往內容

本科课程

 

培育专业法律人士

在中文大学完成了法律学士课程後,朱雅颐将会攻读法律专业證书课程(PCLL),往法律界的发展又行前了一步。她已经有一份两年的培训合约,在一间国际商业法律师行任见习事务律师,这间律师行是以英国为总部的五大国际律师事务所之一。

据雅颐回想,她对读法律变得感兴趣是因为发觉法律知识几乎能应用於所有生活细节上,我们每天所作的决定,与社会上其他人的互动都受法律影响。她也想读一门有挑战性和刺激头脑的学科,法律正是磨练批判性思考、分析技能和语文能力的好方法。

雅颐没有失望。据她说,中大的法律学士课程「紧扣日常生活,亦贴近时事。从中我可以了解社会议题背後的来龙去脉,助我对这些议题建立自己的见解。」

中大的法律训练事实上也非常全面。法律学士课程的学生可以从多个临床科目中选择,包括「难民援助诊所」和「公众利益倡议诊所」,两者都安排学生香港非政府组织,由专家律师指导他们怎样帮助有需要的当事人。学生也可试用法律学院与商学院合办的金融科技「育成器」诊所,与商学院学生一起工作,发展初创企业。

雅颐说:「学习体验中我最喜欢的部分是可以在课堂以外学以致用。举例说,我参加的「新企业项目法律组」是学生主导的小组,由全职老师指导,在「前期初创育成中心」为初创企业提供法律知识。我们在一年之内举办了多个工作坊,还编製了一套词彙和一本常用合约名词手册,也筹备推出一个法律网誌,并作为不同初创企业的联络点。」

中大的法律学士课程於2006年开办,现在已是本地最佳的本科法律教育课程。学院助理院长(本科课程)兼法律学士课程主任Stuart Andrew Hargreaves教授说:「我们一开始便录取语文非常好的学生,他们的逻辑和批判性思考能力也很高,而且能合群和有寻根究柢的好学心。我们每年招收七十九名新生,公开试成绩最好的学生可获得法律学院的奖学金。」

雅颐说:「法律学生都是非常团结和友善的。我们有不同的学生组织,例如法律系系会和模拟法庭辩论学会,参加这些组织很容易交到朋友。我们也有足球队和篮球队这些体育队,时常和香港其他学院的法律系学生比赛。」

法律可以是很古老的学科,但教学法很创新和不断发展,特别是在中大法律学院。学院应用很多电子学习技术,包括翻转课堂、线上维基学习、流动电话聊天组和podcast,客座讲者也使用Skype和学生通话,学生可找到最适合自己的学习方法。

课程另一特色是成功的模拟法庭辩论。Hargreaves教授解释:「模拟法庭辩论是有竞争性的法律辩论,我们学院的队伍会和来自世界各地的队伍比赛。学生会用整个学期的时间接受培训,由学院老师指导撰写论据和作口头辩论,然後才出赛。」雅颐曾代表中大到新加坡比赛,她要在一场模拟法庭审讯中在对方的律师和法官小组前为当事人陈词辩护。Hargreaves教授接着说:「我们的模拟法庭辩论队赢得不少国际赛事,例如Philip C Jessup模拟法庭比赛、国际红十字会人道法律比赛,以及Willem C. Vis 国际商业仲裁模拟法庭辩论。我们的成功是得到学生、教练、老师和学院支持的成果。」

暑期海外学习课程是有学分的选修法律科目,与中国清华大学、澳洲悉尼大学和加拿大多伦多Osgoode Hall法律学院合办。课程目标是鼓励学生不但研习香港的法律和法律制度,也要体验广阔及多样化的法律教育,并且接触不同文化和法律制度。其他与中大法律学院合办交流计划的海外学府有意大利博科尼大学、荷兰马斯特里赫特大学、英国谢菲尔德大学、新西兰奥克兰大学、北京大学法律学院、中国清华大学法律学院、华东政法大学,以及国立臺湾大学法律学院。学生在交流计划课程中完成的某些学科可以转入中大的法律学士课程内以符合毕业所需的要求。

雅颐在中大的第四年曾参加交换及海外学习计划,前赴剑桥大学、悉尼大学和中国政法大学研习。她说:「在不同地方的顶尖学府学习,不但学业上的体验更深刻,也令我从融入不同文化和学会独立生活之中扩大了境界。」

法律学院设有一个职业规划与专业办公室,由国际有名的诉讼律师 Paul Mitchard御用大律师领导,热诚地为学生服务。办公室提供最新的律师事务所和实习工作及其他工作机会的资讯,亦指导学生怎样申请工作和预备履历,并提供其他资源以确保学生充分明瞭及作好準备投身现今这个充满挑战性的职场。

雅颐和她的同学都受惠於这些资源,她的实习也是利用这些资源得来的,包括在五大律师事务所其中两间的香港办事处工作,一份在澳洲的政府实习,还有这个夏天在一位美国国会女议员的地区办事处服务。她有感而发说:「我特别欣赏『傑出师友计划』,我在这个计划认识了一位执业事务律师,我的第一份法律实习工作便是这位律师给我的,我的职业生涯也因此而顺利开始。在这之前,我在法律界可是一点关係也没有。」

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

LAWSN

联招编号

JS4903

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 国际生, 内地高考

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

The Making of a Professional

After finishing her LLB at CUHK, Jessica Chu will study in the PCLL progarmme and get one step closer to a career in law. She is already given a training contract at a Magic Circle international commercial law firm (Magic Circle is a term to describe five leading international law firms headquartered in the UK) where she will work as a trainee solicitor for two years.

As Jessica recalled, she became interested in studying law because it has applications in almost every facet of daily life, and which affects our everyday decisions and interactions with people in society. She also wanted to study a challenging and intellectually stimulating subject, and law is a great way to sharpen one’s critical thinking, analytical skills, and language ability.

Jessica wasn’t disappointed. The Bachelor of Laws (LLB) programme at CUHK, according to her, ‘is very much anchored in daily life and in tune with current affairs. It allowed me to understand the broader context behind social issues and helped me develop my own perspective towards such issues.’

The extent of legal training at CUHK is indeed far and wide. LLB Students may choose from a range of clinical courses including the Refugee Assistance Clinic and the Public Advocacy Interest Clinic, which place students with partner NGOs in Hong Kong where they are supervised by expert lawyers to aid clients in need. Or they may try the FinTech ‘incubator’ clinic run in partnership with CUHK Business School, where they would work alongside business students to develop their start-ups.

Jessica recalled, ‘My favourite part of the learning experience was the ability to utilize my knowledge outside the classroom. For example, I joined the New Ventures Legal Team, a student-led group supervised by full-time faculty members, which provides startup companies with legal knowledge at the CUHK Pi-Centre. Throughout the year, we hosted legal workshops, created a glossary and summary of common contract terms, prepared to launch a legal blog, and acted as a contact point for individual startup firms.’

CUHK’s LLB programme was first established in 2006, but already it has established itself as the foremost undergraduate programme in local legal education. Prof. Stuart Andrew Hargreaves, Assistant Dean (Undergraduate Studies) and LLB Programme Director, said, ‘From the beginning, we have been recruiting students with exceptional linguistic, logical and critical thinking abilities, and a collaborative personality and intellectual curiosity. Each year we admit 79 new students and the Faculty of Law offers exchange scholarships to those with the best public exam results.’

Jessica said: ‘The law students are a closely knit, cohesive and friendly community. It is very easy to meet friends through joining the various student groups such as the Undergraduate Law Society and the Mooting Society. We also have sport teams such as the LLB Football and Basketball teams, which compete with teams from other LLB programmes in Hong Kong.’

While the study of law may be old, its teaching methods are innovative and evolving, particularly at CUHK. E-learning techniques including flipped classrooms, online wiki’s, mobile phone chat groups, podcasts, and guest lectures via Skype are utilized to enable the students to find a learning style that works well for them.

Another distinctive feature is their mooting success. Professor Hargreaves explained, ‘Mooting is a competitive form of legal debate in which teams from our Faculty compete with teams from around the world. Our students receive coaching in both written and oral argument from the faculty members throughout an entire semester before competing in a competition.’ Jessica herself had represented CUHK at a mooting competition in Singapore, which simulated a court trial where she had to orally defend a client in front of opposing counsel and a panel of judges. Professor Hargreaves continued, ‘Our mooting teams have won a variety of awards in international mooting competitions, such as the Philip C Jessup Moot Competition, Red Cross International Humanitarian Law Moot, and Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot. Our success is due to the collaborative efforts of students, coach, faculty members and the support of the Faculty.’

The Summer Study Abroard Programme (SSAP) is a credit-bearing law elective course in collaboration with Tsinghua University, the University of Sydney, and Osgoode Hall Law School in Toronto. SSAP is intended to encourage LLB students to learn not only about the law and the legal systems of Hong Kong, but also to experience a broad and diverse legal education and gain exposure to different cultures and legal systems. Other exchange partners of the Faculty include: Bocconi University, Maastricht University, the University of Sheffield, The University of Auckland, the Law School of Peking University, the Law School of Tsinghua University, East China University of Political Science and Law, and the College of Law at National Taiwan University. Some subjects completed on an exchange programme may be counted towards the fulfillment of the LLB degree.

During her four years at CUHK, Jessica had studied law subjects at the University of Cambridge, the University of Sydney, and the China University of Political Science and Law through exchange and study abroad programmes. She said, ‘Not only have these enhanced my academic experience through studying at top institutions in different continents, but they have also broadened my horizons through immersing myself in different cultures and learning to live independently overseas.’

The Faculty of Law has a dedicated Office of Career Planning and Professionalism, led by the internationally renowned litigator Mr. Paul Mitchard QC, which provides LLB students with up-to-date information on law firms and internship and other employment opportunities. It also provides students with guidance on job applications, CV preparation and other resources designed to ensure that students are fully informed and equipped for preparing for and entering into what today is a challenging job market.

Like her other classmates, Jessica was a beneficiary of these career resources which secured for her internships such as those at two Magic Circle law firms in Hong Kong, a government internship abroad in Australia, and one at a US Congresswoman’s district office this summer. She reflected, ‘I particularly appreciate their Distinguished Mentorship Programme, which connected me to a practicing solicitor who offered me my first legal internship, and made it easier for me to kick-start my portfolio as I had no prior connection in the legal sector.’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

LAWSN

JUPAS Code

JS4903

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, International, Mainland