往內容

本科课程

 

探索数学的精微

数学是莊协权在高中时最喜欢的科目, 所以他自然想物色一个可以带领他更上层楼,在巍峨的数学堂奥继续探索的大学课程。数学精研课程吸引了他, 因爲数学一向是中文大学的首本课程,不但是全港之冠,在主要大学排名榜*上也稳居高位。

  • 200所大学的第28位 (US News)
  • 402所大学的第36位 (QS)
  • 243所大学的第52位 (Essential Science Indicators)(*2017年排名)

协权知道这个课程的目标是培养学生成为数学全才;全球经济多变,各行各业的人才必须具备专业知识和软技能。他的想法和课程的理念刚好契合。正如课程主任兼卓敏数学讲座教授邹军说:「数学精研课程对不同领域都有很大贡献,包括金融、教育、商贸、工程、计算机科学、营销、商业、医药科研、统计、物理、资讯科技,以及纯数学科学,事事都和数学有关,良好的数学能力可以增强我们的逻辑思考、思辨能力与解决问题的技巧。」

这课程涵盖纯数学和应用数学。纯数学有助学生研究高阶数学、统计学和计算机科学。学生可以修读数学精研和电脑及应用数学(CAM)的双学科。应用数学如数值计算和大数据分析的尖新技巧则可应用於金融、工程、商业、营销和医药科研等範畴。

协权认为课程中最可贵之处是同学相互扶持。「因为课程录取的都是热衷数学的学生,我很快便和同学组成学习小组,大家一起探索数学的新知识。

「入读中文大学之前,我不知道数学上的团队精神是甚麽意思。在中学 学习数学是单向的,由老师教学生,讨论数学问题是多此一举,因为大家都觉得数学应该是自己去做的。

「修读了这个课程後,我终於明白数学是可以以小组形式来学习的。每个人都有自己的兴趣,成立小组,一起交流在书本上看到的知识,缩短了大家的学习时间,比各自看书较有效。」

这种学习模式亦有赖数学系所提供的各种实体和电脑设备,以及在学业上和其他各方面的支持。学系也有足够的空间给学生举行聚会、研讨会和学术及社交活动。多媒体设施和宽敞的学习环境有利学生轻松愉快地读书。

协权接着说:「还有,课程的教授很积极,也很乐意回答我们学业上和工作计划的问题,有时候是在一起吃饭时和我们讨论,确保我们走对了路,从课程中得益。」

该课程的那三十六位教员也应记一功。新生无不被他们的知识、热诚和创意所感动。协权回忆说:「我遇过很有启发性的教授,他们帮助学生打下坚固的基础,给我们机会去自行探索定理,写下自己的验證,利用图像或图表来形象化验證以加深记忆,有别於传统方式的举例和讲解明确定理。」

协权不只忙於在课堂或在研习小组内学习,去年他也是中大数学系系会的学术委员之一,而且交了不少朋友。「因为有系会,同系学生的关係很紧密,大家可以参加系会组织的各种活动以见面和增进友谊。我们在系内有很好的社交网络,对通讯很有用,也有利将来的事业发展。」由於学系有来自世界各地进行文化和学术交流的学生,协权对多元文化气氛极为适应,而且作好準备迎接到美国、欧洲和其他地方的著名大学的交流机会等,这些大学包括加州理工学院、加州大学洛杉矶分校、麻省理工学院等。他将会前往蒙特利尔的麦吉尔大学当交换生,他说:「改变学习地点可以丰富我的文化体验和扩大我的境界。而且这个交换计划也可以助我找学习数学的最适当方法,因为香港和加拿大的教学方法是不同的。」

协权和其他数学精研的学生一样,都在IB、GCE 或DSE等公开试的数学和相关科目取得好成绩。课程录取的每位新生都可得入学奖学金,成绩优异者还可获颁其他奖学金。

课程每年只招收大约二十七名新生,毕业生的工作发展很多元。他们很多人都在麻省理工学院、加州大学洛杉矶分校、加州理工学院、普林斯顿、哈佛、剑桥和牛津等学府取得博士学位後在学术圈子发展。更多人在本科课程接受了严谨的数学、逻辑和思辨训练後,通过参加交流计划和学术会议,扩充视野,成爲教育界的生力军,或者工程师、计算机科学家、企业家和商人。有同样志向的学生可以透过理学院大类收生计划修读数学课程。

如果你热衷数学,而且正在考虑报读数学精研,邹教授有几句话对你说:「高阶数学从来不易读,但所带给你的挑战和启发,其用处和力量均将超乎你的预期,更不消说你在这裏可以开拓的世界观和学术视野将是多麽广阔,所学的知识会是多麽实用;因为数学是与我们的生活息息相关的。」

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

MATHN-ERM

联招编号

JS4682

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 国际生, 内地高考

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

The Experience of Enumeration Expands

Mathematics was Chong Hip-kuen’s favourite subject in high school. So he naturally looked for a programme that would take his exploration in the science of numbers to new heights when he applied for university three years ago. The Enrichment Mathematics programme at CUHK caught his eye as mathematics has long been a signature discipline at CUHK. On top of being the top mathematics programme in Hong Kong, CUHK’s ranks consistently highly in the major university rankings (below all 2017 ranks):

  • 28th among 200 (US News)
  • 36th among 402 (QS)
  • 52nd among 243 (Essential Science Indicators)

Further, Hip-kuen noticed that the CUHK programme aims for developing students into all-rounded mathematicians. The highschool graduate considered this important since changes in global economy has increasingly required the acquisition of both expert knowledge and multiple soft-skills. This is in agreement with the thinking behind the programme, as Prof. Jun Zou, Choh-Ming Li Professor of Mathematics and Chairman of the Department of Mathematics, said, ‘The Enrichment Mathematics programme makes great contribution to a variety of fields including finance, education, commerce, engineering, computer science, marketing, business, medical research, statistics, physics, information technology and pure mathematical science. As everything has touched upon mathematics, building up a strong sense of mathematical thinking can enhance one's logic, critical thinking and problem-solving skills.’

The programme covers both pure and applied mathematics. With the knowledge of pure mathematical science, students can develop a feasible research path on advanced mathematics, statistics and computer science. Students can also enroll in the double stream in Enrichment Mathematics and Computational and Applied Mathematics (CAM). The knowledge provided by applied mathematics subjects, such as numerical computations and contemporary techniques of big data analytics, can lead students to the realm of applied sciences which covers finance, engineering, business, marketing and medical research.

When asked what he found most valuable about the programme, Hip-kuen said, ‘Peer support is the most valuable thing I found in this programme. Since this programme aims to enroll a group of students dedicated to mathematics, it offers me a quick start to form a study group with fellow students to further explore new knowledge in mathematics.

‘Before I was admitted into CUHK, I did not understand the meaning of teamwork in mathematics. In secondary schools, mathematics was taught one-way, from the teacher to the students. Discussions of questions in mathematics were deemed to be useless, as mathematics learning was supposed to be done on one’s own.

‘However, after joining this programme, I finally understood that mathematics can also be studied in the form of study group. Everyone has his/her own interest, and by forming ourselves into groups, we can relay the knowledge we read from books to others, and shorten the time they need to study the topics themselves. It is far more efficient than each of us taking on the textbooks individually.’

This learning mode is enabled by the wide range of physical and computing facilities as well as academic and logistical support provided by the Department of Mathematics. There is enough space for the students to hold meetings, symposiums and talks for academic and social purposes. The provision of multi-media facilities and the spacious learning environment can help students study in a relaxed way.

Hip-kuen went on to say, ‘Also, the professors in this programme are active and willing to answer academic and career-planning questions from us, sometimes over meals, to make sure we are on the right track and are getting the most out of the programme.’

The 36 teaching staff members are indeed another asset of the programme. Very few new students can help not being impressed by their knowledge, devotion and innovation. Hip-kuen recalled, ‘Different from the traditional style of giving examples and stating explicit theorems, I have met inspiring professors who are more concerned with helping us lay down a good foundation by offering us chances to explore the theorems ourselves, writing down our own proofs and deepening our memories by visualizing them either by pictures or diagrams.’

Hip-kuen has not been busy only in the classrooms or with his study group. He was one of the academic officers in the Mathematics Society of CUHK last year, and made quite a few friends. ‘Relationship among students in the Department is strong due to the presence of the Society and through organizing events for students to meet and socialize with each other. We have built a robust social network within the Department and this is useful in communication and for future careers.’ As the Department has students coming from all over the world to do cultural and academic exchanges, Hip-kuen is well adapted to a multi-cultural atmosphere, and well-prepared for the many exchange opportunities at renowned universities in the US, Europe and other parts of the world—Caltech, UCLA, MIT, etc. He is going to McGill University in Montreal for exchange, and opined, ‘Changing the location of studying can enrich my cultural experience and broaden my horizon. Moreover, this exchange programme can also help me find a most suitable learning method for mathematics, since the teaching styles in Hong Kong and in Canada are different.’

Like Hip-kuen, students of Enrichment Mathematics typically came with excellent results in public examinations like IB, GCE and DSE, in mathematics and other related subjects. Admission scholarships are available to every freshman and other scholarships to students with outstanding academic performance.

Although the programme admits only about 27 new students each year, the career fields for its graduates are many and varied. Many of them pursued an academic career after completing their PhDs in MIT, UCLA, Caltech, Princeton, Harvard, Cambridge, Oxford, etc. Many more work as educators, engineers, computer scientists, entrepreneurs and businessmen after obtaining sufficient mathematical, logical and critical thinking skills and the global vision they got from exchange programmes and academic conferences. Students with these goals in mind can also enter the mathematics programme through the science broad-based admission.

If you are mad with maths and considering Enrichment Mathematics, Professor Zou has this to say to you: ‘Studying advanced mathematics is never easy but the challenges and inspirations it brings you are more useful and powerful than you can imagine. Not to mention how unforgettable the global and academic vision you may gain here, you can utilize the knowledge you learn for good because mathematics is the only subject that touches every single aspect in life.’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

MATHN-ERM

JUPAS Code

JS4682

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, International, Mainland