往內容

本科课程

 

好知敏求

中文大学有香港最大的哲学系,培养学生严谨的思辨能力和卓越的沟通技巧,也为他们日後从事学术研究奠下稳固基础。哲学本科生课程於2017及2018连续两年的QS大学学科排名位列亚洲之冠。

「自唐君毅教授出任奠系系主任以来,哲学系一直坚守其中国哲学传承的角色,并秉承这传统继续发展,对中国、亚洲、英美和欧陆哲学的教学和研究同样重视,课程範围之整全不论在本地或国际均属罕见。」学系主任张锦青教授说。

吴镇星是哲学系三年级学生,他忆述为何选择这门古老的学科作主修。

「我想读一门可以满足求知慾的学科。在浏览中文大学的本科生课程网页时,哲学系给我深刻印象,课程不但全面,学生更可以在国际知名学者指导下探讨各种的哲学课题。」

在哲学系三年,镇星和老师的关係亲厚,好几位更是亦师亦友。

「他们的教学和研究工作都很忙,但下课後仍花时间和我们讨论作业及回答我们的问题。有些老师甚至请我们吃午饭,还与我们一起去远足。」

镇星也很享受与同班同学一起学习和相处的时光,在他眼中,这些同学是「讲习之友」。

「我们时常讨论甚至辩论不同的哲学题目,一谈便停不了。每学期我们都会组织学习小组,为堂课、阅读班和考试作準备。除了学习外,我们还一起去旅行和参加其他活动,暂时放下功课,舒展身心。」

哲学系每年录取二十八至三十五名新生。为了协助新生适应大学生活,学系十多年前开始推行指导计划,近年更由全职讲师负责指导一年级新生,每学期最少会面两至三次。

张教授说:「学系鼓励主修哲学的学生选读副修科,并给他们足够的自由度去找一门自己有兴趣的副修科。」

课程还鼓励学生修读哲学时有跨学科的视野,兼收并蓄;镇星对哲学科亦因此有全新的看法:「研习哲学并不是专注思想理论那麽简单,教授引导我们去思考不同思想学派的社会文化背景,我们对知性历史的发展也有更全面的了解。教授还鼓励我们运用从哲学课中学到的知识,分析当前世界议题的成因,并提出有创意的解决办法。」

主修哲学的学生毕业後可以做甚麽?这是朋友和家人时常会问的问题,镇星从来不会迴避。

「我会请朋友放心,哲学系毕业生可发展的事业多的是。我们受的训练是多阅读勤撰述,在撰写论文上和在课堂讨论时,条理分明地表达自己的观点。接受了这些训练,我们培养到慎思明辨的能力和不囿於成见的心胸,而且有傑出的沟通和解决问题的技巧。我可以预见日後发展事业时这些技巧和特质都会大派用场,就像同系的师兄师姊,他们现时在法律、商业、资讯科技,还有公共服务等行业都有很好的表现。」

哲学系亦和校友紧密合作,为本科学生提供不同行业的实习机会,例如文化、出版、广告、电影和电视、剧团和教育等。学生不但可以取得宝贵的工作经验,还可以磨练技巧和建立人脉,对他们的事业发展甚有裨益。

镇星觉得,「修读哲学也许不能助你解答所有人生的问题。不过与老师和同学一起探索哲学课题,研习历史上伟大人物的思想,在求知上是最大的得着。」

他鼓励同样热爱求知的学生加入哲学系的大家庭。「如果你读哲学书觉得感兴趣,想多了解这学科,不要考虑那麽多了,準备申请入读哲学系吧。你会发觉这裏的老师和同学都能给予你知性上的启发,使你一生受用无穷。」

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

PHILN

联招编号

JS4094

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 非联招(高年级入学), 国际生, 内地高考

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

For the Love of Wisdom

Offered by the largest philosophy department in Hong Kong, the undergraduate programme in Philosophy at CUHK prepares its students for advanced research in philosophy and equips them with critical thinking and outstanding communication skills. In two consecutive years, 2017 and 2018, the programme has been ranked first among all peer programmes in Asia according to the QS University ranking by subject.

‘Ever since the time when Prof. Tang Chun-I was the first Chairman, the Department has firmly established itself as a stronghold of Chinese philosophy. Built on such a legacy, the Department further developed and adopted the integrated approach to structure its research and teaching, with equal emphasis on Chinese and comparative philosophy, Anglo-American philosophy and Continental and European philosophy,’ remarked Prof. Cheung Kam-ching Leo, Chairman of the Department of Philosophy at CUHK.

Ng Chun-sing, a Year 3 student in the Department of Philosophy at CUHK, recalled the reasons why he chose to major in one of the oldest academic disciplines.

‘I was looking for a programme that would satisfy my intellectual curiosity. When I came across the website of CUHK’s undergraduate programme in Philosophy, I was impressed by its comprehensive curriculum, which allows students to explore a wide range of philosophical topics under the guidance of internationally renowned philosophy scholars,’ he said.

After spending three years in the Department of Philosophy, Chun-sing has developed a very close relationship with his teachers—some of them have even become his friends.

‘Amidst their busy teaching and research schedule, our teachers would still spend time after class to discuss with us about our assignments and answer our questions. Some of them even brought us to lunch and went hiking with us,’ said Chun-sing.

Chun-sing also enjoys studying and hanging out with his fellow classmates, whom he refers to as his ‘companions in the journey of academic pursuits.’

‘We spend hours discussing and even debating over various topics on philosophy. Every semester, our classmates form study groups to prepare for the lectures, reading seminars and examinations. Apart from studying, they also organize outings and other activities so that we can take a break from our coursework and de-stress,’ said Chun-sing.

Each year, 28–35 new students join the Department’s undergraduate programme. To help these new students get used to life as a Philosophy major at CUHK, a mentorship system was introduced more than 10 years ago. In recent years, full-time lecturers are assigned to mentor new students during their first year of study. At least two to three meetings are held between the students and the lecturers each semester.

‘After they have declared their majors and entered the Philosophy programme, the students are encouraged to pursue a minor discipline. Our curriculum provides sufficient freedom for them to explore whatever subjects they may be interested in,’ said Prof. Cheung.

The programme encourages students to adopt an inter-disciplinary perspective in the study of philosophy, which has changed Chun-sing’s perception of the subject itself. ‘Instead of merely focusing on the study of philosophical ideologies, our professors have enlightened us to look at the socio-cultural backgrounds that contribute to the rise of various schools of thoughts, so that we could have a more comprehensive view on the development of intellectual history. We are also encouraged to use the knowledge obtained from our Philosophy classes to analyze the causes and propose creative solutions for existing global issues.’

However, it is not uncommon for students of philosophy to encounter friends and families who wonder what a philosophy major can do after graduation. Chun-sing has never shied away from a question like this.

‘I would reassure my friends that there are actually plenty of career options for a philosophy graduate. As philosophy students, we are trained to read and write extensively, as well as to articulate our ideas in research papers and during in-class discussions. These trainings have allowed us to cultivate a critical and creative mind, and to acquire outstanding communication and problem-solving skills.  I can see myself applying these skills and qualities in my future career, just like many of our Department’s graduates, who are now working in the fields of law, business, information technology and the public sector,’ he said.

The Department of Philosophy also works closely with its alumni to arrange placement opportunities for its undergraduate students in various sectors, such as culture, publishing, advertising, movie and television, theatre and education. Students not only gain valuable working experience, but also develop skills and networks beneficial to their career development.

‘Studying philosophy would probably not give you an answer to all questions in life. Yet it is intellectually rewarding to explore these philosophical questions with your teachers and classmates and to study the thoughts of some of the greatest minds in history,’ said Chun-sing.

He encourages those who share the same love of wisdom to join the Philosophy cohort, ‘if you find it interesting to read philosophy books and wish to know more about the subject, then don’t spend too much time thinking.  Start working on your applications and join us. You will find teachers and classmates who will offer you the intellectual inspiration that will make a lasting impact on your life.’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

PHILN

JUPAS Code

JS4094

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, Non-JUPAS Senior Year Entry, International, Mainland