系和非工程學系提供的科目作副修。他們也可以修讀機械與自動化工程學及工商管理雙學位課程。

談到他在中大的生活時,Malvin說:「我最喜歡系內的教學人員。教授們不但是好老師,而且永遠樂意花時間幫助我了解學科。」

他接着說:「我和班上的本地同學相處得很好。雖然有語言上的隔閡,本地同學總是盡力和我用英語溝通,沒有把我當作外人,甚至每學期初和完結時的聚餐也邀請我參加。因為有這些本地朋友,我在這裏讀書開心極了。」

廖教授強調,課程很認真看待學生的意見。「我們會盡力處理及解決學生在師生諮詢委員會上提出的問題,也會邀請學生代表出席系務會議,參與討論非機密事務。

「本課程的學生會獲分配輔導員,在學業上或遇到其他的問題,輔導員都會給予意見。」

對畢業後的發展,Malvin說:「我在考慮工程顧問的工作。不過我深信這課程給我的裝備--無論是課堂學到的知識,還是實習訓練,甚至只不過是與老師和同學成果豐碩的討論也好,已足夠令我無論身處何方,都能夠適應,而且貢獻社會,使之變得更美好。」

刊登時間:2017年 夏
最後更新:2019年 夏

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

The Mechanical and Automation Engineering (MAE) programme emphasises the influence of modern automation technologies on current and future developments in the field of mechanical engineering. The curriculum balances fundamental theory and hands-on practical experience with the goal of producing engineers who can innovate and adapt to our technologically evolving society.

The curriculum covers fundamental knowledge within the areas of mechanical and automation engineering, including mechanics and materials, thermodynamics, control, manufacturing and electronics. Students can also pursue more in-depth knowledge in subjects of their choice, such as computer-aided design and graphics, robotics, mechatronics, intelligence systems, engineering optimization and micromechanical systems (MEMS). Additionally, MAE students can optionally choose to specialise in one of three streams: Design and Manufacturing; Mechatronics; or Robotics and Automation.

Courses in engineering ethics, business and entrepreneurship, and technical communication, along with a year-long capstone project, are included in the programme to better prepare students to become professional practitioners. The Department also offers our students various undergraduate summer internships, work-study programmes and international exchange opportunities.

Upon graduation, MAE students enjoy careers as mechanical, production, control and design engineers, among other professions. They can also pursue graduate studies in their specialised areas of interest in Hong Kong or overseas.

Mechanical Engineering with a Modern Face

A passionate problem-solver, Malvin Kiman from Indonesia enjoys studying subjects such as mathematics and physics and likes taking up challenges. He made up his mind of choosing a major in college that could prepare him for further exploration. By doing extensive research from the internet and seeking advice from seniors, he found the Mechanical and Automation Engineering (MAE) programme at CUHK was the ideal one and applied it without second thought three years ago.

Malvin said, ‘As I understood it, most MAE programmes stand for mechanical and aerospace engineering. But here in CUHK, MAE stands for mechanical and automation engineering which makes it unique. The programme combines traditional fundamental engineering discipline with cutting-edge knowledge in automation—the self-operability of the systems demanding minimum intervention from humans.’

Striving to nurture students who contribute their knowledge in innovations of mechanical and automated systems for the creation of a better world, the programme emphasizes both fundamental theory and practical hands-on skills and provides extensive opportunities for students to gain new knowledge and skills both inside and outside the classrooms.

Prof. Liao Wei-Hsin, , Chairman of the Department of Mechanical and Automation Engineering, said, ‘Our programme offers three streams, namely, design and manufacturing, mechatronics, and robotics and automation. Students are free to choose their fields of specialization.’

Malvin appreciated the idea of specialized streams. ‘Initially, I thought that CUHK’s MAE programme would be fairly similar to any other mechanical engineering programme. After studying the vast range of elective courses of the MAE programme, I found this programme is no ordinary one, especially for having the robotics and automation stream. MAE programme provides a modern approach to engineering.’

To enhance students’ practical training through real-life experience, summer internships and one-year work-study programmes have been provided. ‘In addition, we offer a five-week summer industrial training which has been turned into a one-unit course since 2016–17,’ said Professor Liao.

Students are encouraged and provided with financial support to participate in regional and international competitions such as Robocon, Greater China Design competitions, Professor Charles K. Kao Student Creativity Awards, and Challenge Cup competitions, to test out their innovative ideas and apply what they have learnt.

Malvin pointed out that international developments and global engagement is another special feature of the programme. ‘We have many opportunities to participate in research projects conducted by the faculty members starting from the second year. It opens the door to collaboration with overseas universities and exchange experiences.’

Professor Liao added, ‘The programme also encourages excellent research output to be disseminated in the form of oral or poster presentations at international conferences, with students involved in such events supported by the department or research grants of the related faculty members. Students with excellent performance on their final-year-projects will be supported to attend international conferences and exhibitions to present their works. These international events open up the students’ global horizons and improve their competitiveness upon graduation.’

Students can also pursue minor programmes in energy technology, as well as those offered by other engineering or non-engineering departments or the Mechanical and Automation Engineering-Business Administration Double degree programme.

When asked about his life in CUHK, Malvin said, ‘I like the teaching staff most. Not only are professors good teachers, but they are also willing to take time to aid my understanding of the subjects.’

He continued, ‘I have had a wonderful time with the local students in my class. Despite an apparent language barrier, the local friends I have would always try their best to communicate with me in English and include me in their groups, so much so that they would invite me over for an “open semester meal” or “end semester meal”. All the local friends I have made learning here awesome.’

Professor Liao emphasized that the programme takes students’ feedback seriously. ‘We make the best effort to address and resolve the issues raised by students in the Staff-Student Consultative Committee. Student representatives were invited to join our Department Board meetings and participate in discussions on non-confidential matters.

‘The programme assigns mentors to all undergraduate students to advise them on their studies and problems they may encounter.’

Malvin said, ‘I am looking into engineering consultancy. However, I firmly believe that with everything I learnt from the MAE programme, be it from the courses, the training, or even just fruitful discussions with friends and professors, I believe I am able to fit in almost anywhere in society, to contribute to it, and hopefully help make it a better place.’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2019