往內容

本科课程

 

如何量化成功?

中文大学的计量金融学理学士课程(QFIN)为金融服务业稳定培育专业人才,他们既有扎实的计量与金融技能,亦充分掌握各种商学与经济学的通用知识。

QFIN课程主任周应峰教授说:「报读课程的学生最基本要有计算和分析技能,还要有开放的心胸及寻根究柢的精神。我们致力培养学生的专业道德操守和正直诚实的人格,协助他们全面发展人际关係、沟通和团队合作等软技巧。」

现在就读课程四年级的钱嘉浩,即充分具备这些应有应有质素。他说:「我自中学起便喜欢数学和经济学,也对银行业和股票市场非常感兴趣,虽然那时候对这些东西认识不多。QFIN课程结合了我对数字的热诚和对金融的兴趣,正好就是我发展事业的最佳途径。」

嘉浩不久便发觉QFIN课程是一个亲密的家庭,他交上了很多终身的朋友。「我们谈的不但是学业和职业上的问题,私底下关係也非常密切。除了一起上课外,我们会组队参加个案比赛,大家在很多其他方面都很契合,彼此认识甚深。」

课程设有几个师友计划、学友计划,由课程的高年级学生指导低年级同学,与他们分享经验。还有校友和专业人士这两个导师计划,邀请专业人士和校友会与在学的学生分享心得和经验。这些活动有助学生加深对业界的认识,作出明智的事业选择。

嘉浩说:「课程的教职员不遗馀力支援学生的学业与事业。我们物色实习工作,为发展事业做準备时,可用的资源委实不少。教授和职员都乐意花时间教导我们,栽培我们成为金融业的精英。」

在学学生和校友连繫紧密。嘉浩说:「QFIN的家庭成员遍布金融界各行各业,这些业内翘楚都很愿意指导和带领仍在大学的後辈,在事业发展上给我们忠告。」这个强大的网络和归属感是QFIN课程的一大特色。

另一特色是课程卓著的名声和与业界的稳固关係。周教授说:「我们吸引了金融业界的投资和支持,成立了一个金融交易实验室。商学院配备这样的设施,可算是业界首创先例。学生可以在实验室利用全世界股票交易的现场数据进行实况操作训练。

「透过课程的网络和关係,我们也吸引到业界的专才教授某些有特定题目的短期科目,尤其是金融业内发展迅速的範围。学生可从中认识业内人士的最新观察和见解,这些知识是无法在书本或者其他正规教材内找得到的。」

嘉浩也觉得这裏的学习体验很丰富。「课程令我醒觉在课堂以外还有很多知识要学习,我也看到人际关係和沟通技能等软技巧很重要。要在金融业有成就,除了专门知识外,软硬技能的结合可以说是更重要。」

课程在外与业内人士紧密合作,为学生找寻就业机会,并且开拓人脉;在内向学生提供个人和小组培训,帮助他们準备就绪,找寻实习与毕业後的工作。一般来说,学生在毕业时每人平均都已完成三份实习工作,而九成以上学生至少会做一份与金融有关,或者在金融服务公司或机构的实习工作。

嘉浩的兴趣在投资银行与销售及交易。他认同课程带给他很多业内所需的知识,他「也学到怎样建立商务关係,这对我的事业发展很有用,而且这些软技巧将来在工作上也会大派用场。」

周教授说:「我们的毕业生受僱率非常高,超过九成五的人毕业後三个月内都找到不错的工作。有六成毕业生投身金融服务业,其他人从事的工作有会计、顾问和一般商贸。有几位则继续进修,攻读金融学或商学。我们的课程获特许金融分析师协会认可为协会的大学附属课程(CFA Institute UAP)。」

随着全球化和与中国日益融合,很多QFIN学生选择赴海外或者中国大陆进修或汲取工作经验。课程与全球和中国的顶尖商学院建立了良好关係,大多数想参加交流计划的学生都有机会实现愿望。从这些计划中吸取到的国际经验和竞争优势绝无过誉。

任何学生面对课程种种悉心妥善的安排,都会觉得夫复何求。嘉浩也再同意不过:「这课程所给予我的远远超乎我的想像,我得到完整的大学体验,也作好準备将来投身社会成为一个专业商贸人员。如果你是高中学生,在思考怎样加入金融这个活力充沛的行业,这个有名的QFIN课程一定会令你如愿以偿!」

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

QFINN

联招编号

JS4252

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 国际生, 内地高考

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

How Do You Quantify Success?

CUHK’s Bachelor of Science in Quantitative Finance (QFIN) programme provides the financial services industry with a steady stream of finance professionals with a combination of strong quantitative and finance skills as well as a sound and balanced grasp of general business and economics.

Prof. Chow Ying-Foon, Director of the QFIN programme, said, ‘The core attributes we look for in the applicants are numerical and analytical skills and an open and inquisitive mind. We strive to instill a strong sense of professional ethics and personal integrity in our students, to develop them into all-rounded individuals with good soft skills such as interpersonal, communication and teamwork skills.’

Chuen Gahou, now in his fourth year, answered these attributes very well. He said, ‘I have always loved mathematics and economics since secondary school, and found the banking and stock markets immensely interesting, despite not having too much knowledge about them at the time. The QFIN programme struck me as one of the best paths to pursue a career in this field, since it combined my passion for numbers with my interest in finance.’

Gahou soon found that the QFIN family is a closely knit one, where he has made many lifelong friends: ‘I do not only talk with them about academic and professional matters but have also made strong personal connections with many of my peers. Apart from spending time in the classroom together, we bond in other ways and get to know each other on a deeper level. For example, we form teams to join case competitions.’

The programme has several mentorship programmes, from the buddy-buddy programme where senior-year students mentor and share experience with junior-year students, and the QFIN alumni-student mentorship programme, to the professionals-students mentorship programme. Professionals and alumni are invited back to share their thoughts and experience with current students. This helps students gain a better understanding of the industry and make wiser career choices.

‘The teachers and staff of the programme gave a lot of support to the students, both academically and professionally,’ Gahou recalled. ‘A lot of resources are provided to us when it comes to searching for internships, and paving our way towards a successful career. The professors and the staff are always ready to spend time on teaching and nurturing us to become elites in the finance field.’

The bond between current students and alumni of the programme is indeed strong. Gahou said, ‘The QFIN family is scattered in different professions in the finance industry, and those who have established themselves are all very willing to mentor and guide those still in university, providing us with great career advice.’ This strong network and sense of belonging is a distinguishing feature of the QFIN programme.

Another feature is the strong brand and reputation enjoyed by the programme and its well-established relationship with industry. Professor Chow said, ‘We have attracted the investment and support from the finance industry for the establishment of a Finance Trading Laboratory, the first of its kind in a business school, which provides to students a realistic and practical learning and research environment through the provision of live data feeds from many stock exchanges around the world.

‘Through the programme’s network and relationships, we have also attracted industry professionals to come to teach short courses on specific areas of finance, especially those fast-developing ones. This gives students access to up-to-date perspectives and thinking from practitioners which cannot be found in textbooks or other formal teaching material.’

Gahou acknowledged the richness of the learning experience offered here: ‘This programme has made me realize that there is a lot to learn outside the classroom, and see the importance of soft skills such as interpersonal and communication skills. In addition to specialized knowledge, it is even more vital to combine both hard and soft skills in order to be successful in the financial sector.’

The programme works closely with potential employers in sourcing employment opportunities and cultivates new relationships with companies. On the other hand, it provides individual and group training and counselling to the students in their preparation and search for internships and graduate jobs. Each student will have on average completed around three internships by the time he/she graduates and over 90% of them will have done at least one internship in a finance-related role or a financial services company or organization.

Gahou’s interests lie with investment banking and sales and trading. He admitted that ‘this programme has provided me with a lot of the knowledge required in this industry. I have also learnt how to make business connections which would be useful later on in my career, and can leverage on soft skills such as these in the future workplace.’

Professor Chow said, ‘Our graduates from enjoy a very high employment rate, with over 95% finding gainful occupation within three months of graduation. Around 60% of the graduating class join the financial services industry and the rest will go into accounting, consulting or general business. A few will pursue postgraduate studies in the field of finance or business. Our programme is recognized by the CFA Institute as a CFA Institute University Affiliation Program (CFA Institute UAP).’

With globalization and greater integration with China, many of the QFIN students choose to study or gain work experience overseas or in the mainland. The programme has established good relationships with top business schools around the world and the mainland and most students who wish to go on exchange have the opportunity to do so. The importance of international experience and the competitive edge gained thereby can never be overstated.

All these are more than one student in one programme can stomach. Gahou could not have agreed more: ‘This programme has given me more than I could ever have imagined, provided me with a complete university experience, and prepared me for entering into society as a business professional in the future. If you are in high school and pondering how to enter the dynamic industry of finance, the prestigious QFIN programme will certainly enable you to do so!’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

QFINN

JUPAS Code

JS4252

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, International, Mainland