往內容

本科课程

 

艺文稜镜看世界

解构、全球化、後现代和後真相:论说当前的时代潮流难免要另铸新词,以上所举不过其中数例。要梳理影响我们的思潮,文化研究的学生和研究人员必须借鑑不同学科,才可以对文化、政治、社会和经济,以至社会制度作严谨分析。这可能令人却步,但对求知欲强的年轻人来说,文化研究的知性挑战就是吸引力。

文化及宗教研究系的系主任谭伟伦教授认为文化研究有助学生了解文化的政治层面,检视文化如何成为表达不同思想时的角力场所。

「我们的课程涵盖香港、中国以至亚洲的艺术和文化,以及相关研究,是亚洲发展得最好的文化研究课程之一。」

Richard Ng是主修文化研究的毕业班学生,他最欣赏课程的务实方式,还有鼓励学生「每天自省」的能力:

诸如电影、漫画、小说、社交媒体、视觉艺术和表演等文本和素材,在文化研究的学者和学生的审视下,就像透过稜镜,显示出那些我们浑然不觉然而却塑造著我们的影响,无论关乎性别、性、种族还是宗教。

Richard意料之外的是课程以本地实际环境作重点,他以为文化研究讲的都是批判理论。Richard很喜欢读马克思和法国结构主义的理论著作,但後来发觉本地的资料原来可以让我们从不同的角度来看理论。

他说:「原来只要正视自己的文化,就可以游走於理论与不同的文化情境之间,找出二者关联。这正是我们的研究价值所在。」

这课程要求学生要保持开放的态度,不怕接受知性挑战。谭教授指出,修读文化研究的学生必须具备敏锐的跨文化触觉,并且尊重人际连繫,以及对性别、种族、阶级和民族认同有认识。

「课程的设计是训练学生慎思明辨,分析各种各样的议题和题目,相关範围涵盖旅遊、身体政治、现代性、城市、性别、技术科学、消费者文化、视觉文化、青年文化、全球化和文化政策。」

课程强调独立和严谨思考,即是说,在师生紧密的圈子内,多样性是受到尊重的。Richard也察觉同班同学有不同的人生观,兴趣和志向亦有很大的差异。不过这些差异并没有影响他们建立紧密的关係和互信。

Richard说:「同班同学对不少社会议题都很关心,我非常喜欢和他们讨论。」

他们对社会议题也不止於讨论,而是付诸行动。学生在二年级的暑期便会被分配到不同的艺术、文化、社运和独立媒体团体。这类工作机会对他们将来的个人和专业发展都很重要。学生也可以参加交换计划,到世界各地的知名学府学习,还有机会到国立交通大学深造文化研究,对敏学好思的中大生来说都是宝贵的经验。

文化研究毕业生不少人现时在文化圈子,或者电影、媒体和表演艺术行业都非常活跃;亦有毕业生在非政府机构工作,以及在本港或者海外深造。

要思考生命、文化和权力的微妙之处从来不易,更不要说要博览群书和清楚表达自己。Richard和他的同学坚信他们所想所做会带来一个更美好明天,对他们来说,所有的苦幹都是值得的。

「文化研究的困难在於没有课本可啃,也没有取得高分数的万全方法。你必须要严谨思考,找出可行的方法来令社会变得更美好。你要有心理预备面对挫折,解决人类的问题不会有立竿见影的方法。不过如果你修读文化研究,你将会是一位不偏不倚的严谨思想家,这是无庸置疑的。」

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

CULSN

联招编号

JS4020

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 非联招(高年级入学), 国际生, 内地高考

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

Social Critique Through the Prism of Art and Culture

Deconstruction, globalization, post-modernism and post-truth: these are just a few of the new words coined to capture the zeitgeist of the contemporary world. To tease out the currents of thoughts affecting us, students and researchers in cultural studies would have to draw on different disciplines to come up with critical analyses of culture, politics, society and economy, as well as other social institutions. That may sound daunting, but it is precisely the intellectual challenges posed by cultural studies that appeal to our inquisitive young minds.

Prof. Tam Wai-lun, Chairperson of the Department of Cultural and Religious Studies, thinks that cultural studies can help students understand the political dimensions of culture and examine the ways in which culture becomes a contested site for conveying different ideologies.

‘Our programme is one of the well-developed cultural studies programmes in Asia that provides education and research on art and culture in Hong Kong, China, and Asia.’

Richard Ng, a final year student majoring in cultural studies, is most appreciative of the programme’s ‘down-to-earth’ approach, and its ability to encourage students ‘to reexamine their everyday life experience’.

Through the lenses of cultural studies scholars and students, texts and materials such as films, comic strips, novels, social media, visual arts, and performances do shed light on forces shaping us without our knowing, be it gender and sexuality, race, religion, etc.

The programme’s focus on local contexts was a surprise to Richard, who thought that cultural studies was all about critical theories. While Richard is an avid reader of Marxist and French structuralist theories, he later realized that local materials in fact allow us to read theories in a different light.

‘I found out that by paying attentionto our culture, we can carve out a niche for dialogues between theories and the various cultural contexts, and it is this process that gives value to our studies,’ Richard said.

Students are expected to maintain an open mind and be prepared to take on intellectual challenges. According to Professor Tam, prospective cultural studies students should also possess inter-cultural sensitivity, respect for human connectedness, and an awareness of gender, race, class and ethnic identity.

‘The curricular design is intended to train students to think critically and analyze a diverse range of issues and topics related to travel, body, politics, modernity, the city, gender, technoscience, consumer culture, visual culture, youth culture, globalization and cultural policy,’ Professor Tam said.

The programme’s emphasis on independent and critical thinking means that diversity is respected within the close-knit circle of students and staff. Richard noted that his fellow classmates have divergent outlooks on life and their interests and vocational aspirations also differ widely. Nonetheless, differences do not stop them from building a close relationship and trust for one another.

‘My fellow classmates care a lot about social issues and I thoroughly enjoy talking to them,’ said Richard.

Their talk on social issues is translated into action. Students are placed in a wide variety of art, cultural, social-activist, and independent media groups during their second summer break, and such placement opportunities are vital to their future personal and professional development. Academic exchanges with reputable universities around the world, as well as the opportunity to study in the graduate programme of cultural studies at National Chiao Tung University, have proved invaluable to CUHK’s young thinkers.

Many of the programme’s graduates are now active members of the cultural circle, working in film, media, and the performing art industries. Some work for NGOs while others pursue further studies in Hong Kong or abroad.

To ponder on the intricacies of life, culture, and power is never an easy task, not to mention the requirement to read extensively and express oneself clearly. But to Richard and his classmates who believe that their thoughts and deeds can bring about a better tomorrow, all their toiling is worth the while.

‘Cultural studies is difficult because there are no textbooks for you to memorize and foolproof way to get good grades. You are driven to think critically and come up with possible solutions for a better society. You can expect some frustration as there are no easy solutions to humanity’s problems. But if you major in cultural studies, there is one thing you can be sure of: you will certainly be an independent and critical thinker.’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

CULSN

JUPAS Code

JS4020

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, Non-JUPAS Senior Year Entry, International, Mainland