往內容

本科课程

 

朝圣学徒

崇基神学院是香港唯一由多个宗派合办、也是华人社会裏唯一设於公立大学的神学院。学院在1972年首次颁授神学文学士学位,经过几十年的发展,今天的神学本科生课程在区内有数。课程理论与实践并重,为教会培养神职工作和领导人才。

学院院长邢福增教授说:「学院致力藉基督教传统内的学术研习,加深对上帝的认知,彰显其爱。我们也关心社会公义,并且以不同方式身体力行,务求学生增进知识,并且磨练服务教会以至社会的能力。」

谭永亨自高中开始已是虔诚的基督徒,渴望深入了解教义,更上层楼认识信仰。教会的讲授已难以满足求知之心,於是选择修读中文大学的神学课程,冀为灵命注入新意义。

永亨现在是四年级学生,觉得课程最可贵的是令他重新思考基督信仰。他认识到信仰的多维性,面对上帝的安排只感到谦卑。

严谨思考和信仰骤然听来似乎并不相容,但学院极着重培养学生的慎思明辨能力。邢教授说:「课程训练学生的严谨思辨能力,有助他们贡献社会。学生应有能力以专业身分从牧养事工的角度处理当前的社会议题。培育年轻人有明确的价值观和道德判断很重要。」

全日制学生须按课程要求在神学楼住宿,邢教授强调宿舍生活的重要在於「鼓励学生积极参与大学生活,充分把握机会与老师和同学在课馀相处。」

永亨觉得同学之间的团契生活是在中大修读神学不可或缺的一面。「同学年龄参差,教育背景、工作经验和所属教会也各有不同。大家各有己见,辩过不休,但都互相关心。在灵命的培育上,人生经验较丰富的会指导阅历较浅的。在团契裏你会找到此生不渝的友谊。」

慎思明辨的态度其实有助巩固一个人的信仰,正如永亨所说:「这裏的训练改变了我对神学的看法。在教会内,观点必然会有局限。但神学院的开放立场和严谨态度,以及对普世核心价值的执着,使我们可以从正统以外和以内的角度看事物。」

永亨难忘教授「不会告诉我们甚麽是真理,但示範给我们看对不同的人来说甚麽才是真。我们接触到不同派别的教义和礼仪,由此而反思和形成自己的神学观点。」

除了学术训练外,教授和学生亦定期有聚会,例如学期内每星期四的晚餐聚会。每次聚会包括了崇拜、聚餐和师生间的分享。这些活动不但对学生的灵性发展和舍堂生活有益,也鼓励他们和教授交谈及不拘形式地提出他们对学习意见。

现代神学是外向伸展而非内观的。据永亨的说法,即是「不断把握更多的神学观点。我时常反思自己的个人信仰,透过分享我的学习成果,我尽力向社会传达上帝的讯息。」

体验式学习对灵性修习课也同样重要。为了增强学生的文化意识和扩阔他们的境界,学院自2011年起与有合作关係的国际神学院合办海外学习团。神学院每年亦会举办两次参观本地教会的活动,使学生得以实地观察香港不同教派的操作。学生还会定期到监狱探访,学习实际所需的事工技巧。

邢教授补充说:「学生必须认识中国大陆教会的最新发展,所以学院自1996年起每年组织一次师生活动,到中国不同地方访问当地的神学院和教会。」

中大的神学学生必须到教会和基督教组织实习,实践所学,在现实生活的处境中反思神学和神学研究的概念。这个实习环节为学生提供机会去掌握事工的知识,目的在把正规大学教育和事工生活连接起来。

唸神学是否需义无反顾的信?

永亨说:「如果你对现在所信的不十分满意,愿意更进一步和重新思考基督教,我真的希望你加入我们,我们可以一起去了解上帝为年轻人所作的安排。」

刊登时间:2017年 夏
最後更新:2018年 夏

课程编号

THEON

联招编号

JS4111

开放申请

联招, 非联招(一年级入学), 国际生, 内地高考

Skip to main content

Programmes

 

The Pilgrim Pupils

The Divinity School of Chung Chi College is the only multi-denominational divinity school in Hong Kong. It is also the only divinity school housed in a public university in Chinese societies. It conferred its first BA in theology major in 1972. Today, the BA in Theology programme has developed into one of the leading programmes in the region providing theoretical and practical learning in theology that prepares students for ministry and church leadership positions.

Prof. Ying Fuk-tsang, Director of the School, said, ‘The School is committed to fostering the knowledge and love of God through its scholarly engagement within the Christian tradition. It is also committed to social justice and practical engagement in a variety of ways that will empower its students to develop their knowledge and sharpen their skill to serve the Church and the society at large.’

Tam Wing-hang, a devout Christian since high school but who found the church’s instructions had not satisfied his quest for deeper knowledge and greater faith, chose to study theology at CUHK to instill new meanings into his spiritual life.

Now in his fourth year, Wing-hang found the most valuable thing about the programme is that it can renew his thinking about the Christian faith. He has learned about the multi-dimensionality of his faith and felt humble in God’s scheme of things.

Critical thinking and faith might sound incompatible at first. But the former is actually what the School values the most in its students’ education. Professor Ying said, ‘The programme provides training in critical and analytical thinking that would facilitate their making contributions to society. The students should be able to address important social and moral issues of our day as professionals with a pastoral orientation. It is significant to nurture young people to develop a stance in value and moral judgment.’

Full-time students are expected to be in residence in the Theology Building. Professor Ying stressed the importance of hostel living as it ‘helps to encourage the students to take an active part in university life and make full use of the opportunities to meet with the lecturers and fellow students outside classroom.’

Wing-hang saw fellowships with other students an essential facet of studying theology at CUHK: ‘You’d meet students of different ages, educational backgrounds, work experiences and church affiliations. We argue and debate, but we also care for each other. The more experienced in life would guide the less so in spiritual matters. You’d meet your life’s friends at the fellowships.’

A critical stance actually helps to consolidate one’s faith, as Wing-hang said, ‘The training here has changed the way I look at theology. One is necessarily limited in one’s view from the inside of the Church. But the School’s open attitude, critical stance and emphasis on universal core values have enabled us to see things from the unorthodox as well as the orthodox perspectives.’

Wing-hang was impressed by the professors who ‘would not tell us what the truth is but rather show us in class what is true to different people. We are exposed to the teachings and rituals of different sects and made to reflect and derive our own theological viewpoint.’

Apart from academic training, regular meetings are arranged for the professors and the students, such as the weekly Thursday Supper Meetings during term time. A meeting includes worship, meal and sharing among the students and their professors. It is not only beneficial to the students’ spiritual development and communal life, but it also encourages them to talk with their professors and give feedback about their learning in an informal way.

Instead of looking inward, modern theology reaches outward. In Wing-hang’s words, ‘I have been trying to get hold of more theological viewpoints. I have often reflected on my personal faith, and through sharing the fruits of my study I have tried to deliver God’s messages to society.’

Experiential learning is equally important in one’s spiritual lessons. To strengthen theology students’ cultural awareness and broaden their horizons, overseas study tours have been established since 2011 with collaborating international theological seminaries. Local church visits are arranged twice a year to let the students see up close the practices of different denominations in Hong Kong. Regular prison visits are also arranged to equip students with skills necessary to engage in pastoral work in the contemporary context.

Professor Ying added, ‘To let our students keep pace with the latest developments in churches in mainland China, our School has been organizing an annual visit for our students and teachers to theological seminaries and churches in different parts of China since 1996.’

CUHK theology students have to take up internships at churches or Christian organizations to put their knowledge into practice and reflect on the concepts of Theology and Christian Studies in real life situations. The field component offers students the opportunity to develop know-how in ministry settings. It is intended to be the bridge between formal university education and ministry life.

Does it take a leap of faith to throw oneself at theology? Wing-hang said, ‘If you are not entirely satisfied with what you believe now and are willing to reach out more and rethink Christianity, I sincerely hope that you would come aboard. Together we’ll find out God’s plan for the young.’

Published: Summer 2017
Last Updated: Summer 2018

Programme Code

THEON

JUPAS Code

JS4111

Open for

JUPAS, Non-JUPAS Year 1 Entry, International, Mainland