往內容

本科課程

 

中文系的學習範圍涵蓋語言和文學,例如中國語言的特質、 語言學理論、古典文學、現代文學等。中文系學生既有紥實 的學問基礎,也可以自由選擇感興趣的範疇深入研究,由音韻語法、秦漢古籍、唐宋詩詞、現代小說,到文學創作,中文系都有學養深邃的老師,為同學指引路徑。中文系課程有下列特色:(1) 必修的基本課程為學生的語言和文學修養奠定基礎;(2) 超過五十門專業課程科目供自由選修;(3) 與寫作有關的科目採用小組方式上課,師生關係密切;(4) 主修生在最後修業年由老師指導撰寫學術論文,鍛鍊批判能力,掌握研究方法;(5) 開設文藝創作科,出版學生創作集,為同學提供有利創 作的環境。每年均有不少中文系同學在重要文學比賽中獲獎。

中文系畢業生能夠精確靈活地運用語言,對中國語文有深刻體會,無論繼續升學或從事各行各業,都具備優勢。

文化天地任徜徉

中國語文是世上有數的重要文化遺產,傳世三千多年,未曾間斷。趙倖賢四年前入讀中國語言及文學系。對倖賢來說,生也有涯,文化也無涯,要探索無涯,非賴語言和文學不可。「唸中學時我已經鍾愛中國語文。入讀中文系,可以在這個語文天地裏任意徜徉,實屬萬幸」

中文系的本科生課程使倖賢可以仔細研究中國語文的特色,既可了解語言學理論和現當代文學,又可以研習傳統的古代文獻和古典文學。系主任鄧思穎教授說:「本科生課程包括必修的基礎範疇,旨在教授語言文學的基本知識;另有選修的專業範疇,涵蓋語言學、經史子集、小說戲曲、現代當代文學等領域。學生既能開闊視野,又能深入分析,培養研究能力。課程內容豐富且專業,為同學提供全面的知識,打好扎實的根基。」

2016至17年度,學系推出「創意中文寫作」,幫助學生發展寫作專才,掌握創意和專業寫作技巧,並增強對不同文體及其他密切相關的藝文知識,培養敏銳的文字觸覺,以及構建創意視野。鄧教授說:「除了為同學打好扎實根基、培養研究能力外,我們還鼓勵文學創作。通過優美文字,提升氣質,開闊視野。我們每年都舉辦『文學中大』寫作比賽,鼓勵全校師生、校友參加,提高語文水平。」

倖賢最珍惜的是學系的學習氣氛。「大多數同學都非常主動,投入學習。老師很支持我們,有問必答。他們的熱誠亦鼓舞我們超越自己,努力發掘中國語言和文學的豐富內涵。」她最享受和同學在一起,討論功課也好,談天說地也好,她都喜歡。「我們的交流不一定限於談文論藝,個人的問題,生活上的挫折,甚麼也可以談。在系裏可以建立這種真摯的友誼,是種福氣。」

現代漢語內數不清的成語、典故和比喻都源自傳統中國文化。政府官員、外交官、政客和其他公眾人物在演說或發表文章時往往咬文嚼字,引經據典。倖賢發覺過去三年所學的,對她解讀這些日常接觸到的演說和文章非常有幫助。「這些典故和引文,文字也好口語也好,我都知道出自何經何典,其中微妙的諷刺、幽默或者嘲弄我都看得出來。」

中文系畢業生不但掌握到專業語文技巧,對中國文學的認識和相關的知性發展亦出色。這些知識、技巧和文化有助他們在不同領域表現卓越。據學系2015年年底進行的調查,中文系畢業生大致上受僱於教學、行政、出版和學術行業。鄧教授認爲:「中文系畢業生具備優良的語文能力,無論日後在工作、研究還是生活方面,都能得心應手,有能力走上穿越古今、聯通民心的正確道路,這正是在本系研讀語文的樂趣。」

中文系成立於1963年,是中文大學歷史最悠久的學系,除了開辦各種各樣的課程外,也舉辦學術會議,邀請訪問學者發表演說和講座,以促進學術交流。學系也努力不懈,求進求新。鄧教授說:「本系既秉承學術傳統,又不為傳統所縛,面向社會、面向全球,在語文研究和教學的路上都別出新裁。近年的發展明確定位為『立足亞洲,放眼國際』,以此為目標,奮發蹈厲,繼往開來,既重視弘揚傳統文化,又能擁抱時代。」

刊登時間:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

The Untrammelled Journey in Chinese Culture

The Chinese language is one of the major intangible cultural heritages of the world, with an uninterrupted history of more than 3,000 years. Cheryl Chiu was admitted to the Department of Chinese Language and Literature four years ago. To Cheryl, language and literature are the keys to explore the infinite possibilities of culture in our finite lives. ‘I’ve been a keen learner of the Chinese language since I was a secondary school student. I’m fortunate enough to have been admitted by the Department to enjoy my untrammelled pursuit in the literary heritage.’

The undergraduate curriculum affords Cheryl a close examination of the characteristic features of the Chinese language, an in-depth introduction to both the theories of linguistics and modern and contemporary literature and traditional study of ancient documents and classical literature. ‘We offer both foundational and professional courses in the undergraduate programme; the former courses are compulsory with an aim to provide the basic knowledge of language and literature, whereas the latter courses are elective and cover such areas as linguistics, classical studies, novel and opera studies, modern and contemporary literature, etc. This allows students to broaden their horizons, make in-depth analysis, and develop their research ability. The curriculum content is as rich as it is specialized, which imparts comprehensive knowledge and lays a solid foundation for students,’ said Prof. Tang Sze Wing, Chairman of the Department.

The Department launched ‘Creative Writing in Chinese’ in the 2016–17 academic year. The specialized training helps the students develop their writing expertise. They will acquire advanced skills in both creative and professional writing, enhance their knowledge of various literary genres and other closely related arts, sharpen their literary sensibility, and build their creative vision. Professor Tang said, ‘In addition to imparting comprehensive knowledge and laying a solid foundation for research, we also promote creative writing actively. Appealing words definitely enhance temperament and broaden our views. The “Literary CUHK”, a large-scale writing competition that targets all students, colleagues, and alumni, is organized every year and may hopefully raise their language ability.’

The study atmosphere in the Department is what Cheryl treasures the most. ‘Most of my classmates are highly motivated and curious learners. The faculty members are always supportive and keen to answer students’ questions. Their passion motivates us to discover the richness in Chinese language and literature and go beyond our limits.’ She enjoys the time with her classmates, whether it be academic exchange or simply chit-chatting. ‘Our interaction isn’t limited to analyzing the classics or tracing the development of some Chinese linguistic features, but is also about our personal issues and some frustrations in life. I’m blessed to have developed such genuine friendships at the Department.’

Modern Chinese is replete with idioms, allusions, and analogies that derive from traditional Chinese culture. Classical cultural references—often cited in wenyan (literary Chinese)—are often adopted by government officials, diplomats, politicians and other public figures in their speeches or messages. Therefore, Cheryl found her studies in the past four years tremendously helpful in building her cultural literacy to decode the messages she comes across in daily life. ‘I’ve built up the capacity to recognize allusions and references in written and colloquial Chinese, and to detect the subtleties of irony, humour or sarcasm the speakers intended to convey.’

The graduates from the Department are proficient not only in language skills, but also in their sound understanding of Chinese literature and the relevant intellectual development. The knowledge, skills and cultural literacy they acquired help them excel in diverse fields. According to a survey the Department conducted in late 2015, their graduates in general landed jobs in the teaching, administration, publication and academic sectors. ‘With formidable language skills, our graduates will be able to work, study, and live with greater ease in future. This is what makes it a pleasure to study language in the Department,’ said Professor Tang.

Founded in 1963, the Department is one of CUHK’s academic departments with the longest history. In addition to offering a wide range of study programmes, it also organizes academic conferences and invites visiting scholars to deliver speeches and lectures to promote academic exchange. The Department has never ceased in pursuing excellence. Professor Tang said, ‘The Department adheres to academic traditions but is not constrained by them. It aspires to meet societal needs and global challenges and make new innovations in language research and teaching. In recent years, there has been a clear position in our development that sets a foothold in Asia with a global vision. With this in mind, we work hard to uphold our heritage while forging ahead.’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

CHLLN

JUPAS Code

JS4018

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, Non-JUPAS Senior Year Entry, International, Mainland