往內容

本科課程

 

創新醫學教育:仁心仁術仁醫

中文大學醫學院於1981年成立,最近在QS世界大學排名中列居亞洲醫學院第五位,而且是前十大院校中最年輕一員。排名成功顯示學院致力創新,這在學院的課程設計和教學上有目共睹。

陳劻晴是2019年的醫科畢業生,隨時可以為學院「改變、創造、多元化」的能力作證。她修讀的是內外全科醫學士課程,最欣賞的是課程有「發揮創造力的空間」

正因為着重創造力,學院有不少學生倡導的計劃。事實上,醫學院的課程內有很強的研究環節,以鼓勵創新。

學院的用意是使學生早點有研究經驗,從而藉生物醫學知識和臨床研究充實醫術。按學院的暑期研究實習計劃,一年級和二年級的醫科學生可在生物醫學學院的科學家指導下進行為期兩個月的研究。

受訓中的醫生有穩固的生物醫學基礎,對疾病的科學成因會有更透徹的了解,將來行醫時便可以選擇最好的治療和疾病管理形式。

對研究有興趣的學生也可以在教授的指導下進行研究。2014年,劻晴參與一個研究腦退化症的計劃,主導計劃的是她的導師莫仲棠教授。

她對所有鼓勵她探索臨床研究的指導老師都心存感激。「我開始做研究時,他們全力支持,我有很多機會到他們的實驗室和參與他們的計劃。這些機會有助我提出自己的『虛擬研究實驗室』計劃。」

劻晴利用從研究計劃中所得的數據,和幾個同學組隊參加東亞醫科學生聯合會主辦的論文比賽。劻晴的隊伍擊敗了來自其他九間醫學院的參賽者。

除了老師指導外,同儕的扶持對劻晴的學業也是一大裨益。醫學訓練要求很高和壓力大,有誰比同舟的人更明白箇中滋味?

「醫科的高要求令我們關係更緊密,彼此相濡以沫,互相鼓勵堅持下去。沒有這些朋友的支持,我絕對走不到這麼遠。」

研究環節並非中大醫科的唯一特色;學院的課程設計事實上亦切合了社會現時及日漸浮現的需要。

「內外全科醫學士課程是不斷變化和改良的,在這個過程中,學生也受到啟發跟着這樣做。」

自2013年成立以來,環球醫學領袖培訓專修組別與時並進,藉著個人化的教學和指導,領袖培訓,以及人道考察等,匡助有潛質的學生提升學習成果和效率,從而配合社會需求,培育更多有見識和公民意識的仁醫,關心病人,以病人的利益為先。

除了環球醫學領袖培訓專修組別外,學院對專業精神和全面發展的重視亦可見於內外全科醫學士課程上。學院和哥倫比亞大學合作,推出一項網上互動的生物倫理學課程,針對探討一些醫學界最具爭議性的焦點議題,例如基因工程等。另外,中大又和牛津大學合作成立災害與人道救援研究所,為學生提供人道救援工作的實習機會。至於希望拓展醫科以外範圍的學生,亦可以參加非醫科的海外交流計劃和書院的交流計劃,或選擇到海外學府做實習研究。

劻晴是環球醫學領袖培訓專修組別的一員,她很感激有這個計劃,使她可以探索課本知識以外的醫學世界,那些如人道工作和臨床研究等學習機會並不是所有醫科生都可以有的。

劻晴說:「我有機會參與不同的腦神經科、外科、兒科和肝臟科的臨床研究,也曾經到四川訪問,看到農村地區的醫療運作。醫學知識應該按不同情況應用,我從中很實在地領悟到行醫的意義,而要做一個好醫生,我們應該要思想開明和心胸廣闊。」

劻晴對她在中大讀醫的反思是一個好例子,矢志以仁心服務者,才堪當仁術仁醫。

刊登時間:2017年 夏
最後更新:2019年 夏

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

The 6-year full-time Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery programme (MBChB) (JS4501) adopts a unique SMART medical curriculum, allowing us to nurture competent and compassionate doctors who are amply qualified both to meet the challenges of modern-day health care and to serve the community with clinical excellence and passion. Students with an outstanding academic performance are also given the option to enter Year 2 directly.

In addition to MBChB curriculum, students admitted to the Global Physician-Leadership Stream (JS4502) will attend leadership skills training courses to nourish their global perspectives and leadership competencies, as well as become future physician leaders in health policy, education, research or other promising fields in medical and health sciences.

After the successful completion of a one-year internship in an approved local hospital, graduates become registered medical practitioners in Hong Kong.

Innovative Medical Education: Helping the Best Give their Best

Established in 1981, the CUHK Faculty of Medicine has recently been rated fifth among the medical schools in Asia by Quacquarelli Symonds, and the youngest on the top 10 league. The Faculty’s ranking success is reflective of its commitment to innovation, a trait that has made its mark on the Faculty’s curricular design and pedagogy.

Nicole Phoebe Tanner, a newly medical graduate (MBChB 2019), is ready to vouch for the Faculty’s ‘ability to embrace change, creativity and diversity’. Enrolled in the Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBChB) programme, Nicole said that what she values most about the programme is ‘the space to be creative’.

It is this respect for creativity that helps spawn student-initiated projects. In fact, the Faculty of Medicine encourages innovation by building a strong research component in its curriculum.

The Faculty is intent on providing early research experience to students such that they can enrich their medical practice with biomedical knowledge and clinical research. Under the Summer Research Internship Programme, Year 1 or Year 2 medical students can undertake research over a span of two months with the guidance of scientists from the School of Biomedical Sciences.

Budding medical practitioners who have gained a firm foothold in biomedical sciences can better explain the scientific bases for diseases, and select the best form of treatment or management of diseases when they ply their trade in future.

Students interested in research can also conduct research under the tutelage of professors. In 2014, Nicole participated in a dementia research project initiated by her mentor Prof. Vincent Mok.

She is grateful for all her mentors who have encouraged her to dig into clinical research. “When I began pursuing research, they gave me their endless support and many opportunities to visit their labs and to attach to their projects. Such opportunities have helped me to initiate my own project, the ‘Virtual Research Lab.’”

By using the data gathered from the research project, Nicole and a team of students participated in a paper contest hosted by the East Asian Medical Students’ Conference. Nicole’s team managed to beat the other contestants from nine medical schools.

Mentorship aside, peer support has proved a boon to Nicole’s academic pursuits. Medical training can be demanding and stressful, and no one knows this better than your friends who are going through the same trials.

‘The demands of medicine have helped us grow closer to each other, and to learn to comfort and encourage each other to persist. I definitely would not have gone this far without the support of my friends.’

A strengthened research component is not the only feature that distinguishes CUHK’s medical education; in fact, the Faculty makes sure that its curricular design addresses both current and emerging needs of society.

‘The MBChB programme is always changing and improving, and in the process, inspires its students to do the same.’

Global Physician-Leadership Stream (GPS) was launched in 2013 in response to changes in the healthcare sector and the challenges ahead, aiming to help promising students pursue their studies in an accelerated and streamlined manner through customized teaching, leadership training, mentorship, humanitarian expeditions and more. The objective of GPS is to meet society’s demand for knowledgeable, civic-minded, and caring healers who put their patients’ interests first.

On top of GPS, the Faculty’s emphasis on professionalism and all-round development also informs the tenor of the MBChB programme. Together with Columbia University, the Faculty is running an online, interactive bioethics course that tackles some of the most controversial and heated debates facing the medical community, such as genetic engineering. Internship opportunities are available at the Collaborating Centre for Oxford University and CUHK for Disaster and Medical Humanitarian Response. For those who wish to extend their scope beyond the medical field, they can sign up for overseas exchange programmes in non-medicine subjects and exchange programmes organized by the Colleges. Research internships in overseas institutions are also available for CUHK medical students.

A member of GPS, Nicole is grateful that the initiative allows her to explore the world of medicine beyond textbook knowledge, offering learning opportunities otherwise unavailable to medical students, including humanitarian work and clinical research.

“I had the opportunity to participate in multiple clinical research projects in neurology, surgery, paediatrics and hepatology. I visited Sichuan to see how medicine could be applied in a rural setting. By applying my medical knowledge in different contexts, I am learning in action the value of medicine, and that to be a good doctor, one should be open-minded and diverse,’ said Nicole.

Nicole’s reflection on her medical training at CUHK is an example of how the determination to serve with humility can help us be our best and to give the best.

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2019