往內容

本科课程

 

全人教育 全面照护

谈到护理,大家不期然会想起克里米亚战争中在战场上救伤扶危的南丁格尔。今天,护士工作的环境不只一处,她们接受的训练亦複杂精妙得多,但成为护士所需的品质却一直没有改变。诚如那打素护理学院院长车锡英教授解释:「我们录取的是有热诚和立志在医护界服务的学生。」

车教授对报读学生的高期望大有理由。中大护理课程每年有六千人报读,但学位只有二百个。QS世界大学排名曾经在学科类别中把中大护理课程列为本地首位,在亚洲则名列第三。那打素护理学院以雅丽氏何妙龄那打素慈善基金会命名,自1991年起即开办护理训练课程。

中大的护理课程以专业教育和学术严谨著名。为了培育学生成为优秀的护理人才,课程提供全面的训练,包括生物及行为科学、健康维持与促进、护理科研及资讯科技。

护理课程和很多其他学科一样,第一个月的大学生活对新生来说可以颇「颠簸」的。

所以课程设有辅导计划,以协助一年级学生适应下来。课程亦采取新颖的教学技术,如Clickers与UReply,以加强学生在课堂上的互动。小班导修课则可鼓励深入讨论,从而巩固所学。

邱津龙是主修护理的四年级学生,觉得这些导修课对他的学业和专业教育有很大益处。

他说:「小班导修课是护理学生交流及评估临床经验的理想平台。」

中大护理课程的另一项特色是着重全人发展。学院强调,学生不只是磨练专业技能,也要培养文化能力,应用护理以配合不同的社会环境。

「学生交流计划」是护理课程其中一项主要选修科目,毕业班学生差不多有一半人前往海外大学学习两至三星期。参加者可以多了解其他文化,也可以观察外国的护理教育和行业。在那打素基金的支持之下,学院资助往海外参加会议和考察的费用可达75%。

护士工作的医护场所种类很多,由一般医生医务所到诊所,还有医院和疗养院。他们也在惩教所、学校和非政府组织内工作,或者在战祸及疾病肆虐的地区参与人道救援工作。护士最为人熟悉的工作是照顾病人的需要,其他较少人知道的任务有管理、训练及科研。护士面对的机会很多,挑战也一样多,那是工作的複杂功能所使然。

津龙深有同感。

「护士的工作不只是处理文件或者医疗器具。护士要专注照顾病人的整体福祉。很多人以为护士不过是医生的助手,但我觉得不是这麽简单。护士在为病人做好全面护理,要有严谨的思辨及决断能力,还要有同情心。

「课程为学生提供很多实用训练,对我们将来在不同医护场所的发展有很大裨益。将来不论甚麽岗位,我也一定可以学以致用。」

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

NURSN

联招编号

JS4513

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 非联招(高年级入学), 国际生, 内地高考

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

Nursing: A Holistic Education For Holistic Care

The mention of nursing calls to mind Florence Nightingale who tended the sick and the wounded on the battlefields of the Crimean War. Nurses nowadays work in more diverse settings and their training is all the more sophisticated, but the qualities that constitute the making of a nurse have not changed over the decades. As Prof. Chair Sek-ying, Director of The Nethersole School of Nursing, explained, ‘We look for applicants who are enthusiastic and committed to serving in the healthcare field.’

There are good reasons for Professor Chair’s high expectation of the applicants. Each year, around 6,000 applicants compete for 200 places on offer at the CUHK’s nursing programme. In one Quacquarelli Symonds ranking by subjects, CUHK came first in nursing locally and third in Asia. The Nethersole School of Nursing was named in honour of the Alice Ho Miu Ling Nethersole Charity Foundation, and it has been offering training in nursing since 1991.

CUHK’s nursing programme is known for its professional education and academic rigour. To prepare students for a successful nursing career, the programme provides a comprehensive range of courses including biological and behavioural sciences, health promotion and maintenance, nursing research and information technology.

As with many other disciplines, the first months of university life could be quite ‘tumultuous’ for school leavers.

First-year students participate in a mentorship scheme which helps them settle in. Novel teaching and learning technologies such as Clickers and UReply are used to enhance student interaction in class. Small tutorial classes are conducted to consolidate learning through thorough discussion.

Kevin Yau, a year 4 student majoring in nursing, is ready to vouch for the benefits of such tutorial classes to his academic and professional education.

‘Small-class tutorials are the ideal platform for nursing students to exchange and evaluate their experience in clinical practice,’ Kevin said.

Another unique feature of the CUHK nursing programme is its emphasis on whole-person development. The School sees to it that students are equipped not only with professional skills, but also the cultural competency to see how nursing adapts to different societal conditions.

‘Student Exchange’ is one of the major elective courses of the nursing programme, and nearly half of all final-year students visit an overseas university for two to three weeks. Participants can learn more about other cultures, as well as how nursing education and practices are conducted outside of Hong Kong. With the support of the Nethersole Endowment Fund, the School sponsors 75% of the airfare, accommodation expenses and fees for lectures and clinical visits.

Nurses work in diverse healthcare settings, ranging from general practices and clinics to hospitals and nursing homes. They also work in correctional facilities, schools, and NGOs, or participate in humanitarian aid in war zones and disaster-struck areas. While administering to the needs of patients is the most commonly known duty of nurses, other lesser known roles include management, training, and research. The opportunities available to nurses are as many as the challenges facing them, given the versatility of the profession.

Such a view is echoed by Kevin.

‘A nurse’s job is not only about handling documents or medical tools. Nurses focus on the overall well-being of their clients. People may think that nurses are just assistants to doctors, but I think they do much more than that. Nurses must possess critical thinking and decision-making skills as well as empathy when delivering holistic care to clients,’ he said.

‘The programme provides students with a lot of practical training beneficial to our future career in various healthcare settings. I am sure I can apply what I’ve learnt here to my nursing career, no matter what position I will be posted to.’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

NURSN

JUPAS Code

JS4513

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, Non-JUPAS Senior Year Entry, International, Mainland