往內容

本科课程

 

寓倡於教

全球化、流行病、环境恶化、贫穷,这些只不过是影响公共卫生政策和推行的其中几项因素。今天,很多公认的名牌大学都设有公共卫生课程,为希望成为经验丰富的卫生保健专才的年轻人提供全面训练。而中文大学是香港首间开办公共卫生本科生课程的大学。

古怪疾病酿成公共卫生恐慌,香港人也许不必多说已明白。很多时候,科学家还未找到作恶的细菌,感染可能已蔓延,肆虐至不易收拾的局面。为了确保大家保持警觉,我们应该在公共衞生教育上多做工夫。

推广公共卫生需要各种各样的技巧和协调,所以公共卫生课程涵盖的学科甚广,包括生物统计、环境卫生、社会与行为科学、卫生服务、公共卫生政策、管理、法律,以及工程。

「我们为立志成为公共卫生专业人员的人才提供学习机会,培养他们在管理卫生服务的知识和技能、控制及预防传染病,以及向未来世代提倡健康生活政策的制定作全局性规划。」赛马会公共卫生及基层医疗学院院长杨永强教授说。

何珈其是四年级学生,很满意课程的广度和深度。

珈其说:「学习很全面,我对公共卫生在社会上的角色有很完整的认识。除了生理因素外,社会、环境和政治问题都可以引致疾病的出现和传播。公共卫生的专业人员因此必须不囿於成规,以新思维的策略处理公共卫生问题和制定解决方案,并且评估政策和措施的成效。」

制定公共卫生政策可以是冗长及多争议的,而且辩论不休的过程,有时要寻求国际合作。珈其很幸运,曾经到纽约的联合国总部,采访不同国家的卫生专家和决策者出席的会议。

「我很开心可以出席国际性会议,撰写有关国际及医护议题的文章。中大的训练很有用,有助我从这次联合国之行中学到更多。」

中大的课程把课堂上的学习和课外活动结合得很好。

杨教授说:「除了课堂学习,体验学习和国际经验也是课程的一个重要环节。学生可从这些活动中对公共卫生会有更透彻和全面的了解。」

举例说,学生可以参加交换计划,到海外大学学习一个学期。学院也组织暑期考察团。

在专业发展方面,学生必须完成一百小时的实习。学生也获分配指导员,得到职业规划的意见。学院更为每年级的学生委任协调员,负责学生的学业和个人发展。

对珈其来说,修读公共卫生课程引领他接触到不同範畴的知识,对他的专业和个人成长都很有用。他呼籲聪明好学而立志在医护业发展的年轻人加入。

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

PHPCN

联招编号

JS4537

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 国际生, 内地高考

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

Championing Public Health Through Education

Globalization, epidemics, environmental degradation, poverty, etc, are just a few of the factors affecting our public health policies and practices. Today, many well-established universities offer public health programmes, providing broad-based training for young people hoping to become seasoned healthcare professionals. And CUHK is the first and only university in Hong Kong to offer an undergraduate public health programme.

Hong Kong people probably do not need much introduction to the consequences of mysterious diseases spiraling into public health scares. Very often, before scientists get a good grasp of the culprit virus, the infection may have wreaked enough havoc to show how unprepared we are. To make sure people stay vigilant, we should spend more effort on public health education.

The promotion of public health requires diverse skills and coordination, and therefore the curriculum of a public health programme usually encompasses a wide range of disciplines, including biostatistics, environmental health, social and behavioural science, health services, public health policy, management, finance, law, and engineering.

‘We offer learning opportunities to talent who aspire to be public health professionals, so that they are equipped with the knowledge and skills to plan strategically for the proper management of health services, the control and prevention of infectious diseases, as well as decide what policies are best to promote healthier lifestyles for future generations,’ Prof. Yeoh Eng-kiong , Director of the Jockey Club School of Public Health and Primary Care said.

Kelvin Ho, a Year 4 student, is satisfied with the breadth and depth of the programme.

‘The comprehensiveness of this study offers me a full picture of the role of public health in society. Physiological factors aside, social, environmental, and political issues can lead to the emergence and diffusion of diseases. Public health professionals thus have to come up with creative strategies in tackling public health problems, formulating solutions, and evaluating efficacy of policies and measures,’ Kelvin said.

The formulation of public health policies could be a tedious, controversial and contentious process, sometimes calling for international collaboration. Kelvin was fortunate enough to be able to visit the United Nations headquarters in New York to cover the meetings attended by decision-makers and health professionals hailing from different countries.

‘I really enjoyed attending the meetings and writing up articles relating to international and healthcare issues. My training at CUHK helped me get the most out of my trip to the United Nations.’

The CUHK programme has a good combination of classroom learning and extra-curricular activities.

‘In addition to classroom learning, experiential learning and international exposure also constitute an important component of the programme. Through such experiences, students will have a more thorough and holistic understanding of public health,’ Professor Yeoh said.

For example, students can go on exchange in overseas universities for one semester of year. Summer study tours are also available.

On professional development, students are required to complete 100 hours of practicum and they are assigned mentors who advise them on career planning. The School also appoints cohort coordinators responsible for supporting students’ academic and personal development.

To Kelvin, public health studies has opened him to different fields of knowledge useful for both his professional and personal growth. He called on inquisitive, bright, young minds who aspire to pursue a healthcare career to join this programme.

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

PHPCN

JUPAS Code

JS4537

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, International, Mainland