往內容

本科课程

 

意念的传布

郑增辉高中开始已矢志从事电影业,故此在大学修读与传播有关的学科,研习网上媒体怎样利用视像影响观众理解讯息。他选择中文大学的新闻与传播学一点也不出奇,因为这个课程理论和实践并重,两者相辅相成。据QS 2017年的统计,中大新闻与传播学在全球传播与媒体研究学排名榜上位列第二十。

增辉现在是四年级学生,他非常乐意与大家谈谈他的学习经验。他说:「我修读的科目助我了解传播学的历史,以及在社会上形成主导意识形态的理论,对媒体机构的功用有了更好的认识,也知道更多不同社会文化现象怎样在不同社区影响人们对讯息的理解。修读这课程的得着比我想像中的多。」

学习理论在大学教育裏不可少;不过新闻与传播学院院长李立峯教授说:「课程设计参考最新的媒体趋势和理论及实际知识,以培养学生应付实际情况的能力,使他们能在新闻、广告、公关、创意媒体与新媒体等不同领域发展事业,配合社会的人力需求。」

课程分为三个专修範畴,即广告与公关、新闻、创意媒体与新媒体,组合灵活,学生可专修一个範围或按个人兴趣研习不同科目。

除专业範围外,学生可从四个实习小组中选择其一。四组分别是《大学线》Varsity、点子创作及创意媒体实验室。学生可参与中文刊物《大学线》或英文Varsity实习刊物的撰稿、编辑和製作。他们也可以参与「点子创作」,进行社会性或商业计划,取得实际经验。选择「创意媒体实验室」的学生则可学习影音媒体製作。

「这种实习课课程结构很独特,我修了创意媒体实验室的媒体创作、影音製作及策展科目,学了很多。」增辉说:「学院在专业器材和技术上有很多支援。我们可以随时使用最新的拍摄和电脑设备,把构思转化成艺术品。创意媒体製作要求愈来愈高,学院翻新了电视录影室和电台播放室,鼓励我们创作。学院还成立了jcMotion小组,定期提供训练,以协助我们用新媒体传达讯息。」

他继续说:「我们还可以参加短期的考察团和交流计划,扩阔眼界。我参加了三个交流团,到访过北京、南韩和英国,了解三地在媒体操作上不同之处。这是很有创意的方法,我们可以从课堂以外的亲身经验中领悟。」

李教授补充说:「我们每年有二十至三十位同学获选参加为期一学期以至一学年的交流计划,以丰富学习经验。学院现时和南加州大学、德州奥斯丁的德州大学、荷兰鹿特丹伊拉斯谟大学、台湾国立政治大学、南韩翰林大学和日本早稻田大学六间学府设有学生交流计划。在海外大学交流所修的新闻与传播学学分可计入中大学分。」

增辉也很欣赏有学分的暑期实习计划和jcApprentice 的外判工作,两者皆有助汲取工作培训的经验。

增辉有百多位一起修读课程的同学,他说:「我们为了完成小组计划,在校园内工作到很夜,大家非常熟稔。彼此关係亲密,工作气氛很好,也很有团体精神。我们就像一个大家庭。」

增辉已準备就绪,亦有经验,有能力从事多媒体製作的工作,例如製作音乐视频和筹办展览,他很渴望执导电影,运用学到的知识把意念影像化为电影,在试影室内与人分享。

增辉建议,有兴趣报读新闻与传播课程的学生不妨参加学院的「火星媒体」暑期班,一试究竟。这个暑期班是全面的入门课程,学员可学习及实践日常生活中不同的传播理论。此外,新闻与传播学院亦开办新闻与传播及工商管理、新闻传播及社会学两个双学位课程,供学生选择。

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

COMMN

联招编号

JS4850

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 非联招(高年级入学), 国际生, 内地高考

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

Communicates Your Ideas

Dedicated to filmmaking since high school, Anson Cheng has determined to pursue communication-related studies in university to learn how online media make use of videos to influence audiences in perceiving messages. It is not surprising that he chose CUHK’s Journalism and Communication programme because of their emphasis on a balance and integration between theory and practice. The School of Journalism and Communication is ranked the 20th in Communication and Media Studies globally according to the QS World University Ranking by Subjects in 2017.

Now in his fourth year, Anson is more than happy to share his fruitful learning experience with everybody. He said, ‘I’ve gained a better understanding of the functions of media institutions and effect of varying socio-cultural phenomena in affecting a message perception in different communities through courses on the historical development of communication, and theories in forming a dominant ideology in a society. Studying the programme is more rewarding than I had imagined.’

While learning theories is essential to university education, Prof. Francis Lee, Director of the School of Journalism and Communication, pointed out, ‘The programme places equal emphasis on developing students’ practical abilities by integrating the latest media trend, theoretical and practical knowledge into our course design. It prepares students for careers in various fields, including journalism, advertising, public relations, creative and new media, which meet the society’s manpower needs.’

The programme offers three professional streams of study, namely, Advertising and Public Relations, Journalism, and Creative and New Media. The curriculum is flexible. Students can specialize in one professional stream or generalize their studies in various areas according to their interests.

In addition to the professional areas, students will choose to join one practicum group out of four. They are: U-Beat, Varsity, Pinpoint and Creative Media Laboratory (CM Lab). Students are free to participate in the writing, editing and production of one of the two news practicum magazines—U-Beat and Varsity, published in Chinese and English, respectively. They can also acquire hands-on experience on conducting social and commercial campaigns by working at Pinpoint. Those who join the CM Lab will learn more about knowledge and skills on audio and visual media production.

‘Under this unique practicum course structure, I learnt a lot by attending courses in media writing, sound/visual production and curation and by joining the CM Lab,’ said Anson. “We also received abundant professional equipment and technical support from the School. Students are welcome to utilize the latest filming and computing facilities, and turn our ideas into a real piece of artwork. To address the growing demand for creative media production, TV and radio studios were renovated to encourage productions. The School even established the ‘jcMotion’ group and holds technical training on a regular basis to assist us to convey our messages with new media.”

He continued, ‘There are short-term study tours and exchange programme for us to broaden our horizons. As for me, I attended three tours to Beijing, South Korea and the UK, and gained a deeper understanding of the Eastern and Western cultural differences in conducting media practices. This is an innovative approach to obtain insights by first-hand experience outside the classroom.’

Professor Lee added, ‘Each year, a total of 20 to 30 students are selected to study at six universities in the world for one academic year or one semester to enrich their learning experience. These universities include the University of Southern California, the University of Texas at Austin, Erasmus University Rotterdam in the Netherlands, National Chengchi University in Taiwan, Hallym University in South Korea, and Waseda University in Japan. The journalism and communication courses they take during exchange can transfer back to CUHK to fulfill the credit requirements.

Anson also praised the credit-bearing summer internship programme and outsourcing jobs under the ‘jcApprentice’ project of the programme for acquiring on-the-job training experience.

With more than one hundred coursemates, Anson said, ‘We know each other well as we stay up late on campus to complete our group assignments. The working atmosphere breeds intimate relationships and builds a sense of comradeship in the group. We are just like a big family who share a strong bond.’

Geared up as an experienced student who is capable of taking jobs related to multimedia production, such as producing music videos and holding exhibitions, Anson is thrilled to be a film director and apply his knowledge to visualize his ideas into films, which will be shared in screening houses.

For those who are interested in applying to the programme, Anson recommended taking the Mars Media summer course organized by the School as a trial. The course is an all-rounded introductory package to enrich one’s knowledge by learning and practicing different communication theories in daily-life situations. The programme also provides the Journalism and Communication-Business Administration double degree option or Journalism and Communication-Sociology double major option for students who decide to further explore their interests beyond.

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

COMMN

JUPAS Code

JS4850

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, Non-JUPAS Senior Year Entry, International, Mainland