往內容

本科课程

 

出入於金融与统计学

计量金融及风险管理科学课程(QFRM)每年只录取二十名新生,规模不大,但範畴和使命一点也不小。课程提供最先进的训练,涵盖範围包括工商与金融学、风险管理科学、数学、统计学,以及电算应用。课程联席主任周应峰教授说:「我们招收的是对数学、金融学和统计学有极大热诚的精英学生。很多新生都会得到中文大学、中大商学院、理学院或者书院的入学奖学金。」

宋仕宇是其中一位精英学生,这个夏天便会完成课程。仕宇说:「课程提供一个很好的平台给我们去认识业内有经验的专家。小班模式也促进学生的良好关係,有利切磋。我们连繫紧密,这点我是颇感到自豪的。大家在课业上互相帮助。独自进行的话,可能要花上更多时间。这个平台的优势和同学之间的和谐关係对我来说都是宝贵资产。」

QFRM课程包含特选题目的科目,使学生有机会学习更多金融业的最新发展。课程亦设有总结科目(Capstone course),学生可在实习中应用所学知识以解决业内迫切而普遍的问题。

课程联席主任任尚智教授说:「这是首个也是唯一为整个计量金融及商贸业而设的全面训练,亦为学生提供了一个宏观的视野去认识这个行业。我们在计量金融和风险管理科学这两方面都有很扎实的课程。我们的广阔校友网络也是冠绝同侪,惹人钦羡的。」

课程得益於中文大学金融学系和统计学系的合作。仕宇说:「我们的教授阵容鼎盛,金融学系有二十八位,统计学系有二十位,照顾我们学习所需。我们可以随时向他们请教,他们总会耐心听我们的问题,引导我们去找寻解决方法。我们还有学业辅导环节,可以从中了解在中大学习的概况和这个课程的要求。还有定期举行的茶聚,大家轻松地聚在一起,学生可以表达意见和向联席课程主任提出问题。」

仕宇继续说:「成为QFRM的一分子後,我对课程大有改观。计量金融学及风险管理学是引导你从数学角度去看金融世界的课程。其他金融课程较着重非数学一面,但这个课程不同,它完全是关於数学在金融学科内的应用,以及对其中的市场机制的认识。我相信这个课程可以令学生成长得更快。课程针对大量複杂的数学和统计学问题,学生可以从中吸取很多实际经验。」

课程既由金融学系和统计学系合办,修读的学生当然可兼得其利。任教授说:「我们有超过75%的学生参加海外学生交流计划。课程对学生的专业发展亦全力支援,在职业培训和辅导上都有投放资源。」周教授补充说:「我们全年都会组织工作坊,指导学生撰写履历和面试技巧,还安排学生与校友和业内人士的分享会,活动不胜枚举。以2016年的毕业生为例,他们毕业时每人平均已完成了三次实习工作。我们两个学系都设有师友计划,学生可参与其中一个。」

计量金融及风险管理科学课程的毕业生不论深造或者在业内发展都能应付裕馀。周教授说:「很多毕业生都继续深造,有的进了著名学府的研究院,例如伦敦帝国学院、哥伦比亚、宾夕法尼亚和柏克莱,钻研的範围有统计学、金融学和经济学等。其他毕业生则受僱於香港金融管理局、香港交易所、高盛、美林银行、德意志银行、贝莱德、微软、滙丰银行等机构和企业。」

计量金融及风险管理学课程开办於2009年,在香港相类课程中一直稳居首位。任教授对有意报读的学生有这几句说话:「你可以在中大开放日时和高年级的学生谈一下,看看我们的课程是否切合你的需要。事业路向和个人兴趣都一定要同时考虑,这有助你作正确的决定。」

仕宇同意说:「在这裏你会遇到很多有天分的学生。我喜欢那种被挑战的感觉,也很高兴看到自己在高手林立之中有进步。」他也向有兴趣的学生保证:「如果你喜欢数学,想找前途无限的职业,就应坐言起行,追随自己的决定。」

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

QFRMN

联招编号

JS4276

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 国际生, 内地高考

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

Navigating Two Seas: Finance and Statistics

The Quantitative Finance and Risk Management Science (QFRM) programme only admits 20 students each year. In terms of size it is a modest programme, but its scope and mission are anything but modest. It provides state-of-the-art training in business and finance, risk management science, mathematics, statistics, and computing applications. Prof. Chow Ying-Foon , Co-Director of QFRM, said, ‘We look for elite students with strong passion in mathematics, finance and statistics. Many of our new students are given admission scholarships by the University, the CUHK Business School, the Faculty of Science or the Colleges.’

One of these elite students is Simon Song who has completed the programme this summer. Simon said, ‘The programme gave me a very high platform from which to come to know experienced experts from the industry. The small class-size also ensures a good relationship among all the students who are generous in sharing their insights. We have a strong bonding with each other and I am quite proud of it. We will help each other with the assignments and projects which may consume too much time if attempted alone. The edge given by the platform and the harmonious relationship among students are valuable assets to me.’

QFRM incorporates courses on selected topics to provide an opportunity for the students to learn more of the latest developments in the financial industry. It also arranges capstone courses, e.g., through internship experience, that give the students a chance to put newly acquired knowledge to use to try to solve the urgent and prevalent problems in the industry.

According to Prof. Phillip Yam, Co-Director of QFRM, ‘This is the first and only programme that provides an all-rounded training and panoramic view on the whole quantitative financial and trading industry. We have two strong programmes in Quantitative Finance and in Risk Management Science. Our extensive alumni network is enviable to similar programmes in other universities.’

The programme benefits from the combined strengths of CUHK’s Department of Finance and Department of Statistics. Simon said, ‘We met great professors, 28 and 20 from Finance and Statistics, respectively, who take care of our learning needs. We can always consult them, and every time they would listen patiently to our problems and guide us towards finding a solution.’ Academic counselling sessions are held to give an overview of study at CUHK in general and the requirements of QFRM in particular. Then there are regular informal tea gatherings where students can express their views and raise questions to the programme co-directors.

Simon continued: ‘What I thought about this programme changed a lot after I became part of it. QFRM is a programme that guides you to look at the financial world from a mathematical perspective. Unlike other programmes which focus more on the non-mathematical side of finance, QFRM is all about the use of maths in the financial discipline and understanding of the underlying market mechanism. I believe QFRM can make students grow faster. This programme tackles a lot of sophisticated mathematical and statistical problems from which students will gain a host of hand-on experiences.’

As a programme jointly offered by the Department of Finance and the Department of Statistics, its students are doubly accessible to the opportunities offered by both departments. Professor Yam said, ‘Over 75% of our students have participated in overseas exchange programmes. QFRM provides strong support on professional development as well, investing resources on career coaching and counselling.’ Professor Chow added, ‘Workshops on CV writing, interview skills and sharing sessions with alumni and practitioners, among other things, are organized throughout the year. Those who graduated in 2016 had on average completed three internships by the time of graduation. The students may also join the mentorship and buddy programmes organized by either department.’

QFRM graduates are well prepared for further study or career development in the industry. Professor Chow said, ‘Many of our graduates pursued postgraduate studies in renowned institutions such as Imperial College London, Columbia, Pennsylvania and Berkeley in areas such as Statistics, Finance and Economics. Others are employed by institutions and companies such as the Hong Kong Monetary Authority, HKEx, Goldman Sachs, Bank of America Merrill Lynch, Deutsche Bank, BlackRock, Microsoft, HSBC, etc.’

Established in 2009, QFRM is consistently ranked top among the quantitatively related programmes in Hong Kong. Professor Yam has this advice for the prospective students: ‘Talk with the senior students during the Open Day of CUHK in October and see if our programme fits your needs. Always think of both your career path and your interests, which can help you make the right decision.’

Simon concurred: ‘You can meet a lot of talented students here. I like the feeling of being challenged and am happy to see my progress when among strong competitors.’ He also assured those who are interested: ‘If you like maths and are looking for a promising career, you should go ahead with your choice.’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

QFRMN

JUPAS Code

JS4276

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, International, Mainland