往內容

本科課程

 

城巿研究課程是一門四年制跨學科社會科學學士課程,適合有興趣探討一日千里的全球城巿化過程以及認識各種複雜的城巿生活形態及其挑戰的學生修讀。這門跨學科課程讓同學透過探討不同學術派別的理論、運用城巿分析的方法和技巧,及認識都市可持續發展、規劃與設計的最佳範例,廣闊而深入地探究城巿的性質及互動性。

本課程旨在培養學生明白及意識到不同地理尺度的歷史、文化、環境、社會政治及經濟力量如何塑造他們的城巿經驗;課程並會裝備學生投身不同行業,並培育他們能以獨特和跨領域的角度去探索及理解都巿議題,以及為香港、大灣區以及其他地區理出可持續發展的方案。

城市漫遊者

漫遊者是在城市內信步閒遊的人,因細味景物而自有體會。據文化評論家本杰明(1892–1940)所言,城市漫遊者是在城市內隨意閒逛而着迷於城市動態和姿彩的人。中文大學的城市研究課程每年錄取大約二十名準漫遊者,培養他們成為未來的棟樑之才,以可持續發展的途徑來解決城市化的問題。

葉浩洋是課程的畢業生,最喜愛城市漫遊。他選擇這個課程是因為可以學習怎樣仔細觀察城市,探討怎樣運用創意來解決城市問題。他喜歡課程多樣而全面的教學方法:如課堂、導修、考察和在工作室的學習等。「我覺得兩次海外考察的經驗最寶貴。我們不但可以向外國學者學習,也可以在不同城市漫遊,進行實地研究。」

修讀城市研究課程之前,浩洋寄望找到紓解環境問題的不二法門;現在他知道城市比他想像的複雜得多。不同地區的城市因人口結構、經濟狀況、政治等因素而各有問題,沒有一個萬能的方法可以一致處理。

課程主任伍美琴教授說:「這個課程有助學生提高觀察城市的能力,使他們具備了解城市的概念和技巧,從而把城市建設為較宜居的地方。」學生可從課程中接觸不同派別思想的理論視角,以及學習對城市作嚴謹分析的技巧和技術,還有認識世界最佳可持續城市發展、管治和規劃及設計的背後理念,從而深入地研究城市的本質和動態。

浩洋很喜歡班上的學習氣氛。「大多數同學都很用功,他們花多點時間在研究上,爭取好成績,當然,看到結果便知道是絕對值得這樣做的!」小組研究一點也不容易,最後得到美滿成果,其中的喜悅非筆墨所能形容。他補充說:「我們共享學習資源,時常討論,學業上和其他事情無所不談,很有意思。我也很喜歡和同學到外地一起觀察城市的時光。那是我大學生活裏非常難忘的經歷。」

為繼續學業作好準備,二年級學生可從下列四個專修範圍中選擇主修:

  • 城市規劃和設計
  • 城市環境
  • 城市政治與管治
  • 永續‧智慧城市

城市研究課程由建築學院和地理與資源管理學系合辦,學生除了研習城市發展理論外,也磨練領會城市美感所需技巧、技術和能力。

「我的志願是成為城市規劃師,所以選了城市規劃與設計作主修,學習規劃理論的基本知識,並提升操作城市規劃與設計電腦軟件的技術。我希望可以為改善香港和其他地區現時的生活環境作出貢獻。」

此課程藉經驗學習擴闊學生的視野,例如為學生提供城市規劃和環境保護專業內的實習。學生可從這些實際經驗中找出自己的事業發展路向,也可為畢業論文或計劃作準備。在2016至17年度,奧雅納工程顧問公司為城市研究課程的高年級學生設立獎學金,每學年頒發一次,獲獎者可得一萬五千港元,並可在奧雅納作為期八星期的全職暑期實習。

為了擴闊學生對其他國家及其規劃系統的視野和經驗,城市研究課程與謝菲爾德大學城市研究與規劃系開展了交換生計劃,該大學是英國其中一間開辦獲英國皇家城市規劃學會(RTPI)認證規劃課程的頂尖院校。雙方的交換生可以選擇作一個學期或一年的交流。

城市研究課程的第三批畢業生於2017至18年度完成學業。根據課程於2018年7月進行的調查,半數回答者表示會繼續在香港或英國升學,在城市規劃、城市更新、景觀建築等建成環境領域內深造,其他領域包括電視、電影、數碼媒體;其中一人最近取得梁紹鴻休斯學院獎學金,現時在英國劍橋大學攻讀規劃、增長、更新(Planning, Growth and Regeneration) 哲學碩士學位。其餘人等均已就業。伍教授解釋:「畢業生的事業發展各有不同。更有些人受僱於非政府組織做推廣工作。」

解決問題的辦法從仔細觀察和在地知識中得來。世界已非常專門化,綜合零碎的問題作全盤分析有助提升解難能力。伍教授說:「城市問題往往很棘手,要以創意和突破性思維去尋找解決辦法。學生從這個跨科課程得到的知識和技能有助他們在公營、私營和志願團體發展事業。」

浩洋歡迎多些漫遊者加入城市研究課程的大家庭。他說:「首先你要很喜歡城市,這是學習誘因之一。其次是你要有主動性和好奇心,觀察城市現象和環境,然後提出問題。你在課堂和在海外考察學習到的知識,會改變你對城市的看法!」

刊登時間:2017年 夏
最後更新:2019年 夏

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

The Urban Studies Programme is a four-year undergraduate interdisciplinary programme that leads to a Bachelor of Social Science degree. It is designed for students who have an interest in exploring the complexities and challenges of the rapidly evolving urban world, the global urbanization processes and the various strands of urbanism. The interdisciplinary Programme enables students to inquire broadly and deeply into the nature and dynamics of cities through the theoretical perspectives of different schools of thoughts, the rigorous application of skills and techniques for urban analysis, and the contextual learning of the world’s best practices in sustainable urban development, planning and design.

The Programme aims to develop students’ awareness and understanding of how their own urban experiences are shaped by broader historical, cultural, environmental, socio-political and economic forces at different geographical scales. The Programme will prepare students for a wide range of careers and will equip them with a uniquely interdisciplinary perspective on investigating and understanding urban issues and developing sustainable solutions to developmental challenges found in Hong Kong, the Greater Bay Area and beyond.

Urban Flâneur

A flâneur is the one who saunters around town, and taking more of things. According to the cultural critic Walter Benjamin (1892–1940), an urban flâneur is a casual stroller through the city enthralled by its dynamism and diversity. CUHK’s Urban Studies programme (URSP) admits around 20 prospective flâneurs each year, and grooms them to be future urban leaders who take upon urbanization challenges with sustainable measures.

Jackin Yip, a recent URSP graduate, is fond of city-roaming. He chose URSP as it would offer him the lens to read cities, and more importantly, enable him to explore some innovative solutions for the urban issues. He likes the programme’s diverse pedagogical approach—from lectures, tutorials, field trips to studio-based learning. ‘I find the two overseas field trips the most valuable. Not only did we learn from the overseas scholars, we also sauntered in the cities and conducted empirical research there.’

Before entering URSP, Jackin simply wished to find the magic formula to remedy the worsening environmental problems in cities. Now he realizes that cities are much more complicated and heterogeneous than he had expected. There is no one-size-fits-all approach to address the urban problems because of their regional variation in demographics, economic status, policies, etc.

‘URSP aims to help students develop a capacity to read cities, and equips them with concepts and skills to understand the urban realm and make it a better place for the humankind,’ remarked Prof. Mee Kam Ng, Director of URSP. The programme enables students to inquire broadly and deeply into the nature and dynamics of cities through the theoretical perspectives of different schools of thoughts, the rigorous application of skills and techniques for urban analysis, and the contextual learning of the world’s best practices in sustainable urban development, governance, planning and design.

The learning atmosphere in the URSP community impresses Jackin. ‘Most of my classmates are diligent. We love to spend extra time on research in order to perfect our assignments and, of course, the result is worth our effort!’ The joy of applying knowledge and seeing results in challenging group research assignments is beyond description. He added, ‘We share learning resources, and always engage in fruitful discussions on academic and non-academic matters. I also enjoy the time observing some overseas cities with my field trippers. This is one of the most unforgettable moments in my university life.’

To better prepare for further studies, students may choose to declare their concentration out of four specialized streams at the end of their second year of studies

  • Urban Planning and Design
  • Urban Environment
  • Urban Policy and Governance
  • Smart Sustainable Cities

Jointly organized by the School of Architecture and the Department of Geography and Resource Management, URSP not just teaches students urban development theories but also equip them with skills, techniques and abilities to appreciate the importance of aesthetics in directing urban development towards a sustainable future.

‘As I aspire to be an urban planner, I have chosen the concentration of urban planning and design to equip myself with the basics on planning theories and some technical skills in using software for urban planning and design uses. I hope to contribute to the improving of the existing living conditions of Hong Kong and other regions,’ said Jackin.

URSP is dedicated to widening its students’ perspectives with experiential learning such as interning in professional practices including urban planning and environmental protection practices. These real-life experiences offer students opportunities to explore their potential career pathways and prepare themselves for their capstone theses/projects. In 2016–17, the East Asia Community Engagement Committee of Ove Arup & Partners Hong Kong Limited (Arup) established the Arup Scholarship for senior URSP students. There will be one award each academic year, comprising a scholarship of HK$15,000 and an eight-week paid full-time summer internship with Arup.

To broaden students’ international exposure and experience of different planning systems, URSP has developed an exchange programme with the Department of Urban Studies and Planning at the University of Sheffield which is one of the top RTPI accredited planning schools in UK. Selected students from both institutions can choose to stay for one term or the whole academic year.

The third batch of URSP graduates completed their studies in 2017-18. The programme conducted a survey in July 2018. Half of the respondents indicated that they would pursue further studies either in Hong Kong or United Kingdom in fields related to the built environment including urban planning, urban regeneration, landscape architecture as well as film, television and digital media.One of them received the Edwin S H Leong Hughes Hall Scholarshipand is now completing an MPhil in Planning, Growth and Regeneration at The University of Cambridge. The rest of them are employed. ‘The career paths of our graduates are diverse. Some of them are engaged in advocacy work in NGOs,’ Professor Ng explained.

Solutions originate from detailed observation and place-based knowledge. In a highly-specialized world, an integrated understanding of fragmented issues helps us develop sharp analytical and problem solving skills. ‘After all, urban issues are often wicked problems demanding creative and out-of-the-box solutions. The knowledge and skills acquired in the interdisciplinary programme will allow students to be marketable in the public, private and third sectors,’ said Professor Ng.

Jackin welcomes more flâneurs to join the URSP family. Here are his tips: ‘You should have a keen interest in cities as it is part of your learning motivation. Second, be active and curious enough to raise questions on urban phenomena and environmental issues you’ve observed. What you learn in URSP and experience from the overseas field trips will change your perception towards cities!’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2019