往內容

本科课程

 

新合成 新精英

今时今日,全球环境瞬息万变,商业和法律协作频繁,环环相扣,日益普遍。新一代专业人士必须有更深入和综合的知识,不可囿於某一传统学科。

商学和法律学是两门关联紧密的学科 , 商界和法律界的专业人士如能对商业和法律两方面的框架、限制和机会都有认识,且能融会贯通,将会非常有利。

为了切合这需要,中文大学工商管理学院和法律学院联手开办工商管理学士(工商管理综合课程)及法律博士双学位课程(BBA-JD)。这是个精英课程,为学生提供一个精心设计的跨学科教育环境,而且商学和法学均衡并重。课程结合了两个学院的强项,相辅相成,学生获得重要的知识和实务技能,可在这领域作出重大贡献。

BBA-JD课程联席主任罗敏威博士说:「我们期望报读的学生有广阔的视野,对商学和法学都有学习的热诚。他们应该有良好的表达和分析技能,也要有贡献社会之心。课程会视乎合资格申请人的学业成绩及其他表现,考虑颁发入学奖学金。」

法律学院的Stuart Hargreaves教授是课程主任,他说:「我们计划每年录取大约四十名新生。打算报读的学生必须熟悉时事,也要有些基本的法律学和商学知识,这样读起来才会事半功倍。」

BBA-JD课程的学生在头三年会修读几项本科法律科目,按部就班学习主要的法律概念。到了四年级会集中研习专业法律,对勤敏好学者来说也是挑战。

中大商学院和法律学院都拥有一流的教学设施和学生发展小组,还有强大的网上资源,可以支援及充分提升学生的学习体验。这个课程亦受惠於商学院的一百四十多位和法律学院的四十五位老师。两学院更为学生安排综合顾问服务,在他们求学期间提供学业发展指导及生活上的关顾。

BBA-JD是亚洲首个同类课程,同时是个糅合商学和法学的本科/研究生双学位课程。学生可用五年时间取得两个学位,如分别攻读两个课程则需时六年。

罗博士说:「BBA-JD课程设计灵活,学生可选择在第四年毕业,取得工商管理学士学位,或者工商管理学士学位并副修法学,这样他们便可以按自己兴趣、长处和需要而调整修业模式。

「BBA-JD课程的学生如果在头四年获得中大全费入学奖学金,商学院会在他们的第五年提供附加的全费奖学金。」

除了学术训练外,BBA-JD课程的学生还有很多机会体验课堂以外的各种各样学习,例如商学院、法律学院、大学和书院提供的实习工作、海外交流、师友活动和创业计划。

为了扩大毕业後的就业选择,BBA-JD学生可以按个人兴趣选择专修範围,扩阔其商业知识基础。下列十个工商管理综合课程专修範围可供自由选择:

  • 商业分析学
  • 商业经济学
  • 综合财务学
  • 金融工程学
  • 保险及风险管理学
  • 国际企业管理学
  • 人力资源管理学
  • 市场学
  • 计量营销学
  • 综合商业学

BBA-JD课程的毕业生都有丰富多面的商业和法律知识,可以在不同行业发展。课程的训练让他们可以适应香港、中国以至全球市场变动迅速的环境。他们可从事的工作和晋升机会亦非常多,遍布各行各业,例如商贸与金融、监管服务、环球顾问、政府、社区服务、执法、学术、公共行政、教育和传媒等。

若毕业生立志成为香港执业律师或大律师,他们可以在取得法学博士学位後进修PCLL课程。

Hargreaves教授补充说:「与其他一般本科毕业生相比,BBA-JD 学生有机会和法学研究生一起学习。法学博士班的学生来自不同背景,可以丰富法律议题的讨论和刺激思考,也可以建立人脉网络,对他们未来事业的发展会很宝贵。」

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

BAJDN

联招编号

JS4264

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 国际生, 内地高考

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

The New Hybrid, the New Elite

In today's rapidly changing global environment, business and law collaborations and interconnected issues are on the rise. The new generation of professionals needs to have ever more in-depth and integrative knowledge beyond the scope of any single traditional discipline.

Business and law are two disciplines that are highly related to each other. The cross-disciplinary understanding of business and legal frameworks, constraints and opportunities are beneficial to both business and legal professionals.

To meet this need, CUHK Business School and Faculty of Law have joined hands to offer the new Bachelor of Business Administration (Integrated BBA Programme) and Juris Doctor Double Degree Programme (BBA-JD). It is an elite programme that provides students with a well-structured inter-disciplinary educational setting with parallel concentrations on business and legal studies. The Programme can make important contributions to the field by combining the strengths of the two Faculties to allow its students to acquire essential knowledge and practical skills in the two complimentary disciplines.

Dr. Anthony Law, BBA-JD Programme Co-Director from the CUHK Business School, said, ‘Applicants are expected to have a broad horizon and be eager to learn both business and law. They should demonstrate good presentation and analytical skills as well as a desire to contribute to society. Admission scholarships are offered to qualified candidates on the basis of their outstanding academic or non-academic performances.’

Prof. Stuart Hargreaves, BBA-JD Programme Management and LLB Programme Director from the Faculty of Law, said, ‘We plan to admit about 40 students a year. To prepare to enter the BBA-JD, prospective students should be well-versed in current affairs as well as some basic texts of law and business so that they can get the most out of the programme.’

The BBA-JD students will take a number of undergraduate law courses in the first three years of study. They will acquire the essential legal concepts commensurate with their study phases. The students then focus on professional legal studies from the fourth year, which will be challenging to the intellectually rigorous.

The CUHK Business School and the Faculty of Law both have first-class teaching and learning facilities, student development teams and powerful online resources to support and maximize the students’ learning experience. This programme benefits from the pooling of over 140 and 45 faculty members from Business and Law, respectively. Academic advisors from the two Faculties offer an integrated student advising service to the BBA-JD students by providing guidance and advice on academic development and pastoral care throughout their course of study.

The BBA-JD, being one of the first of its kind in Asia, is an articulated undergraduate/ postgraduate double degree programme combining business and law. The students will obtain the two degrees in five years, as opposed to the usual six years if the two programmes are attempted separately.

Dr. Law said, ‘The Programme also provides flexibility for students to choose to graduate with a BBA, or a BBA with a minor in law in four years, allowing them to tailor their study options based on their interests, strengths and needs.

To the BBA-JD students who receive full-tuition admission scholarships from CUHK for their first four years of study, CUHK Business School may offer a top-up full-tuition scholarship for their fifth year of study.’

Beyond academic training, the BBA-JD students enjoy ample opportunities for various out-of-class learning experience such as internship, exchange, mentorship and entrepreneurship offered by the CUHK Business School, the Faculty of Law, the University and the Colleges.

To broaden their career options upon graduation, the BBA-JD students are allowed to specialize in their particular areas of interest as well as getting the requisite breadth of business education. They can freely choose from ten concentration areas under the Integrated BBA Programme:

  • Business Analytics
  • Business Economics
  • General Finance
  • Financial Engineering
  • Insurance and Risk Management
  • Management of International Business
  • Human Resource Management
  • Marketing
  • Quantitative Marketing
  • General Business.

The BBA-JD equips its graduates with a diverse and versatile skillset in both business and law with a view to pursuing careers in a variety of sectors. It prepares them to adapt to the rapidly evolving environment in Hong Kong, Mainland China and the global market. The training in both programmes offers them wide-ranging job and advancement opportunities in diverse fields such as commerce and finance, regulatory services, global consulting, government, community service, law enforcement, the academia, public administration, education and the media.

Graduates who aspire to practice as Hong Kong barristers or solicitors may further their studies in the PCLL programme, which they may begin after completing their JD degrees.

Professor Hargreaves further remarked, ‘Compared with their counterparts in the normal undergraduate class, the BBA-JD students have the opportunity to study with graduate law students. The JD classes include students from a wide range of different backgrounds, which can enhance the discussion of legal issues, stimulate thoughts and build a network valuable to their future careers.’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

BAJDN

JUPAS Code

JS4264

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, International, Mainland