往內容

本科课程

 

格物致知

中文大学物理学以高水平的本科生和研究生课程和出色研究知名。毕业生从课程获得的知识、技能及态度能帮助他们继续进修,也有利他们在二十一世纪的工作环境中大展拳脚。很多毕业生获世界顶尖学府取录,修读物理或其他相关课程的硕士或博士学位。

理论物理学精研组是一个本科课程,提供严格培训、大量研究和以学生为本的学习体验、以及实验性质的学习机会。学系主任许伯铭教授说:「理论物理学精研组自2015开办至今,一直得到学生的认同和喜爱,一应俱全的各种学习机会,都有助装备他们在二十一世纪大展拳脚。」

课程帮助学生在关键的物理学领域建立根深稳固的基础,掌握必要的学习技巧,教学水平与世界顶尖研究型大学看齐,不但可以啓发学生的研究潜能,更是从本科物理课程衔接至硕士或博士学位的桥樑。

该课程每年只录取大约二十名新生,Adrian Chan属第二批获录取的学生。问他何以报读,他说:「我觉得研究宇宙的规律总是乐趣无穷的。从粒子物理学到宇宙学,每个理论都自有美丽之处。理论物理精研是香港唯一专修理论物理学的课程。对於想了解宇宙之美、希望多汲收本科以外知识的学生,这课程绝对是佳选。」

这课程改变了他对物理学的看法。「我从前以为物理学是一个孤岛,物理学家只在实验室裏做实验来测试他们的理论,但其实物理学是一门跨学科的科目。正因物理学如此重要,很多科学或工程学领域都需要物理学的理论和应用。我们的教授有数学、工程学甚至生物学的学位。这些因素已经改变了我对物理学的狭隘想法,令我看到物理学其实无处不可应用。」

除了各地物理学课程普遍使用的标準教学大纲之外,理论物理学精研组的学生还受益於中大物理学系的优良教学方式。新生必须修读一系列的入门科目,为高年级的学习打好基础。学生在充满关怀的环境裏学习,课业要求却十分严格。这包括课程的作业、小组讨论、实验室课、研讨班、项目计划,以及学期内或暑期的本科研究机会。中大在粒子物理学、宇宙学和天体物理学的国际合作研究上都有参与,更为学生提供很多机会吸取科研经验。计划日後深造的学生会发觉这课程是丰富物理学知识和技能的最佳地方。

Adrian认为最可贵的是学系提供的不同机会。「叁十五位老师都了不起。课程要求高,但学生得益也大,还有很多机会给我探索物理学的每一个範畴:有些人低年级时在教授指导下进行研究;有些人则参加遊学团到世界各地访问先进的物理学研究机构。这些经验对本科学习以至将来发展都是不可多得。

「学生之间是好朋友和读书夥伴。我们时常一起在图书馆或实验室讨论问题,在堂上或者功课及温习上出现问题,大家便互相切磋、互相帮助,处理问题时也有趣得多。」

Adrian所说的众多机会包括:

  • 暑期本科生研究交流计划
  • 海外本科生交换计划
  • 暑期物理学本科生实习计划
  • 学习交流团
  • 香港天文臺实习计划
  • 暑期教师学徒计划

Adrian说:「去年我参加学习交流团去了日本和瑞士,那种探索物理学前沿的经验非常难忘。我们参观了PSI和CERN等顶尖研究所。和当地研究员及同样来自香港的交流生交谈後,我知道自己希望成为物理学家的梦想是可以达到的。这是我读物理学的最大激励。」

课程结构均衡,结合了堂课、导修、解题课节、研讨会、小组讨论、实验室作业、研究计划,以及本科研究机会。新生会获编配一位学业导师,帮助他们探讨可享有的各种选项和机会。基本科目的设计则有助学生适应大学学习物理学的模式,还有甚多非常规的体验机会进一步支援学生学习。

Adrian又说:「课程很着重理论。我相信大多数理论物理学精研组的学生开始时都想成为理论物理学家。到目前为止,我仍然想在毕业後进修物理学,成为理论物理学家。接受了数学、程式和物理知识的训练,我已準备好深造。实验实习和日常学习的经验对进修深造很重要。但当然,纯物理学并不是唯一可行的路。课程的训练也利於在研究院深造其他範畴。」

在理论物理学精研组读了叁年,Adrian对物理学的热情有增无减。「物理学很有趣,但读物理学一点不容易。複杂的系统、与直觉相反的现象,还有抽象而困难的数学可以很折腾人。但有好朋友和好老师在身旁,所有辛劳都是值得的。如果你喜欢物理学,喜欢和志同道合的人一起学习,理论物理学精研组是你必然之选。」

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

PHYSN-ERP

联招编号

JS4690

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 国际生, 内地高考

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

In Quest for the Theory of Everything

Physics at CUHK is well-known for its high-quality undergraduate and postgraduate programmes as well as its strengths in research. The training provides the knowledge, skills, and attitude for our graduates to pursue future studies and to launch a successful career in the 21st century workplaces. Many graduates were admitted into top graduate schools around the world for their studies toward a master’s or PhD degree in physics or related subjects.

The Enrichment Stream in Theoretical Physics (ESTP) is an undergraduate curriculum that offers a rigorous training, numerous research and student-centered learning opportunities, and experiential learning opportunities. ‘ESTP has been very well-received by students since its launching in 2015. Students enjoy the many learning opportunities that prepare them to move on in the 21st century’, says the Chairman of the Department Prof. Pak Ming Hui.

The ESTP curriculum provides a solid and thorough foundation on the key subjects and essential skills for learning physics at a level comparable to any major research universities in the world. It helps students explore their research potential and bridge the gap from undergraduate physics to postgraduate studies at the master's or doctoral level.

The programme admits only 20 students each year. Adrian Chan was one of the 20 in the second cohort. His reason for applying? ‘Studying the laws of the universe is always exciting and enjoyable to me. From particle physics to cosmology, every theory has its own beauty. ESTP is the only one in Hong Kong specializing in theoretical physics. As a student who wants to understand the beauty of the universe and attain greater knowledge beyond the undergraduate, ESTP is absolutely a great choice.’

Did the programme change the way he looks at physics? Adrian’s answer is in the affirmative: ‘I used to believe physics is an island and physicists just do experiments or try out their theories in the lab. But physics is really a cross-disciplinary subject. Because of the importance of physics, many fields of science or engineering need its theories and applications. Our professors have degrees in mathematics, engineering or even biology. This has changed my narrow view of physics and made me see that physics can be applied everywhere.’

On top of the standard syllabus common to all physics programmes around the world, ESTP students will experience an exceptionally high standard of learning characteristic of CUHK’s Department of Physics. Beginning students must go through a series of introductory courses to lay down a good foundation for the upper years. Studying in a caring environment, students are often stimulated and challenged by demanding works, including course assignments, small-group discussions, lab courses, seminars, projects, and undergraduate research opportunities during term time or in the summer. CUHK’s participation in international collaborations in particle physics, cosmology and astrophysics further provides ample opportunities for the students to acquire research experience. Well-motivated students with the goal of pursuing further studies will find the programme a perfect place to enrich their physics knowledge and skills.

Adrian believed that the most valuable thing about ESTP is the different opportunities provided by the Department: ‘The teachers, 35 of them, are great. The curriculum is challenging but rewarding, and there are many opportunities for me to explore each of the fields in physics. ESTP students are given many opportunities. Some may want to do research under the guidance of their professors in their junior year. Some may join tours to visit the frontier facilities of physics around the world. All these experiences are bonuses to the undergraduate years and beyond.

‘The students are good friends and study partners among themselves. We always discuss problems together in the library or computer lab, sharing our knowledge and opinions on problems encountered in class or arising from homework or revision. With each other’s help, it is much more fun to take on the challenges.’

The many opportunities mentioned by Adrian include:

  • Summer Undergraduate Research Exchange
  • Overseas Programme for Undergraduate Students
  • Summer Internship Programme for Physics Undergraduate Students
  • Study Tours
  • Hong Kong Observatory Placement Programme
  • Summer Teacher AppRenticeship

‘I have travelled to Japan and Swiss on study tours in the past year,’ said Adrian. ‘The experience of exploring the frontiers of physics is most impressive. We visited some famous facilities such as PSI and CERN which are top-tier research facilities. Talking with the researchers and exchange students from Hong Kong there, I knew my dream of becoming a physicist is within reach. This is the greatest motivation for me to study physics.’

The programme offers a balanced mix of lectures, tutorials, problem-solving sessions, seminars, group discussions, lab works, projects and undergraduate research opportunities. New students are assigned an academic advisor who can help them explore the many options and opportunities available to them. The foundation courses are designed to help students adapt to the university mode of learning physics. Learning is further supported by many non-formal experiential opportunities.

Adrian said, ‘ESTP is a programme that focuses a lot on theory. I believe most students in ESTP want to be theorists at the beginning. Up till now, I still want to continue to study physics after graduation and become a theorist. With training in mathematics, programming and physics knowledge, I am preparing to study more. The experience of experimental internship and daily learning are important for further studies. But of course, pure physics is not the only way to go. The training in ESTP also facilitates joining other fields at the postgraduate level.’

Having spent three years in ESTP, Adrian’s zeal for the subject has only deepened: ‘Physics is interesting, but studying physics is not easy. Complex systems, counter-intuitive phenomena, abstract and difficult mathematics may wear you down. But with good friends and teachers around, the hard work is worth it. If you like physics and love studying with other physics lovers, ESTP is the choice for you.’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

PHYSN-ERP

JUPAS Code

JS4690

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, International, Mainland