往內容

本科课程

 

寻找缪斯

你会带哪几样东西到一个与世隔绝的海岛?

如果你不能一天无音乐,你心爱的乐器出现在清单之内,一点不出奇。

在一个热带岛上,星光之下,终日弦管不绝,听来不错是美妙。不过,谁也不会不同意,在设备先进的学府裏,有丰富的研究资源,还在好几位区内最著名的学者指导之下,和一班志同道合的同学一起学习和演奏音乐,可更有意思得多了。

2014年毕业的校友黎晞暘热衷於音乐理论,他解释为甚麽当年决定修读中文大学的音乐课程:

「中文大学的音乐系历史悠久,多年来培养了不少专业表演者和研究员。学系的老师尤其令我佩服,他们都是世界级学者,有傑出学术研究成就。他们各施其法把我带进音乐的世界,给我前所未有的体验。」

入读中文大学音乐系前,晞暘感兴趣的只是文艺复兴时期至二十世纪初的西方音乐。四年的本科教育裏,他接触到一个多元化的课程,涵盖广泛的时代、地域和理论架构,包括了古代到当代的音乐,还有中国、西方和世界音乐。除了教学外,学系的研究亦相当出色,範畴计有:

  • 作曲
  • 民族音乐学
  • 历史音乐学
  • 音乐理论

「音乐系有自己的图书馆,藏有各种各类的影音资料,还有中国音乐和香港作曲家的特藏。我们希望学生善用这些资源,培养开放的胸襟,包容差异,而且对音乐能够有全面的了解。」学系主任张惠玲教授说。

张教授和麦淑贤教授均专长音乐理论,是晞暘的毕业班独立研究导师。晞暘觉得进行研究计划的经验在大学课程裏最珍贵亦最难忘。

「张教授和麦教授给予我很大的自由去选择自己感兴趣的研究题目,她们见解不凡,评论严谨,我受用无穷。那是我第一次独自进行一个全面的研究,那次经验也激发我进研究院深造。」

中文大学音乐系毕业生很多都进研究院深造与音乐有关的科目,晞暘是其中一位。他们不少人获美国、英国和欧洲的著名学府录取。

除了把音乐作为人文学科研习外,学生亦有机会跟香港的顶级音乐家上表演课,以提升技巧。

学系和崇基学院的各种活动也为学生提供实践的机会,例如乐团训练、音乐会筹划和其他社区计划。此外,驻校乐团计划也是很好的机会,学生的作品每年得以由不同的专业团体綵排和演奏。

「这些联课学习机会让学生吸取实际经验,从而加深对演奏、作曲及编曲、与表演者綵排,以及与观众沟通的了解。」

学系与美国北卡罗来纳州大学的音乐系订立正式交换合作计划,为学生提供往海外学习的机会。学生可选择参加学系的乐团或海外交流团,如崇基管乐团和中乐团。

学系亦与行内专业人士加强联繫,定期邀请在业内居要位的校友演讲及举办交流会,使学生可以更了解怎样在实际环境裏以自己的才能贡献社会。

课程的小班形式有利师生建立紧密关係。而且每个学生都获分配一位辅导老师,在学业和就业上可以向他们谘询。

为了将来在事业发展上更具优势,很多音乐系学生都副修外语、心理学或者人类学,都有利於到海外深造、从事音乐治疗工作,以及继续进修民族音乐学。

「中文大学的音乐本科课程分四个範围,计为表演、作曲、研究和教学,为本地音乐界、音乐研究和教育,以及其他需要全面音乐知识的行业培育了不少人才。这几十年来,我们的毕业生在国际上亦颇有贡献,不少人现时都是有成就的表演家、作曲家、製作人、艺术行政人员、音乐治疗师和教育家。」张教授说。

学系今年如常录取三十名新生,都是中英文俱佳,而且娴熟至少一种乐器。据张教授说,课程招收的学生,都「热衷於探索各种音乐科目和不同音乐类型与传统」。

如果你想成为音乐系的一员,校友晞暘有几句鼓励的说话:

「别怕追寻自己的梦想。你热爱音乐的话,在中文大学音乐系四年,绝对是你一生最宝贵和最难忘的学习经验。」

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

MUSCN

联招编号

JS4082

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 国际生, 内地高考

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

Finding Your Muse

What are the few things you would bring to a deserted island?

If you can’t live one day without music, it wouldn’t be surprising to find your favourite musical instrument on your checklist.

Though playing music all day on a tropical island under the starry sky may sound wonderful, few will disagree that it would be much more inspiring to perform and study music with like-minded classmates in an institution with state-of-the-art facilities, abundant research resources and to be taught by of some of most renowned music scholars in the region.

John Lai, an enthusiast in music theory and alumnus who graduated in 2014, explained the reason he decided to study music at CUHK,

‘CUHK’s Department of Music has a long-standing tradition in the professional training of music performers and researchers. I was particularly impressed by its faculty members, who are world-class scholars with outstanding achievements in academic research. I was introduced to the world of music in ways I would never have imagined.’

Before studying music at CUHK, John only focused on Western music from the Renaissance period to that of the early 20th century. During the undergraduate trainings, however, he was exposed to a diverse curriculum with topics spanning a wide range of chronological, geographic and theoretical frameworks—including music from the ancient to contemporary era, as well as Chinese, Western and world music. In addition to education, the Department is also strong in research in the following areas:

  • Composition
  • Ethnomusicology
  • Historical musicology
  • Music theory

‘The Department of Music has its own library with a variety of audio-visual materials, as well as special collections for Chinese music and Hong Kong composers. It is hoped that our students would make use of these resources to cultivate an open mind for diversity and develop a comprehensive understanding of music’, remarked Prof. Cheong Wai-ling, Head of the Department.

Prof. Cheong and Prof. Mak Su-yin, two faculty members specializing in music theory, were John’s supervisors for his final year independent study. According to John, the experience of working on a research project became the most valuable memory of his undergraduate years.

‘Both Professor Cheong and Professor Mak allowed me the freedom to choose a research topic I was interested in and offered me invaluable insight and critical comments. It was my first time to conduct a full-scale research on my own and the experience had encouraged me to further my study in the graduate school,’ said John.

John was among many music graduates of CUHK who pursue postgraduate studies in music-related subjects. Many of them are admitted to prestigious institutions in the US, UK, and Europe.

In addition to the studying of music as a humanistic discipline, students are given the opportunities to advance their music making skills by taking performance lessons with top musicians in Hong Kong.

Numerous activities in the department and Chung Chi College also offer hands-on experience of music making, such as ensemble training, concert organization, and other community projects. Through the ensemble-in-residence programme, students can have their work rehearsed and performed by a different professional group every year.

‘These co-curricular learning opportunities enable our students to gain first-hand understanding of performing, writing and arranging music, rehearsing with performers, and communicating with the audience,’ said Professor Cheong.

In terms of overseas opportunities, the Department has established formal exchange partnership with the music department of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in the US. Students can choose to participate in some department ensembles or overseas tours, such as the Chung Chi Wind Orchestra and the Chinese Music Ensemble.

The Department also fosters connections with industry professionals and regularly brings in alumni working in prominent positions across the industries to deliver talks and advice sessions, so that students can better understand how their own skills can contribute to the society in real-world situations.

The small programme size fosters a close relationship between students and the faculty. Every student is assigned an academic advisor, from whom he/she can seek academic and career advice.

To better prepare themselves for their future careers, many of the music students at CUHK study minor programmes in foreign languages, psychology, or anthropology which would be helpful if they plan to study overseas, pursue a career in music therapy or continue their study in ethnomusicology.

‘With four study streams in performance, composition, research, and pedagogy, the undergraduate programme in music at CUHK has been nurturing local leaders in music industries, research, education, and other professions that require in-depth musical knowledge. For decades, our graduates have been contributing to the world stage as performers, composers, producers, art administrators, music therapists, and educators, among others,’ remarked Professor Cheong.

This year, the Department will continue to enroll 30 new students who are proficient in Chinese, English and at least one musical instrument. According to Professor Cheong, the programme looks for students ‘who are eager to explore various disciplines of music and music of different genres and traditions’.

If you are planning to become part of the cohorts, alumnus John has a few encouraging words for you:

‘Don’t be afraid to follow your dream. If music is your passion, the next four years of studying music at CUHK will truly be an invaluable and unforgettable learning experience in your life’.

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

MUSCN

JUPAS Code

JS4082

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, International, Mainland