往內容

本科課程

 

本幼兒教育文學士課程為兩年全日制課程,為已具備幼兒基礎理論知識及持合格幼稚園教師資格的高級文憑學生,提供額外的學術及專業培訓,以培育他們成為有效能的幼兒教育工作者。本課程為跨學科課程,由教育學院不同學系教授任教,使學生從不同學術角度獲取紮實的學科知識。課程著重實證基礎,不但加強學生對幼兒全面發展的理論知識(包括身體、認知和語言、情意和群性、美感)及提升學生的教學技巧,亦培養學生對幼兒發展的敏感度,掌握設計適切課程,以促進幼兒身心全面發展。課程亦設有實習元素,讓學生在與幼兒相關的不同工作範疇中擴闊視野。關注到幼兒在學習能力上的個別差異,本課程將幫助學生認識及了解不同種類與幼兒相關的特殊教育需要,從而讓學生增強學術知識及專業的能力。

護幼育苗

美國牧師作家羅伯特‧富甘(Robert Fulghum)說:「所有我們必須知道的事情,都是在幼稚園內學到的。」若你為此表示同意,即是認同幼兒教育是教育的基石。

要有優質幼兒教育,優秀而稱職的幼兒教育工作者是不可或缺的。自2003年9月起,所有新入職的幼稚園教師均須具備合格幼稚園教師或同等學歷。而2009至10年度開始,新任校長必須持有幼兒教育學位。

何樂晴葉霜都是符合資格幼稚園教師,並在修讀文學士(幼兒教育)課程時已持有幼兒教育高級文憑。她們下決心花兩年時間在這個全日制的學位課程上,以貫徹教育學前兒童的志向。

兩人對幼兒教育並不陌生,課程內容豐富當然吸引,但她們也有點緊張究竟有沒有新的東西可學,她們的顧慮很快一掃而空。樂晴說:「課程以我們的經驗為基礎,再加以微調,為我們提供額外學術和專業訓練。我們對幼兒教育的認識不但加深了,也擴闊了。」

葉霜從修讀高級文憑中獲得的基本知識激發了她深入研究幼兒教育的願望。她很想知道遊戲對學前兒童有甚麼意義,而且和他們的學習有甚麼關係。她也很想知道怎樣制定好的幼稚園課程、怎樣支援那些有特殊教育需要的兒童,以及在這個瞬息萬變的社會裏有些甚麼幼兒教育問題是不容忽視的。令她喜出望外的是教育學院向她打開了一個知識寶庫,她和同學們可以在內探索不休。

課程每年只錄取二十位新生,小班的好處是師生同學間更團結,切磋砥礪得更好,但不失多元多樣的活力。學生通常來自不同教育機構,一般都持有文憑,各有所長,有人善於擬定教案,也有人精於製作教具。已經完成課程的樂晴說:「我們相處融洽,關係很好。大家都樂意在堂上和課餘分享及交流意見。我們一班只有二十人,溝通完全沒有問題。」她的同學葉霜也說:「一個同學有問題,其他人都感同身受,樂意伸出援手。」

葉霜很喜歡課程的訓練,使她成為思考型的行動者。因為課程部分科目開放予非幼兒教育學生,使她有機會認識學院主修其他學科的準教育工作者。「教育思想」、「認識學前教育和教育政策」這類科目則有助她把教學接連到更大的社會環境,從而明白幼稚園教師的責任是為未來世界培育美善的心靈。她補充說,課程的老師來自教育學院不同學系,即是課程與教學、教育行政與政策、教育心理學,以及體育運動科學,他們都很樂意分享在不同教育前線的豐富經驗,以增強學生課堂及課本以外的知識。

葉霜最難忘的學習經驗是「教育研究入門」這一科。她選擇的題目是家長對兒童教育的介入。在導師有條理的指引下,她發覺自己的研究技巧和對科目的了解都突飛猛進。她現在很有信心在來年進行與這個題目有關的研究計劃。

幼兒教育文學士課程有一個很好的實習環節。課程主任和實習導師蕭鳳英教授解釋:「實習是給學生機會在幼兒照料及幼兒教育有關的現實環境裏,應用從課程中學到的知識和技巧。實習內有不同的活動,例如要和孩子一起去處理他們學習上和情緒上的各種需要、進行與家長教育有關的項目、協助研究計劃,以及參與推廣與兒童身心健康有關的活動等。」

有鑑於學習差異的問題愈來愈受關注,課程亦着重相關的學術知識和專業能力,以處理有特殊教育需要的兒童。葉霜現時實習的幼稚園,學生中有些即有特殊需要:「我急不及待要應用學到的知識和技巧,與這些孩子建立良好關係,更了解他們的需要。」樂晴則在一間國際幼稚園實習,她很興奮,很想多了解學校的課程和孩子在學校的日常程序。在師友的扶持下,兩年課程一切順利,兩位年輕教育工作者對她們的事業更加矢志不渝。

刊登時間:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

Preparing Tender Minds for the Future World

If one agrees to what Robert Fulghum says that all one really needs to know is learned in kindergarten, early childhood education (ECE) is no doubt the cornerstone of education.

Effective and competent early childhood educators are indispensable for quality kindergarten education. Since September 2003, all newly appointed kindergarten teachers in Hong Kong have been required to possess a Qualified Kindergarten Teacher (QKT) qualification or its equivalent. All new principals from the 2009–10 school year should have a degree in ECE.

Jourdan Ho and Irene Ip were both qualified kindergarten teachers holding a Higher Diploma in Early Childhood Education when they enrolled in the Bachelor of Arts (Early Childhood Education) Programme (CHED). They decided to pursue a degree with two years of full-time study after assuring themselves of the commitment to educating preschool children.

Being no strangers to the field, they were attracted by the wide array of courses offered by CHED but at the same time a bit concerned whether they would be learning anything new. Their worries were soon eased. Jourdan said, ‘The programme builds on the foundation of our previous knowledge and is spontaneous in fine-tuning the contents to provide additional academic and professional training for us. It not only deepens but also broadens our understanding of ECE.’

The basic understanding of ECE acquired from the higher diploma course has fuelled Irene with the desire for an in-depth study. She is curious about what playing means to pre-school children and how it relates to their learning, how to develop a good curriculum, how to support those with special educational needs (SEN) and what contemporary issues in ECE there are in this fast-changing world. To her pleasant surprise, at the Faculty of Education, the treasure trove was wide open for her and other students to delve into.

The class size at 20 is small enough to facilitate effective interflow of ideas and cohesion, and at the same time big enough for a vibrant diversity. Students, being higher diploma course graduates from different institutions, came with various strengths, ranging from the writing of lesson plans to the making of effective teaching aids. ‘We have a cordial relationship and are well-connected. We are all willing to share and exchange ideas during and after class. Since there are only 20 of us, circulation of information is efficient,’ said Jourdan who has completed her studies. Her classmate Irene agreed, ‘Whenever anybody has a problem, others will take it as their own and are all ready to help.’

Irene appreciates how the programme has trained her to be a reflective practitioner. As some courses were open to non-ECE programme students, she got the chance to know prospective educators in other majors of her faculty. Courses like Educational Thoughts and Understanding Schooling and Education Policy in Hong Kong helped her to connect teaching to a larger social context and realize that a kindergarten teacher is preparing tender minds for the future world. She added that the professors from different departments of the Faculty of Education, namely, Curriculum and Instruction, Educational Administration and Policy, Educational Psychology, and Sports Science and Physical Education, were willing to share their rich experiences on various fronts of education to enrich students’ learning beyond documented pedagogies and book theories.

The course on Introduction to Educational Research is a memorable learning experience for Irene. She chose the topic of parental involvement in children’s education. Guided through the research process step by step by her course instructor, she found that both her research skills and insight into the subject were largely enhanced. She is now confident in working on a research project relating to this topic in the coming year of her study.

CHED includes a highly valued internship component. Prof. Angela Siu, Programme Coordinator of CHED and Course Instructor of Internship, explained, ‘The internship of this programme provides opportunities for students to put knowledge and skills they learned from the programme into practice via engaging in a real-life experience in the child care related or education sector. Examples of activities for the internship include working with children to meet their diverse learning and emotional needs, conducting programmes relating to parent education, assisting in research projects, taking part in the promotion of activities in relation to children's physical and mental health.’

In view of the increased awareness of learner diversity, CHED places emphasis on the academic knowledge and professional competence to address SENs in children. Irene is interning in a kindergarten with some children who have special needs. She said, ‘I can’t wait to apply what I have learned to practice, and build up a good relationship with these children to know better about their needs.’ Jourdan is excited over the choices offered to her and would like to know more the curriculum and the daily routine of children in an international kindergarten. The commitments of the two young educators to the profession are strengthened as they sail through the two-year programme with supportive peers and teachers.

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

CHEDN

JUPAS Code

N/A

Open for

Non-JUPAS Senior Year Entry