往內容

本科課程

 

香港中文大學翻譯系乃全亞洲首個翻譯學系, 多年來致力培育人才,投身各行各業。本科課程內容全面,循序漸進,學生得以廣汲知識,開闊視野,將來自能成為稱職可靠的譯者。課程涵蓋多個領域,包括文學翻譯、法律翻譯、商業翻譯、字幕翻譯、傳譯、翻譯研究及電腦輔助翻譯。教學內容理論與實踐並重,學生根基扎實,日後或繼續升學,或從事筆譯、傳譯、法律、商業、出版、傳媒、政府、教育等方面的工作,均能展現過人優勢,無往不利。

翻譯之得

非常出乎麥思棋意料之外,她發覺報讀的翻譯課程遠遠不是把一種語文轉換成另一種語文那麼簡單。「『翻譯』這個名詞看起來就不過是學習中英語文技巧的意思。我的確對這兩種語文都有興趣,也想學習其他學科的知識。報讀後,我發覺這個課程不但磨練學生的語文技巧,而且讓學生洞察文化精妙之處,涵蓋範圍既多,知識亦廣。翻譯可以增進知識真令我意想不到。」

這正是課程的理念。翻譯系系主任王宏志教授說:「我們訓練精通語文的人才之外,也在培育全才。翻譯系的學生要掌握實際的技巧和嚴謹的思辨能力,還有傳承文化的決心和國際視野。我們的畢業生是飽受訓練的雙語和多文化人才,他們都具備這些本領。」

課程理論和實踐並重,亦相輔相成。理論課着重翻譯的學術層面,從知識上訓練學生把翻譯作為學術科目探討,從而培養他們深造的興趣。課程還提供大量專門範疇的實踐課,包括文學、藝術、商業、法律、社會科學、科學,以及字幕翻譯,還有同聲傳譯、接續傳譯和法庭傳譯的嚴格訓練。

思棋最感興趣的是實踐課。「課程引導我們從新的角度去看其他學科,並不是只限於教授和學習翻譯技巧。舉例說,科技翻譯便是學習科學知識的機會。翻譯牽涉的範圍非常多,我們翻譯時要做背景研究,搜集資料,從中得益很大。」

中大翻譯系成立於1972年,是亞洲首創。學系老師來自不同文化和學術背景,長於研究,亦各有專業。學系置有特別設計的語言實驗室,供教授和學習傳譯之用,另有裝備最新軟件的電腦室,以及電腦輔助翻譯的設備。

另外深得思棋之心的是學系的老師和同學。「我和很多同輩朋友一樣,擔心大學教授難以親近,要求也高。但我遇到的教授全都非常和藹可親──全班學生的名字,就算很少發言的學生,他們全部記得。他們平易近人,努力認識每一個學生,真令我欣賞。」

在思棋眼中,同學都是「有熱誠,求知慾強,容易相處」的人。「他們非常熱衷學習翻譯技巧。有些同學告訴我打算專攻文學翻譯和法律翻譯,能夠有特別專長的翻譯範圍可神氣哩。他們的求知慾和對翻譯研究的熱誠都令人佩服。同學全都很友善和斯文,而且隨時樂於幫我一把。」

經驗學習是組成翻譯課程的重要部分。學系設有傳譯服務推薦制度,推薦學生做大學會議或學術會議的傳譯員,受僱學生可獲劃一的合理薪酬。其他短期工作機會則上載於學系網頁的工作欄。

學生也可以按自己興趣自由選擇副修學科,外語是最受歡迎的選項之一。「我發覺從課程中學到的翻譯知識對學習一種新語言特別有用。」

翻譯系學生的學業成績一般都不錯,中英雙語文水準高,對語文和文化興趣濃厚。香港中學文憑試成績優異的學生可獲獎學金,每年在同級中成績平均積點最高者更可獲頒發學業表現優異獎。

如果你不知道自己是否適合讀翻譯,聽聽王教授怎樣說:「我們有些畢業生從事翻譯工作,其他很多在不同行業和領域發展,例如政府、教育、金融、出版、營銷、管理、公關等。畢業生也可以選擇在本地或者海外大學深造翻譯或其他學科,取得碩士或博士學位。」

刊登時間:2017年 夏
最後更新:2019年 夏

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

Gained in Translation

Much to her surprise, Annie Mak discovered that the Translation programme she signed up for was far more than about converting one language into another. “The name ‘translation’ itself seems to suggest the mere learning of linguistic skills concerning Chinese and English. Interested in these languages as I was, I also wanted to acquire the knowledge of other disciplines. After enrolling in this programme, I find that it not only nurtures students’ language skills, but also provides captivating cultural insight and a wide range of knowledge covering many fields. That translation can help enrich one’s knowledge somewhat surprises me.”

This is in agreement with the thinking behind the programme, as Prof. Lawrence Wong, Chairman of the Department of Translation, said, ‘We offer training that makes students become an all-rounder in addition to someone proficient in languages. We aim to help students develop practical skills, critical thinking, a commitment to cultural heritage and an international outlook. These are the capabilities essential for our graduates, trained to be bilingual and multi-cultural talents.’

The programme strives for a balanced coverage of theoretical and practical components. Theory courses present the academic aspect of translation, providing students with intellectual training for approaching translation as an academic discipline, thus nurturing their interest in pursuance of further studies in the field. Practical courses are offered on an exceptionally wide range of specialized areas, such as literature, arts, business, laws, social science, science and subtitling, and provide strong training in simultaneous interpreting, consecutive interpreting and court interpreting.

The practical side is what appeals to Annie the most. ‘This programme has offered students new perspectives into other disciplines, not confined to the teaching and learning of translation skills. Science and technology translation, for example, gives us an opportunity to learn scientific knowledge. Translation incorporates so many different fields of study that we can benefit much from the background research.’

Established in 1972, the Department of Translation at CUHK was the first of its kind in Asia. It features a teaching faculty with members from diverse cultural and academic backgrounds, with strong research and professional expertise. It is equipped with specially designed language laboratories for the teaching and learning of interpreting, and a computer room with up-to-date software and facilities for computer-aided translation.

Another thing that wins Annie’s heart was the amiability of the Department’s faculty and students. ‘Like many of my peers, I imagined and worried about university professors being unapproachable and demanding. Yet the professors I have met are all very friendly. They would memorize the names of all students in class. Even for students who seldom talk to them, they could still remember their names. I am really appreciative of our professors’ efforts and willingness to know each of us.’

As to her fellow students, Annie described them as ‘passionate, curious and easy-going’. ‘They are incredibly enthusiastic about acquiring translation skills. Some told me that they were about to take up literary translation and legal translation. It feels cool to them to be able to specialize in a certain area of translation. Their intellectual curiosity and passion for translation studies are very impressive. My fellow students are also friendly and gentle, always willing to give me a helping hand.’

Experiential learning forms an important part of the Translation programme. The Department has an interpreting services referral system. Students are referred to serve at University meetings or academic conferences as interpreters, and paid at a standardized and reasonable rate. Other short-term job opportunities are posted on the ‘Job Board’ on the Department’s website.

Students are free to pursue minor courses according to their interests, and foreign language is among the most popular choices. ‘I found that translation knowledge acquired from this programme is particularly useful for picking up a new language!’ remarked Annie.

Like her, students of Translation typically came with good academic results, high proficiency in English and Chinese, and keen interest in languages and cultures. Admission scholarships are offered to students with outstanding DSE results, while Academic Performance Awards are awarded to those with the highest year GPA in their respective cohorts.

If you are not sure about what you can do with a Translation degree, Professor Wong has this advice to offer: ‘Some of our graduates work as translators, while most work in different sectors and fields like the government, education, finance, publishing, marketing, management, public relations, etc. Graduates may also pursue further studies in MA, MPhil or PhD programmes at local or overseas universities, in Translation or other disciplines.’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

TRANN

JUPAS Code

JS4123

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, Non-JUPAS Senior Year Entry, International, Mainland