往內容

本科课程

 

当生物学遇上医学

「中文大学的生物医学课程真是了不起,涵盖不同範围,肿瘤生物学、神经科学、幹细胞研究、免疫学等,全部都对我非常有吸引力。」来自马来西亚来的三年级生吴振伟说。

振伟一直对与人类有关的生物学和不同的生物医学领域很感兴趣,因为他相信,每个改善人类健康的疗法的背後是一个发现新知的故事。

生物医学研究对现代临床实践的发展举足轻重。有见及此,中文大学於2016年开办生物医学课程,以满足生物科技与生物製药业,以及医学与临床服务,包括本地以至南中国的遗传学与基因服务,对人才愈来愈大的需求。

振伟对香港和中文大学并不熟悉,但很高兴自己没有选错主修科。「生物医学课程为学生提供很多选择。课程设计循序渐进,学生在头两年打下扎实的医学科学基础,然後按自己的兴趣在接着的两年调整学习。」

他接着说:「我们可以从生物医学研究、策略管理与企业精神,以及健康服务与谘询三个专修範围中选择。我很渴望在生物医学研究内浸淫,特别是神经科学和幹细胞研究。另外两个专修範围也有些很精彩的科目,例如製药业管理及市场拓展、鑑證科学,以及病理组织学。你可以看得到合办的学系曾对课程结构作出仔细研究,这大概是中大最精彩的课程之一。」

与本地其他同类课程不同,中大的生物医学主修选科分为三个专修範围。

生物医学院院长陈伟仪教授说:「我们的课程着重实践与体验学习,有丰富的生物伦理学元素,由行内的专家和其他学院及学系的老师共同授课。学生必须参与体验学习的活动才可以毕业。香港以生物医学作基础的本科课程中,这个独特的课程範围是首创。」

课程亦采用小班教学,以保持师生的紧密关係,振伟很欣赏这安排。「导修课提供非常个人化的教学,我最欣赏这一点。导修课上,教授会提出很多问题,要我们去思考和回答。我们要多看些资料来找答案,而且要对题目有宏观的思考。这是很有趣的,因为学习颇为轻松随意,我们就是这样和教授把概念反覆来回讨论。这种讨论很好,比乾坐着任人把资料滔滔不绝说给你听好得多。」

他为获得很多学习机会感到高兴,例如在中大或海外的暑期实习机会。「我在上一个暑假到了英属哥伦比亚大学的实验室,研习高龄怀孕对卵母细胞质素的分子影响,我觉得是种很好的经验。」

以非本地生来融入中文大学的本地圈子,并不是如振伟当初想像的那麽困难。「我们在迎新营时已建立友谊,大家在小班裏一起学习,这两年下来,关係更好。再者,大家都是从事生物医学,彼此互相合作,有问题一起解决,真的非常有帮助。」

振伟对神经科学情有独锺,他觉得生物医学学院是「一个宝库,内有非常多的研究範围,打下了扎实的生物医学研究基础後,对我将来的深造十分有帮助。」

对有兴趣报读生物医学课程和想入读中文大学的学生,振伟表示:「课程的教学方法很适合他们,他们在中大会有美好的时光和很多乐趣!」

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

BMSCN

联招编号

JS4550

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 国际生, 内地高考

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

When Biology Meets Medicine

‘CUHK’s Biomedical Sciences Programme is really great as I get a real taste of all the different areas such as cancer biology, neuroscience, stem cell research, immunology, etc., which genuinely appealed to me,’ said Romeo Goh from Malaysia, Year 3 student.

Romeo is always very interested in the human aspect of biology and various areas of biomedical sciences because he believes that behind every treatment that improves human health is a story of discovery.

Biomedical research plays a pivotal role in shaping the advancement of modern clinical practice.  In view of this, CUHK launched the Biomedical Sciences Programme in 2016 to meet the increasing demand of professionals in the biotech and biopharmaceutical industry, medical and clinical services including genetic and genomic services locally, as well as in Southern China.

Though new to Hong Kong and CUHK, Romeo is happy for what he chose.  “Students are given a luxury of choices in the Biomedical Sciences Programme.  It has been designed in a ‘stepping stone’ way by providing students with a solid foundation of medical science in the first two years and then allowing them to tailor the course to their particular interests over the next two.”

He went on, ‘We can choose from three concentration areas: biomedical research, strategic management and entrepreneurship, health services and consultation.  I am eager to soak up knowledge in the field of biomedical research, particularly neuroscience and stem cell research.  The other two concentration areas also comprise exciting courses like management and marketing in pharmaceutical industry, forensic science and histopathology.  You can tell the faculties have really thought about the structure and it’s arguably one of the best and most exciting courses CUHK offers.’

Having the major electives arranged into the three concentration areas is the unique feature of the programme which differentiates itself from other local biomedical sciences programme.

Prof. Chan Wai-yee, Director of the School of Biomedical Sciences, remarked, ‘Our curriculum emphasizes practicality and experiential learning, enriched with a bioethics component and courses co-taught by experts in the field or from other Schools/Departments of the Faculty.  Students have to take part in experiential learning activities as a graduation requirement.  Such a unique range of courses is the first of its kind to be included in a biomedical science‐based undergraduate programme in Hong Kong.’

The programme also adopts small-class teaching so as to maintain a close student and staff relationship.  Romeo praised the arrangement, “Tutorials offering highly personalized teaching are what most impress me the most.  During the tutorials, the professor might say, ‘I want you to think about all of these things, and come with loads of questions.’  We'll have to find the answers ourselves by doing some extra reading and trying to think in a bigger picture of the subject.  It’s really fun because it’s quite informal and we just bounce ideas around with the professors.  It’s good to have that discussion, rather than just sitting passively and listening to someone imparting information.”

He is glad to have the many opportunities of learning such as summer biomedical research attachments in CUHK or overseas.  ‘I was learning in the lab at The University of British Columbia in the past summer on the molecular impact of maternal aging on oocyte quality, which was fascinating to me.’

Fitting in the local society in CUHK as a non-local student wasn’t as hard as Romeo expected it to be.  ‘We built friendship since the orientation camp and the bonding got stronger throughout the programme as we are studying together in small classes.  Moreover, working in a collaborative environment with people doing biomedical sciences with me enabled me to work through the problems together and that collaboration really helped me a lot.’

Romeo is leaning towards neuroscience research as the School of Biomedical Sciences is, in his own words, ‘an incredibly rich place that essentially covers a broad range of research areas and it will provide me with a very strong background of biomedical research for my future graduate studies.’ 

For those who are interested in the Biomedical Sciences Programme and would like to study in CUHK, ‘the style of teaching will suit them.  They’re going to have a great time and a lot of fun here!’ said Romeo.

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

BMSCN

JUPAS Code

JS4550

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, International, Mainland