往內容

本科课程

 

圣灵之旅

冯颂文是中文大学宗教研究课程的毕业生。对她来说,大学不单是求知识和取得将来就业所需技能的地方,也是思考的天地,她可以探索一些和人类有关的基本问题,以及研究不同宗教对这些问题的各种各样解答。

「宗教是人类文明的主要组件。彻底了解宗教有助跨文化沟通和促进互相理解,这对在私在公的人际关係,以至不同族群和不同宗教传统的国家来说都很重要。」文化及宗教研究系系主任谭伟伦教授说。

中文大学的宗教研究课程让本科学生得以探索和分析世上的主要宗教,着重明辨慎思,而且以跨学科方法研习。学生得以接触不同学科的研究方法,例如社会学、哲学和心理学,从而应用在研究宗教之上。

课程亦述及宗教如何启发古今的文化艺术创作过程,例如绘画、雕塑、建築、文学、戏剧、电影和音乐。宗教信仰到今天仍有影响力,在塑造世界各地政治领袖的思想和社会运动上举足轻重。学生也会研习宗教在不同社会、政治和经济系统在形成时所起的作用。

「课程鼓励学生认识宗教如何超越时间和文化与全球的人类文明互相影响,也认识宗教的教义和实践在不同地域的分别。以地理上来说,我们希望同学能够集中在中国和一带一路的主要宗教的实践。」

学生也有机会往海外考察,作实地观察,取得宗教如何影响人们日常生活的资料。

颂文觉得海外考察是课程内最难忘的学习经验。

「我有机会参观道观、佛寺和印度庙,还有基督教堂和回教坟场。我仍然记得那情景──走进宗教性的建築物,细看那些结构和装饰,观察不同的宗教礼仪,和宗教领袖及信众倾谈,实是难忘。这都是我大学四年裏最印象深刻的经验,我从考察中的得着,比单从书本和档案中学到的要多。」

考察经验也令师生关係更密切。课程现时每年录取二十名新生。每班相对较小之下,学生彼此非常熟稔,讨论学业和社会议题时均畅言无忌。

学生在学业上有困难时可向导师求助。他们也随时可以向导师请教,以拟定功课和研究的专题重心。

宗教研究儘管不是事业导向的课程,但颂文有信心磨练到毕业後实现梦想的所需技巧。

「课程的训练很宝贵,培养到学生严谨思考的能力和独立研究的技巧,还有跨文化的认识,以及同理心和包容胸襟。我从课程中也学到如何解释和理解环球大事。将来做老师时,这些训练肯定很有用。」

她希望和年轻一代探讨灵性的重要,引导他们找寻人生的幸福和意义。

很多宗教研究课程毕业生和颂文一样,追求有意义的事业。他们服务的行业包括政府、媒体和出版、新闻、广告、商业、旅遊和非政府组织,表现出色。部分毕业生则在本地和海外研究院深造或从事正式的宗教训练。

课程录取的对象是主动而积极学习的学生,并具备良好的口语和写作沟通技巧,以及对国际议题有认识。修读这个课程的学生必须有创意和求知慾,解决问题的能力要好,还要有开放的胸襟。

修毕四年宗教研究课程,颂文对有兴趣入读的中学毕业生有几句话要说:

「宗教研究课程训练你带着同情心聆听,慎思明辨,说话得体。这些品质不但是将来事业成功的要素,也使你成为有智慧和谦虚的知识分子。」

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

RELSN

联招编号

JS4109

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 非联招(高年级入学), 国际生, 内地高考

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

A Spiritual Journey

Cherrie Fung is a graduate of Religious Studies at CUHK. For her, the university is not only a place to gain knowledge and skills for her future employment, but also where she could explore some of the fundamental questions of human existence, and study how various religions respond to these questions in many different ways.

‘Religion is a major component of human civilization. An in-depth understanding on religion would enable inter-cultural communication and promote mutual understandings within families, workplaces, among different ethnic groups and nations of different religious traditions,’ remarked Prof. Tam Wai-lun, Chair of the Department of Cultural and Religious Studies.

The Religious Studies programme at CUHK offers its undergraduate students the opportunities to explore and analyze the world’s major religions critically with an interdisciplinary approach. Students are exposed to the research methodologies of various academic disciplines, such as sociology, philosophy and psychology, and are encouraged to apply these methodologies in their research and study on religion.

The programme also introduces how religion has inspired the creative process of great paintings, sculptures, architecture, literature, theatre, film and music of the past and present. Students can also study the role of religion in formation of various social, political and economic systems, as religious beliefs continue to play a significant part in shaping the ideologies of political leaders and social movements around the world.

‘Students of the programme are encouraged to look at the ways religion interacts with human civilization across time and cultures around the globe, and how its beliefs and practices vary in different regions. Geographically, we encourage our students to focus on the major religion practices in China and along The Belt and Road region,’ said Professor Tam.

The programme also provides its students with opportunities for overseas fieldtrips and enables them to obtain first-hand information by observing how religion affects people’s daily lives.

Cherrie finds the fieldtrip opportunities one of the most impressive learning experiences offered by the programme:

‘I had the chance to visit Taoist shrines, Buddhist and Hindu temples, Christian churches, and Islamic cemeteries. I still remembered the moments when I entered different religious architectures, examined their structures and decorations, observed various religious rituals and spoke to the religious leaders and believers. These experiences left a strong impression in my undergraduate years. I was able to learn more in these visits than simply obtaining information from books or archives,’ recalled Cherrie.

The fieldtrip experiences also foster a close relationship between the teachers and students. Each year, the programme enrolls 20 new undergraduates. With a relatively small class, students in the Religious Studies programme know each other very well and they are always comfortable to share with each other their opinions on academic and social issues.

Students can also consult their academic advisors when they encounter difficulties with their studies. They are also encouraged to discuss with their academic advisors and decide a thematic focus for their coursework and research.

Religious Studies may not be a career-oriented progamme. However, Cherrie is confident that the programme has prepared her with the necessary skills to realize her dream after graduation.

‘The programme offers me valuable trainings in terms of critical thinking, independent research skills, as well as cross-cultural understanding, empathy and tolerance. It also gives me the perspective to explain and understand major global events. I am sure that these trainings would be useful for my future career as a school teacher,’ Cherrie said.

She would like to explore the importance of spirituality with the younger generations and guide them to find true happiness and meanings in life.

Similar to Cherrie, many graduates in Religious Studies pursue meaningful and successful careers in the government, media and publishing, journalism, advertising, business, education, travel and tourism, as well as NGOs. Some of them would further their studies in local and overseas graduate schools or undertake formal religious trainings.

The programme is looking for students who are self-motivated and eager to learn, with good verbal and written communication skills and are sensitive of international issues. Students of the programme need to be creative and curious, with good problem-solving skills and an open attitude.

As a student who has gone through four years of undergraduate trainings in Religious Studies, Cherrie has a few words to share with secondary school graduates who are interested in the programme:

‘The Religious Studies programme will train you to listen compassionately, think critically and speak thoughtfully. These qualities are not only essential for success in your future career, but also enable you to become a wise and humble intellectual,’ said Cherrie.

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

RELSN

JUPAS Code

JS4109

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, Non-JUPAS Senior Year Entry, International, Mainland