往內容

本科課程

 

心靈的研究

心理學是關於精神生活現象及其構成條件的科學;這些現象包括我們所稱的感覺、慾望、認知、推理、決定等等。

—威廉‧詹姆斯

黃萱然自小已經為人的思想着迷,很想知道那是怎樣運作的。順理成章,數年前她申請入大學時,便想找一門可以把興趣轉化為事業的學科,而中文大學的心理學正是她的首選。畢竟,這個課程自1982年起已是中大的知名學科,在國際同類課程中名列首五十位之內。

這課程逐漸改變了萱然對心理學的看法,她說:「我本以為心理學不過是一門軟性的人文學科。但讀了四年後,我學會了更理性地思考,也懂得找尋每個現象背後的科學證據。」

這正與課程的理念不謀而合。心理學系系主任馮海嵐教授說:「心理學是人類行為和個人心智歷程的科學研究,所以課程須傳授心理學的知識,訓練學生運用這些知識來作批判性思考。我們提倡心理學研究,肯定其意義,目的是培育年輕人從事與心理學有關的專業工作,例如臨床、教育,以及工業與組織心理學。」

萱然十分欣賞課程的設計。她說:「心理學課程着重專題式學習、考試和研究。這個方式使我認識到,稱職的心理學家不但要具備行內知識,也要有嚴謹的科學思維。」

馮教授指出,學系的長遠策略在於發展具華人因素的心理研究課題:「我們主力發展了多份亞洲學術期刊,並編撰不少關於華人心理學,以及和文化如何影響心理過程的文章,這些文章都獲國際推崇。我們正利用學系的經驗和資源協助中國的心理學發展。要言之,學系推進心理學在其西方學術源流以外的發展,不遺餘力。」

萱然也非常喜歡師生間的密切關係。「老師都是心理學專家,知道怎樣對學生表達真誠的關懷。我們的感受和想法,還有我們對學系的意見和建議,他們都細心聆聽。」

她說同學都是「聰明、有趣和可靠」的。「我們一起做小組課業和參加課外活動,互助互勉。大家合作設計和進行了不少實驗,還有喝下午茶、一起運動和參與不同的活動,共同進退,分享成功、分擔失敗。就是這樣,我們成為很好的朋友,而友誼比知識還寶貴。這些將是我人生最重要和最珍貴的回憶。」

像萱然一樣,典型的心理學學生都對人性極度好奇,而且有強烈的學習動機,思考能力格外獨立嚴謹,語文水平亦高。學業成績優異的學生則可獲獎學金。

心理學的實習機會很多,範圍包括認知神經科學、教育與發展心理學、工業與組織心理學,以及臨床/健康心理學等。據馮教授所說,很多畢業生在人力資源、管理、教育界和政府內都身居要職。

對那些有興趣報讀心理學的學生,萱然有以下建議:「深思熟慮作出抉擇後,便要作好迎難而上的準備。過程很艱辛,但收穫很豐富。這課程可能和你的想像有別,心理學與直覺或者讀心術無關;它是生物學、科學和統計學三者合而為一。」

刊登時間:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

課程編號

PSYCN

聯招編號

JS4862

開放申請

聯招, 非聯招(一年級入學), 非聯招(高年級入學), 國際生, 內地高考

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

The Study of the Soul

Psychology is the science of mental life, both of its phenomena and of their conditions. The phenomena are such things as we call feelings, desires, cognitions, reasonings, decisions, and the like.

—William James

From an early age, Zoe Wong has been intrigued by the human mind and how it works. So she naturally looked for a programme that would transform her interest into a promising career when she applied for university several years ago. The Psychology programme at CUHK caught her eye, as psychology has been a signature discipline at CUHK since 1982 and ranked in the top 50th among peer programmes internationally.

The programme gradually changed the way Zoe looked at the subject discipline. ‘I used to consider psychology nothing but a humanistic, soft subject. But after four years of studies, I learnt to think more rationally and look for scientific evidence behind every phenomenon.’

This is in agreement with the thinking behind the programme, as Prof. Helene Fung, Chairman of the Department of Psychology, said, ‘Psychology is the scientific study of human behaviour and the mental processes of individuals. Thus, the Psychology programme was designed to transmit knowledge in psychology and train young people to think critically using such knowledge. We promote psychological research and the values behind it, and it is our aim to prepare young people for professions such as clinical, educational, and industrial-organizational psychology.’

When asked what she found most valuable about the programme, Zoe said, ‘The curriculum design impresses me the most. The Psychology programme emphasizes on project learning, examination, as well as research. This approach made me realize that the career path of a psychologist requires as much background knowledge as a robust scientific mind-set.’

Professor Fung pointed out that promoting a distinctive Chinese voice is a major theme of the Department’s long-term strategy. ‘We have been instrumental in the development of several Asian journals. We have also edited and authored internationally respected texts on Chinese psychology and cultural influences in psychological processes. We are drawing on our experiences and resources to help develop psychological sciences in China. In short, our Department is a key player in the expansion of psychology beyond its Western origins,’ he said.

The good bonding between students and teachers is another aspect of the programme that appeals to Zoe. ‘Because they are all experts in psychology, faculty members of the Department know how to show genuine care to their students. They listen to our feelings and thoughts, as well as our opinions on and suggestions to the Department.’

She went on to describe her fellow classmates as ‘smart, funny and reliable’. ‘They are great companions to group projects and extra-curricular activities. Together, we design and conduct experiments, enjoy afternoon tea, play sports and join various activities. Most memorable of all, we share successes and failures. Through all these, we have built close friendships, which are as invaluable as and even more unforgettable than the knowledge we learnt. These have all become important and precious memories of my life.’

Like Zoe, students of Psychology typically came with an intense curiosity in humanity, high motivation to learn, and the exceptional ability of independent, critical thinking and effective use of language. Various scholarships are available to students with outstanding academic performance.

Practicums are available in cognitive neuroscience, educational and developmental psychology, industrial-organizational psychology, and clinical/health psychology. According to Professor Fung, many graduates of the programme hold notable jobs in human resources, management, the educational sector and the government.

For those who have already been setting their sights in this programme, Zoe has this cautionary yet sincere note to offer: ‘Think twice before signing up, and then brace yourself for an arduous but nonetheless fulfilling journey. The programme might be different from what you expected and imagined—it has nothing to do with intuition or mind-reading; it is biology, science and statistics all in one.’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

PSYCN

JUPAS Code

JS4862

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, Non-JUPAS Senior Year Entry, International, Mainland