往內容

本科课程

 

关怀服务,改变生命

莊艳萍关心时事和弱势社群,服务社会不遗馀力。四年前她选择大学主修学科时,中文大学的社会工作课程当然是她的首选。

中大的社会工作课程创办於1964年,是香港历史最悠久的专业社会工作课程,数十年来致力培育有热诚而且关心社会公义和弱势社群的年轻人。

课程毕业生将合资格按照社会工作者註册修例註册为社会工作者。

艳萍最欣赏课程的优质培训。「我们接受的培训很全面,涵盖了社会科学知识、社会工作理论,以及分析社会现象所需的技巧。」她续说:「经过专业训练,我们都很有信心,準备好毕业後在社会福利或其他服务。」

课程并非只着重学生的学业成绩和前途,学系也关心学生的个人成长。除了一般的堂课外,学生可参加研习班、小组讨论和角色扮演活动。学生亦必须在指导下在前线机构完成实习,把课堂学习和实践结合。此外,学系还设有交换计划和海外实习工作计划,学生有机会前往加拿大、新加坡、台湾和中国大陆学习或工作,认识世界其他地方的社会福利议题,开阔眼界。

艳萍说:「其他系的朋友时常问我:『你们的教授和同学的关係为何能这样紧密?』我们的三十一位老师,永远欢迎同学找他们谈话,上课和课馀时都不拘。和他们的话对我们很有启发性,对我们求学和做人都很有帮助。」

艳萍和同学的关係也很融洽。「我们组织学习小组,在大考和实习工作这些艰苦时期互相扶持。除了在学业上互相切磋,大家也有很多美好的相聚时光,例如庆祝圣诞节,筹组迎新营等。同班同学以至学长等,就有如我的兄弟姊妹。」

社会工作学系系主任倪锡钦教授认为学系的和谐来自大家尽心尽力建立的网络。他解释说,每名新生都获配一位老师作学业辅导老师,师生二人须在一年级时一起上「学生为本教学课程」。学生得以从课程中仔细回顾自己的成长、省察修读社会工作的热诚,以及评估适应大学学习的进度。

此外,社会工作学系系会成立了「家庭制度」,每名新生获安排一位高年级学生作夥伴。新生信任学长,可以更快适应大学生活。社会工作校友会每年也组织师友计划,由资深社会工作者校友指导学生,加深他们对社会工作的了解。这个连结学生、老师和校友的网络坚固而广阔,本科学生自然得益不浅。

艳萍读了四年,知识丰富了,信心也增强。「我对自己的了解也比以前多了。」她回想:「和同学一起成长,得到老师的帮助,也得益於优良的课程设计,我觉得自己变得更成熟,更有信心和热诚,对自己的长处和短处也了解得更多。我已準备好随时帮助弱势社群。」

就像大多数的毕业生,艳萍的目标是毕业後成为社会工作者或者从事社会福利的工作。倪教授补充说:「有部分毕业生成为教育工作者和在大学裏从事研究工作,其他毕业生也在非社会工作的领域发展得很好。他们对社会的贡献有目共睹。」

倪教授告诉有意报读社会工作的学生,只要他们立志服务人和社会,中学时读甚麽科目都不是问题。他保證说:「有些申请人担心未必有能力为弱势社群服务或者为社会带来改变。不过正如谚语所说:『大橡树由小橡果长成』。我们的课程能够培养学生成为称职的社会工作者,有民胞物与的精神,为社会公义和社群福利孜孜不倦服务,我们很有信心。」

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

SOWKN

联招编号

JS4874

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 国际生, 内地高考

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

To Care, to Serve, and to Change Lives

Being sensitive to current social affairs and the underprivileged, Chong Yim-ping has always been enthusiastic in serving the society. The Social Work programme at CUHK was clearly Yim-ping’s first choice when she was choosing her major four years ago.

The Social Work programme at CUHK, established in 1964, is the professional social work course with longest history in Hong Kong. The Programme strives to nurture passionate youths who care about social justice and the needs of the disadvantaged.

Upon graduation, students are eligible to be registered as social workers under the Social Workers Registration Ordinance.

What impressed Yim-ping the most was the quality training that the Programme provided. ‘The training was comprehensiveit encompasses social science knowledge, social work theories, and the skills needed to analyze social phenomena,’ she said, ‘With the professional training from the Social Work programme, we firmly believe that we are well-equipped to take up positions in social welfare or other related fields after graduation.’

The academic performance and career prospects of students are not the Programme’s only concerns. The Department also cares about students’ personal growth. In addition to ordinary lectures, students can also participate in seminars, group discussions and role playing activities. The curriculum requires the students to finish supervised practicum in field agencies so as to integrate classroom learning with practice. Other than local training, exchange programmes and non-local placement opportunities in Canada, Singapore, Taiwan and mainland China are available to the students as well, helping them to gain insight into social welfare issues at the global level.

“‘Friends from other departments always asked me, ‘How could your professors be so close with students?’” said Yim-ping, ‘Our teachers, 31 in total, always welcome students to talk to them, inside and outside classroom. The dialogues were inspiring—both academically and non-academically.’

To Yim-ping, a close relationship is not limited to her teachers; it extends to her classmates as well. ‘We formed study groups, and supported each other during tough periods such as final examinations and placement. Other than academic exchanges, we also share many lovely memories together, like celebrating Christmas and organizing orientation camps. Classmates or even senior students are like siblings to me in this programme.’

Prof. Steven Ngai, Chairperson of Department of Social Work, attributed the harmony in the Programme to the networks they have put so much effort to build. He explained that each freshman will be assigned a teacher as his/her academic advisor, and students with the same advisor will take a course entitled ‘Student-oriented Teaching’ together in Year 1. In the course, students are given opportunity to have in-depth reflection on their personal growth, passion in studying social work, and adjustment to university studies.

Also, the Social Work Student Society established a ‘family system’ in which each freshman is partnered with a senior fellow. Having trustful relationships with senior students, the freshmen can tune in and enjoy their university life as soon as possible. Furthermore, the Social Work Alumni Association organizes Mentorship Programme every year. Alumni who are leaders in social work profession would be the mentors to enhance the students’ understanding of the career of a social worker. The solid and extensive network across students, teachers and alumni enable students to make the most out of their undergraduate years.

After spending four years in the Programme, Yim-ping has gained more knowledge and confidence. ‘I could understand myself a lot better than before,’ she recalled, ‘Through growing with my peers, getting assistance from my teachers and benefitting from the well-designed curriculum, I have become a more mature, confident and passionate person. I have a better understanding of my strengths and weaknesses, and I am ready to assist the disadvantaged in no time.’

Like most of the graduates, Yim-ping is aiming to work as a social worker or in social welfare field upon graduation. Professor Ngai added, ‘A number of them are educators and researchers in universities. Others may also work successfully in other non-social work sectors. Their contributions are often highly regarded by the community.’

Professor Ngai also reminded students that as long as they are committed to serving people and the community, what they studied in secondary school is not of big concern to the Programme. Professor Ngai assured, “Some applicants may worry that they might not have the ability to serve the disadvantaged groups or make positive changes to the society. However, as the old adage goes, ‘Great oaks from little acorns grow’. We are confident that our social work programme will prepare our students to develop into competent social workers who embrace humanistic values and passions for serving, and strive for social justice and the well-being of people in the society.”

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

SOWKN

JUPAS Code

JS4874

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, International, Mainland