往內容

本科课程

 

古医今治

2003年的非典型肺炎爆发在多方面影响了香港,也影响了当年九岁的刘晓霖,改变了她求学的志向:「从那时开始,我的梦想是献身医学,服务社会。我也开始对传统中医学的整体观和预防疗法发生兴趣。所以我一直留意中文大学的中医学学士课程,我希望成为中医师,以之作为终身事业,照顾生理、心理和精神健康上需要帮助的人,不管他们来自甚麽社会背景。」

中大的中医学课程吸引晓霖的注意有其原因。这个课程创办於1999年,排名一直居於本地中医课程的首位,良好声誉是建基於全面的课程设计和毕业生的理想发展。中医学院院长梁挺雄教授说:「课程培育的中医学毕业生水平优秀,具备扎实的传统中医学技术和全面的现代医学知识。毕业生可报考香港中医执业资格试,合格即可成为香港的註册中医师。」

课程每年只录取大约二十五名新生,晓霖认为是好事,因为小班即是「不缺老师指导及支援」。「师生关係密切有利施教与学习,学生的学业与个人发展都得以增强,个别的需要也获照顾。我特别感激老师,他们非常仁慈,而且临床经验丰富。没有他们的指导,我不会读得那麽起劲。」

除了好老师外,晓霖在中大也交了几位志趣相投的好友。「一年级时,我们十个人参加中大的中医推广学会,这是个旨在向社区推广传统中医概念的学生组织。我们在校内外组织了一连串的活动,例如志愿服务、讲座和互动工作坊,那真是开心和有意思的经验。」

谈到中医学课程的特色时,梁教授说:「首先,我们强调中医学传统知识的重要性。老师常用额外的导修堂带领学生深入讨论。第二,中大有很好的中医临床设备,学生在学习初年已可以进行实习,接触临床工作。最後,临床实习期延长至一年半,其间还包括合作夥伴和非政府组织提供的实习机会。」

晓霖也很喜欢课程的体验学习。「传统中医学并不是单靠课堂和临床训练学习。学院在暑期会组织连串的学术交流团,以扩阔我们的眼界,我们可以和香港和外面大学的中医学学生见面及切磋。二年级时我去了湖南和贵州,有机会认识当地的学生,出席学术讲座和参与各种文化交流活动,很有成果。」

课程通常录取的都是勤快和富责任感的学生,有很强的责任感。梁教授说:「六年的课程内容丰富,涵盖的知识由古至今,理论与实践并重,学生须有学习新知的渴求和能耐。」

他接着强调,其他中医学课程只录取受过理科训练的学生,中大则非理科学生亦可入读。

晓霖承认,研习传统中医学从来不易:「你要花极多时间和非常努力才可以成为合格中医师。不过,有老师尽心的指导,路不算太崎岖。有一点必须谨记,我们习医并不是为了名利财富,而是作好準备,他朝我们便是病人和坟墓之间的缓衝。」

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

BCMEN

联招编号

JS4542

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 国际生, 内地高考

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

Ancient Cures for a Modern World

The SARS outbreak in 2003 has changed Hong Kong in more ways than one. It has also affected the academic trajectory of the then nine-year-old Iris Lau. ‘Since then it has become my dream to devote myself in the medical field to serve the community. Meanwhile, I began to take a real interest in the holistic and preventive treatment approach of Traditional Chinese Medicine. Thus, I have long since set my sights on the Bachelor of Chinese Medicine programme at CUHK in order to pursue a lifelong career as a Chinese Medicine practitioner, taking care of the physical, mental and spiritual health of the needy regardless of their socioeconomic backgrounds.’

There is a reason why the CUHK Chinese Medicine programme would catch the Iris’s eye: established in 1999, the programme has always ranked top among the local Chinese medicine programmes. Its high repute is built on an extensive programme design and a good career outlook. ‘The programme nurtures high quality Chinese Medicine graduates, who possess solid Traditional Chinese Medicine skills as well as comprehensive knowledge in modern medicine. Graduates are qualified to take the CMP licensing examination and become a registered Chinese Medicine Practitioner in Hong Kong,’ said Prof. Leung Ting-hung, Director of the School of Chinese Medicine.

Although the programme admits only about 25 new students each year, Iris sees it as a boon because small class size brings ‘unfailing guidance and support from the teachers.’ ‘This enables close bonding and effective mentoring between our teachers and us, fostering academic and personal advancements whilst catering to our individual needs. I am especially grateful that our teachers are incredibly kind-hearted and clinically experienced. I wouldn’t have enjoyed learning so much without their guidance.’

Great teachers aside, Iris has also met her best friends for life at the School. ‘In the first year, 10 of us joined the Chinese Medicine Promotion Society of CUHK, which is a student body that aims to promote the ideas of Traditional Chinese Medicine to all members of the society. We organized a series of activities, such as voluntary services, seminars and interactive workshops on and off campus, which was certainly a pleasant and meaningful experience.’

When asked about the special features of the Chinese Medicine programme, Professor Leung answered, ‘Firstly, we emphasize the importance of classical knowledge in Chinese medicine. Our teachers love to spend extra tutorial sessions in in-depth discussion. Secondly, with the refurbished and upgraded TCM clinic facilities on campus, students can do their practicum and have clinical exposures in their early years of study. Lastly, clinical internship period is lengthened to one and a half years, including internship opportunities under the auspices of local partners and NGOs.’

The experiential side of the programme has a great appeal to Iris. ‘The learning of Traditional Chinese Medicine is not restricted to classroom and clinical training. During the summer vacation, our School organizes a range of academic exchange trips to broaden our horizons and to allow us to meet and exchange ideas with Chinese Medicine students from universities in and out of Hong Kong. When I was a sophomore, I went on a fruitful trip to Hunan and Guizhou provinces in mainland China, in which I had the opportunity to befriend local students, attend academic lectures and engage in various cultural exchange activities.’

The programme looks for applicants who are fast learners with a strong sense of responsibility. ‘Since the six-year curriculum covers broad knowledge from ancient to modern, from east to west, and from theory to hands-on practice, students are expected to show a strong ability to learn new things. The profession also inherently requires high moral standards,’ said Professor Leung.

He went on to stress that while other similar TCM programmes only accept students with a science background, CUHK’s also accepts those with a non-science background.

Iris confessed that the adventure of learning Traditional Chinese Medicine has never been easy. ‘It demands a huge sacrifice of time and effort in equipping ourselves to become qualified practitioners of tomorrow. Nonetheless, with the generous support from our teachers, the journey has become far less bumpy. The most crucial thing to bear in mind is that we don’t study medicine for prestige or wealth, but to prepare for the day when we are the only thing between a patient and the grave.’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

BCMEN

JUPAS Code

JS4542

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, International, Mainland