往內容

本科课程

 

以工程学拯救生命

数年前,作为一个还未有清晰求学方向的好奇少年,李傑翔决定选一门可以令他同时掌握多个範畴知识的学科。他最後选了中文大学的生物医学工程学课程,亦颇为自己的明智之举而感到自豪。

傑翔指出一般人常有的谬误:「我报读生物医学工程学时已经有很多人提醒我,读几个不同的科目不会有好前途,因为没有一科专精。读了四年後,我很高兴自己没有动摇,我在这课程的体验与这些说法完全相反。现在人口老化,而且对先进工程的需求亦愈来愈大,所以医学与医疗技术需要不断发展及革新。所有相关行业,从产品发展,以至临床试验和製造业,都渴求工程、科学和医学人才。大家都期望这些专才具备跨学科的知识,可以领导一组不同背景的人员想出新概念和有效的办法。我绝对相信我的专业有很大的市场。」

他把这信心归功於课程全面而深入的训练。生物医学工程学课程创办於2010年。课程传授科学、医学和工程学的知识,由工程学院和医学院的教授联合任教,所以课程涵盖甚广,而且跨学科。毕业班的专题研习也是由不同专长的两院教授领导。这课程是一个很好的平台,供学生学习和体验科技、工程学和创意怎样应用在医学和医护範围。

「我在这个课程有很多宝贵的时刻。我有机会修读解剖学和生理学课,它们都是生物医学或医科学生的必修科目。我也曾製作基本医学器材和电子设备,从中得到实际的程式经验。这些课都很有启发性,因为造出来的仪器能够以不同方法帮助到病人。举例说,我设计了一台收集光体积变化描记图(PPG)的仪器,主要作量度心率之用。另一个我创造的设备是一个坐垫,可以监测人的坐姿,从而改善残疾人士的生活。最重要的是我们学会了监测和分析器材所得的数据。」

这课程所教授的知识看来很技术性和先进,或会令很多想报读的学生却步,但生物医学工程学学系主任汤启宇教授解释,学系会尽一切努力帮助新生适应。「我们录取中学修读理科的学生。修完工程和生物医学的基础科目後,他们可以按自己的兴趣和目标选择选修科目和实习工作的道路。」

傑翔同意汤教授所说,他在适应课程上完全没有问题,这多得他和同学之间的亲密友谊:「大家在学业上和生活上互相扶持。例如有一位同学特别勤力和博学,他不但有丰富的生物医学工程知识,其他範畴如文学、音乐、运动等都很有天分。我受到他的启发,和他一起做课业时,从他身上学到很多。下课後,同学们也会一起遊玩和运动,大家就像兄弟姊妹一样。」

傑翔说,每个一年级生在第一年暑假会参加一连串的实用工作坊训练和临床学习。接着的暑假,学生可选择不同的实习工作。学生有足够机会参与实习工作,以及参加亚洲、欧洲和北美洲的交流计划,他们可选择参与一学期或者一学年。

汤教授对生物医学工程的毕业生很有信心,认为他们都已受到很好的训练去服务社会。根据记录,大多数毕业生都从事与生物医疗工程有关的各种工作,例如工程及产品支援、市场与技术营销、实验室与科研等。他们有的受僱於本地或国际私营企业,也有工作於公共机构如医院、政府和其他非生物医疗公司。有颇多毕业生在本地和海外学府继续学业,有人深造相关学科,也有人转到其他领域,如商业管理、医学和法律。

如果你喜欢科学,又有研究精神,并且有兴趣解决医学和健康护理业内的问题,欢迎加入生物医学工程学课程,和傑翔一起成为学院的一员。另外,汤教授想提醒大家,学系、书院和大学都设有奖学金。

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

BMEGN

联招编号

JS4460

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 非联招(高年级入学), 国际生, 内地高考

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

Saving Lives with Engineering

Several years ago, as a curious teenager who didn’t have a very clear vision on what his academic interest was, Leo Lee decided to choose a programme which would familiarize him to several fields at once. The Biomedical Engineering programme (BME) at CUHK became his final choice, a decision he was proud to have made.

Leo pointed out a fallacy commonly held: ‘Many had warned me before my admission to BME, saying that studying various subjects would not lead me to a promising career path since I would not have a cutting edge in any of the fields I studied. After spending four years in the programme, I am glad that I had insisted on my decision – my experience in BME tells a completely different story. Nowadays, medical and healthcare technologies are expanding with the ageing population and the increasing demand for advanced engineering. Talents in Engineering, Science and Medicine are very much sought after in the full range of associated industries, from product development, clinical trial to manufacturing. These professionals are expected to possess cross-disciplinary knowledge and lead teams with diverse backgrounds to generate new ideas and effective solutions. I strongly believe that my expertise will be in great demand.’

He attributed the source of his confidence to the comprehensive and in-depth training offered by the programme. ‘BME was established in 2010. The programme imparts knowledge in Science, Medicine and Engineering. The courses are taught jointly by professors from the Faculty of Engineering and the Faculty of Medicine, making the curriculum very broad and interdisciplinary. Final year projects are also led by these professors with various expertise. The programme is a great platform for students to learn and experience how technology, engineering and innovation can be applied in medicine and the healthcare fields.

‘I had many precious moments in BME. I had chances to take anatomy and physiology courses, which were common courses for students in Biomedical Science or Medicine. I also got hand-on programming experience through building basic medical machines or electronic devices. These lessons were very inspiring as the devices can help patients in various way. For example, I built a machine to collect photoplethysmogram (PPG), essential to the measuring of heart rate. Another device that I created was a sitting pad, which monitored people’s sitting gestures and improved the lives of the disabled. Most importantly, we were taught to monitor and analyze the data from the devices.’

Many prospective students may be scared by how technical and advanced the programme appears to be, but Prof. Raymond Tong, Chairman of the Department of BME, explained that every effort will be made to help the newcomers adapt, ‘We admit students with Sciences backgrounds in secondary education. After completing the foundation courses in engineering and biomedical sciences, they can opt for a track of elective courses and internships to suit their own interests and goals.’

Leo agreed with Professor Tong that he had no difficulty fitting himself in the programme, thanks to the close relationship he had with his classmates, ‘My peers and I support each other in both the academic and non-academic senses. One of my classmate is extremely hard-working and knowledgeable in not only biomedical engineering, but also in other areas such as literature, music, sports, etc. He inspires me and I have learnt a lot from him when we were working on projects together. After school, our classmates would spend our time together on games or sports. We were like siblings to one another.’

Leo mentioned that every Year 1 student will go through a series of practical workshop trainings and clinical rounds in their first summer. For the subsequent summers, students can opt for various internships. Ample opportunities of internships and academic exchanges in Asia, Europe and North America are available to BME students. They can choose to participate in them either for one term or the whole year.

Professor Tong was confident that the BME graduates have been well-trained to serve the community. According to past records, most of the graduates would pursue various BME-related careers upon graduation, such as engineering and product support, marketing and technical sale, laboratory and research, etc. They were hired in private industries including local and international companies, as well as public organizations like hospitals, the Government, and other non-BME-related companies. A relatively large proportion of BME graduates pursue further studies in both local and overseas institutions, some continuing in related areas while others switching to fields like business administration, medicine and law.

If you are a lover of Science who likes to explore and are interested in solving real-life problems in the medical and healthcare industries, you are welcome to join Leo as a member of the BME programme. Professor Tong would like to remind you that scholarships are available via the Department, the Colleges or the University.

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

BMEGN

JUPAS Code

JS4460

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, Non-JUPAS Senior Year Entry, International, Mainland