往內容

本科课程

 

建築者言

建築学是组织空间的学问,小至楼房内部,大至区域设计,都是其範围。建築必须以人为本,务求建築物与环境融和,方可展示设计的艺术和科学特色,而设计原则以人在其中是否舒适称意为主。

中文大学於1991年成立建築学系,2009年升格为建築学院,多年来致力培育学生的基本技能和严谨的思辨能力,从而磨练出设计创意和领导才能,为建築环境及其社区作出持久的贡献。「我们的学生不只是接受建築业训练,而是要成为未来的专才和领袖,有能力去适应不可避免的变化。」学院院长陈丙骅教授说。

建築学的核心课程由六个设计工作室组成,按步递进,辅以人文、技术、电脑辅助设计和专业实践等科目。陈教授补充说:「这个组合可培育学生的基本功,为他们到建築公司实习作準备。工作室课程和必修科相辅相成,学生由掌握基本概念开始,逐步认识较複杂的建築设计,最後的工作室则把之前所学融会贯通,再应用在综合性的建築设计项目之上,可以说是毕业前的作业。」

Helen Kwok自建築学院毕业,她学会了怎样去分析、了解和改良建成环境的设计。「在学院的头两年,我们只知道学科的大概。到第三和第四年,我受到启发,构思了自己的设计概念,製作了一个建築模型。更重要的是我已有足够信心向评论员和行内专业人士介绍自己的概念。」

学院的多元教学法使Helen学到建築学的基本知识。她的建築学历史和理论知识除了在堂课上学得外,还有就是按自己进度在建築学图书馆内的自修。这个图书馆每天二十四小时开放。她在製木工作坊也掌握了结构和建造的概念。「课程的充裕学习资源对我们非常有用:电脑实验室的数码製作、实地考察去认识城市设计的概念,以至教授在工作室内就我们的设计项目的仔细评论等等,都使我们获益良多。」

她最难忘设计工作室的经验:「导师时常提醒我们,必须积极参与整个工作室学习。说到底,建築就是对话,建築师是一个沟通者。他们提出对话,谈城市设计的问题,并小心聆听社会的反应。」除了参考前例,Helen也从自己对空间感觉的经验出发作思考,以了解空间运用和文化背景之间的关係。「好几位客席评论员的意见很宝贵,我要谢谢他们。我也学会使用数码3D造型、製作透视图和动画、电脑辅助设计等非常实用的建築知识。」

Helen很喜欢建築学院这个多元文化的学习天地。学院的非本地学生来自印尼、南韩、台湾和中国等等。她发觉与这些非本地生的交流能思考自己的价值观,十分有意思。「我也很欣赏本地同学敏锐的文化触觉,他们可以把自己的独特观察和感性融入设计裏。有时候他们可以藉自己的作品表达社会议题和前瞻未来。」

学院与海外著名学府互设有学生交换计划和联合工作室。Helen说:「很多同学参加学院的暑期外遊计划,部分费用从旅遊奖学基金中得到资助。」陈教授接着说:「以2014年为例,我们和我的母校哈佛有一个联合城市设计工作室。我们顶尖的5%至10%学生 和哈佛、耶鲁、剑桥、伦敦大学学院的巴拉德建築学院等世界一流大学的学生相比毫不逊色。我们有一位来自巴拉德的访问教授Colin Fournier,他说中文大学最好的学生和他在英国教过的学生一样优秀。我们的学生都专心致志,努力不懈,而且关心社会。」

陈教授说:「我们欢迎有志於建築的学生报读。他们应是对周遭的世界抱有好奇心,喜欢观察和描述具体而实在的事物。他们应该喜欢分析、发明和製造有形和立体的事物:从无到有、从概念到实物。他们也应该持有不偏不倚的严谨思辨能力,渴望去探索及实验各种设计方法,并且学习把自己的概念向人表达。」

中文大学大部分建築学院毕业生取得建築学硕士学位後都会从事建築行业或相关的专业工作。据学院的统计数字,超过80%的毕业生投身建築、测量或建造业。只有不足10%的毕业生继续进修,主要深造建築学、园景设计或城市规划,以取得哲学硕士或博士学位。

「香港位处中国和亚洲的中心,而区域内的城市正以前所未有的速度在转变,变化之大也是前所未有,所以要修读建築学和从事这个专业,香港是不二之选,现在也是最合适的时候。我们的毕业生面对无数机遇,他们既有理想,亦有能力,设计的建築物和城市外观美丽,与环境融和,为这个时代塑造一个更美好的世界。」

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

ARCHN

联招编号

JS4812

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 非联招(高年级入学), 国际生, 内地高考

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

Architecturally Speaking

Architecture is about spatial organization ranging from interiors of buildings to regional planning. At the heart of architecture is human occupation. The art and science of an architectural response is to make appropriate use of space and to assure the spatial strategies are towards the betterment of human occupation.

Founded in 1991, the Department of Architecture was upgraded to the School of Architecture in 2009, with a firm commitment to developing its students’ core competency and critical thinking in order to achieve design creativity and leadership that enable lasting contributions to the built environment and its community. ‘Our students are not simply trained to join the architectural profession, but educated for the future profession—with the ability to cope with inevitable changes by continuing to learn and eventually to lead,’ said Prof. Nelson Chen, Director of the School.

The core of the programme consists of six design studios structured in a sequential manner, in addition to courses in the humanities, technology, design computation and professional practice. Professor Chen added, ‘This combination provides students with the basics in preparation for their practicums in architectural firms. Studio courses are aligned with required courses to enable students to start from fundamental concepts and advance progressively to more complex issues in architectural design, culminating in a final studio that integrates previous knowledge and themes into a comprehensive capstone architectural design project.’

Helen Kwok is a graduate of the School of Architecture. She has learnt how to analyse, understand and improve the design of the built environment. ‘The first two years of my studies were like a glimpse into the discipline. In the third and fourth years, I was inspired to develop my own design idea and create my own architectural models. More importantly, I became confident enough to present my concepts to reviewers and working professionals.’

The multi-faceted pedagogical approach of the School has equipped Helen with the essentials of architecture. She learnt the history and theories of architecture from lectures and her self-paced study in the Architecture Library which is open 24/7. The wood-making workshops also gave her an idea of structure and construction. ‘The programme has benefited us tremendously with its ample learning resources—from digital fabricating in the computer laboratory, conducting site visits to acquiring urban design concepts, to desk-critiquing our design projects in the studio.’

She was deeply impressed by the design studio experience. ‘The instructors always reminded us of the importance of active participation in the entire studio learning. After all, architecture is a dialogue. An architect is also a communicator who initiates a dialogue on urban design and listens to society’s responses.’ In addition to examining precedents, Helen also engaged in processes which evolved from her own spatial experience, toward an understanding of the relationship between the spatial use and cultural context. ‘I appreciated the valuable comments from some of the guest critics. I’ve also acquired design computation skills through the use of digital 3D modelling, rendering and animation, which are very practical for architects.’

Helen enjoyed the rapport in the multicultural learning community. Some non-locals were from Indonesia, South Korea, Taiwan and mainland China. She found the cross-cultural dialogues with them meaningful as their life attitudes inspired her to reflect on her own values. ‘I also appreciated the cultural sensitivity of the locals, as they were able to put their unique observations and sentiments into their designs. They sometimes addressed social issues or envisioned the future through their works.’

The School has a number of exchange programmes and joint studios with leading overseas institutions. Helen said, ‘Many classmates participated in summer travel programmes offered by the School. Travel expenses are partially offset with travel scholarship funds.’ Professor Chen continued, ‘In 2014, for example, we had a joint urban design studio with Harvard, my alma mater. The top 5-10% of our students are on a par with any from the top schools worldwide—Harvard, Yale, Cambridge, Bartlett School at University College London. Colin Fournier, a visiting professor from the Bartlett, said the best students at CUHK are as good as any he had taught in the UK. Our students are devoted, hardworking and committed to social agendas.’

Professor Chen said, ‘We welcome prospective students with an innate curiosity about the world around them, especially in terms of observing and describing its physical and material aspects. They should enjoy analysing, inventing and the making of tangible, three-dimensional elements from idea to realization. They should welcome independent creative thinking, aspire to exploring and experimenting different approaches to design, while learning to present and share their ideas with others.’

The majority of CUHK’s architectural graduates continue to work in architecture or related professions after completing their master’s degrees in architecture. According to the figures provided by the School, well over 80% stay within architecture, surveying or construction. Just below 10% continue further studies such as MPhil or PhD, mostly in architecture, landscape or urbanism.

‘There is no more exceptional time and place to study and practice architecture and urban design than now in Hong Kong, situated at the heart of the region in China and Asia where 21st century cities are changing and growing with unprecedented speed and scale. Our graduates will be challenged to become both visionary and grounded in order to design buildings and cities both beautifully and responsibly while striving to shape a better world for their generation,’ Professor Chen concluded.

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

ARCHN

JUPAS Code

JS4812

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, Non-JUPAS Senior Year Entry, International, Mainland