往內容

本科课程

 

经世济民

阅读报章便发觉,以经济问题作标题的,远比其他议题为多。与经济有关的学科对现代世界的重要及关联不言而喻。正因如此,陈芊霖数年前选择了经济学为她的大学主修科。「我对了解经济理论及它们在日常生活的应用特别感兴趣。」中大自1963年创校以来,经济学便是有名的学科,吸引不少学生入读。根据2017年QS世界大学名次的学科排名,中文大学的经济学系在世界经济学与计量经济学领域内名列第四十六位。

芊霖看到香港其他大学都把经济学系归入商学院,中文大学却把经济学系置於社会科学院,应用範围广阔得多。经济系系主任张俊森教授说:「中大经济学系是社会科学院的成员,因为经济学不只是应用在商业上的理论,其用途实在十分广泛。」

经济学课程训练严格,学生得研习如何运用经济理论和统计工具来分析经济议题。学生须从分辨个案是否现有理论的新诠释,还是现有理论无法解释而须进一步研究,务求掌握经济知识和现象的要旨。张教授说:「这种思维模式不可少,学生可从中培养分析方法和求知之心,也就可以更有效地去了解这个世界。」

芊霖说经济学课程使她学会了认真看待数据。「我学会去找出数字和资料背後的意义,而不是光留意数字、数目、统计资料和预测的表面价值。这种训练给我信心和动力领悟数据内的讯息。我明白要自己的论点及假设站得住脚,一定要懂得运用数据。」

为了切合学生将来发展事业所需,课程提供下列五个专修範围,学生必须修毕最少两个:

  • 经济理论 — 最适合想成为出色研究员或者深造经济学的学生
  • 金融经济学 — 为打算从事金融业的学生而设
  • 商业经济学 — 为有兴趣在商业决定上运用经济学的学生而设
  • 中国经济 — 学系内教授中国经济的都是难得的一流人才
  • 数据分析 — 为对大数据有兴趣的学生而设;研习如何掌握处理、模型化和分析大数据的技巧,从而得出重要结论及了解其中深意

此外,为达至理论与实践相辅相成,经济学课程强调培养基本技能,尤其是数学、统计学和程序设计。张教授表示:「我们提供一系列丰富的科目、工作室、研习班和讲座,务求令学生全面接触学科,加强对不同主题的理解。我们也从世界各地邀请傑出的学者和专业人士来演讲,使学生有机会认识他们和彼此讨论经济学问题。」

芊霖亦善用学系的众多实习和交流机会。香港贸易发展局和特区政府统计处有只为中文大学主修经济学的学生而设的实习项目,学系更有主任支援学生的事业发展。课程亦和三间欧洲著名大学合作,组织交换学生计划,分别是荷兰乌得勒支大学、德国曼海姆大学和英国巴斯大学。据张教授的资料,中大经济学系有四分一学生参加海外大学的交流计划。

像芊霖一样,经济学课程的学生都特别喜欢探究人类行为和社会现象,全心全意学习有条理和严谨的分析方法,以解读观察所得。报读课程的学生成绩优异及面试表现出色者,学系设有奖学金以作鼓励。

课程现时每年录取约七十位新生。毕业生从事的工作範围广泛,种类亦多。「不少毕业生会继续学业,深造经济学,有些直接到美国攻读博士学位;不深造的,我们没有听过有谁是无工可做。有相当多学生投身银行及金融业,也有学生在其他行业工作的,例如地产和物业管理、船务、政策智库、政府、会计、法律、教育等等。毕业生从事的工作种类非常多。」

如果你也喜欢藉经济学发掘事物隐藏的一面,芊霖有这几句建议:「这个课程是易是难,视乎你的学习态度而已。最重要的是想清楚你想要甚麽,然後才去想别人可以给你些甚麽。四年的大学生活和人生相比其实很短,但这短短的四年可以带来巨大的改变。每个人的需要都不同,想想你有些甚麽独特的理由可以说服自己成为我们的一分子。」

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

ECONN

联招编号

JS4824

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 非联招(高年级入学), 国际生, 内地高考

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

Seeing the World through the Lens of Economics

Examination of any newspaper will demonstrate that more of the headlines address economic problems than any other topic. The importance and relevance of economic-related disciplines to the modern world led Michelle Chan to want to pursue the study of the subject at a higher level several years ago. ‘I was particularly interested in learning about the economic theories and their daily applications,’ she recalled. The Economics programme at CUHK caught her eye as economics has long been a signature discipline at the University since 1963, ranking in the top 46th in the world in the field of Economics and Econometrics, according to the QS World University Rankings by Subject 2017.

Further, Michelle noticed that while most Hong Kong universities have their economics departments housed within the business schools, economics is positioned as a social science at CUHK and has a much broader array of applications. ‘At CUHK, the Department of Economics is an integral member of the Faculty of Social Science. This structure makes it clear that economics is not just about applying the theories in business, but can be applied in numerous contexts,’ said Prof. Zhang Junsen, Chairman of the Department of Economics.

The programme provides rigorous training on the use of the economic theories and statistical tools for analyses related to issues of economic importance. The rigor of the training enables students to distinguish knowledge and phenomena that are merely new applications of existing economic theories from cases where existing theories cannot apply and further research would be needed. ‘This mind-set is necessary for our students to develop coherent analytical frameworks and the organic intellectual process in order to learn about the world more effectively and logically,’ said Professor Zhang.

When asked what she got out of the programme, Michelle said it taught her how to take data seriously. ‘I no longer take figures, numbers, statistics and estimates at their face value. Instead, I was encouraged to explore the meanings behind them. This training makes me feel more comfortable and eager to reveal the hidden messages behind the data. I realize the use of data in supporting my arguments and hypotheses is very important.’

To cater to each student’s career aspiration, a maximum of two of the following five concentration areas can be selected:

  • Economic Theory—ideal for those who aspire to becoming good researchers or to pursuing further studies in Economics
  • Financial Economics—for those who would like to work in the finance industry
  • Business Economics—for students interested in the use of economics in business decisions
  • Chinese Economy—the Department boasts a strong and unique faculty in the study of the Chinese economy
  • Data Analytics—for students interested in the handling, modelling and analysing of big data, in order to draw vital conclusions and develop key insights

In addition, to achieve a balance between theory and application, the Economics programme emphasizes the development of key skills, especially mathematics, statistics and programming. ‘We offer a wide range of courses, workshops, seminars and conferences to enhance our students’ exposure and understanding of various subject matters. Distinguished scholars and professionals around the world are regularly invited to give lectures, thereby allowing our students to have a chance to meet and discuss economic topics with them,’ said Professor Zhang.

Michelle has made good use of the many internship and exchange opportunities available. The Hong Kong Trade Development Council and the Census and Statistics Department of the HKSAR Government offer internships exclusively to CUHK economics majors. The Economics programme has a dedicated career officer to support the students’ career developments. The programme is also in partnership with three prestigious European universities—Utrecht University in the Netherlands, Universität Mannheim in Germany and University of Bath in the UK—in organizing exchange programmes. According to Professor Zhang, about a quarter of their students have had gone on exchange in overseas universities.

Like Michelle, students of the Economics programme are typically interested in examining human behaviours and social phenomena, and are committed to learning a coherent and rigorous analytical framework needed for such analyses. To recognize those admitted students with outstanding academic and interview performance, the Department has established admission scholarships for them.

The programme admits around 70 new students each year, and the career fields for its graduates are many and varied. ‘Quite a lot of our students go on to postgraduate programmes in economics. Some directly go to the PhD programmes in economics in the US. For those who do not pursue postgraduate studies, we hardly hear anyone having no job offers. A sizable number of students go to the banking and finance industry. We also have students working in other fields such as property and asset management, shipping, policy think tanks, the government, accounting, law, education, etc. The spectrum of jobs of our graduates is extremely wide,’ said Professor Zhang.

If you would also like to pick up the economic tools to explore the hidden side of everything, Michelle has this insider’s advice to offer: ‘This programme can be easy or hard, depending on your desire to learn. Most importantly, think about what you want to get before considering what others can give you. Four years of university life is short compared to an entire life, but big changes usually occur in those four years. Since everyone’s need is different, search for your own unique reason to convince yourself to become part of us.’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

ECONN

JUPAS Code

JS4824

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, Non-JUPAS Senior Year Entry, International, Mainland